We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ikea chic”
Review of Antidoto Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antidoto Rooms
Ranked #3 of 34 Toledo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Ikea chic”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel exemplifies what you get when you let the designers call the shots. It's pretty. It's sexy. It's minimalist - and therein lies one of the problems. The smallish rooms are made to look larger by cutting out cupboard space, drawer space, table space. So the bedside tables are so low your pillow will knock over anything on them - and the Ikea lamps are so lightweight they will fall over of their own accord! There is open hanging space but no drawer space. The bathroom elements are all split, so there is an enclosed toilet with glass door by the entry, an open walk-in shower close to the bed - so you had better be familiar with any companion travelling with you, and a washbasin in the bedroom with a huge square white basin and a drainage slot that makes it impossible to fill with water. Their towels have no rails, so you have to hang them when wet on one of the two hooks provided. There is no fridge at all.
The aircon works, but in our room it was not able to maintain a constant temperature being mostly way too cold - exacerbated at night by the presence of only one sheet on the bed and no blanket or other cover at all.
I have to say all signs are that the fittings are not up to the heavy hotel usage. Almost every one is loose or requires messing to be made to work.
Providing a Nespresso machine is a great marketing point, but somewhat diminished with only two capsules provided until we asked for more. And why have a lamp, the work desk, and the Nespresso run off one wall socket without any adapter, requiring constant plug switching.
These are 'rooms' rather than a hotel so there is no room service and the place closes at night - we locked ouselves out and I must say they did respond promptly and very courteously to our request for help. So the service is very obliging but is let down somewhat by pretty comprehensive lack of understanding of normal guest needs in a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    70
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
167
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cadiz
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A perfect hotel for a weekend or overnight on a journey. The hotel is well located in the heart of the City. It is just two minutes away from the main car park as you enter Toledo. Beautiful clean modern rooms, an old house renovated recently with lovely features. Many places to choose from for breakfast very close by. Hotel staff recommended good restaurants to have breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilish j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights in July. It was extremely hot in Toledo and being pregnant it was fantastic to have this cool haven to return to after being out in the heat. The air con was brilliant. Would highly recommend this funky hotel. It is brand new and modern, in a beautiful building and in a fantastic location. Our room was number 7 and was a good size with lots of light and space for big suitcases. There was a Nespresso machine in the room which was a nice touch, we have one at home so we loved this. The coffee pods were replaced on our second day. Housekeeping was immaculate as was the cleanliness in the whole building.

The receptionist (owner maybe?) was friendly and helpful-he recommended some lovely places to eat, Even though our room faced the street it was extremely quiet and we slept so well. The shower was fantastic. You couldn't find a better location in Toledo. No breakfast or common areas as such but don't let this put you off. You wont find a nicer place to stay in Toledo.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 due to its larger size, would highly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dubheire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed here with my wife in July. The place is brand new and has an excellent setting right in the centre of Toledo. Our room no. 7 was very quiet and looked out onto the street. There was no noise at night which wasvgreat considering the location. The guy working at reception gave us some good tips for restaurants like Aliferitos and Trebol, both nearby. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Look on the website to get a larger room and one that has an external view rather than internal to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepherlit2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at Antidoto Rooms in early June for the weekend of my brother's wedding and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The location is fantastic, right in the city but it's remarkably quiet in the street around the hotel and when inside. The rooms are immaculate, very clean and well laid out. They are on the small side (in terms of space for larger suitcases) but I cannot complain about this as the room was dedicated to the huge and very very comfortable bed. Pristine sheets and did I mention how DREAMY and huge the beds are? ! The decor is contemporary/ slick conversion with a very modern but respectful treatment of the old interior. You will want to buy a Nespresso machine after you have enjoyed the in-room coffee in the morning (something I never dreamt I would want) but alas we have already succumb to this luxury at home now back in Australia. The showers were great with super hot water too. We all enjoyed our stay and just wished we could stay longer. If you are in Toledo for a few days and would like a quiet and very nice haven then consider Antidoto, if you want larger communal areas and other facilities it might not be the best choice. We all loved it!

Room Tip: There is only one room with access to the roof terrace, so check with the hotel to request this one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

I can't believe it's a 2 star. From the moment you step in via the beautiful ancient doors you are in a world of calm and style. The whole place has a wonderful feel. The rooms are a little small but it has all you need and are exquisitely decorated including the balcony. The bathroom tiles are wild with a great shower ( not always the case in Europe). Extremely comfy bed with great pillows and the nespresso machine is a nice touch. The location is just off zocodover square but is very peaceful with double glazed windows. The service is great with wonderful recommendations for food and the cleaner even folded our clothes and hung them up for us. Excellent stylish hotel

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Whole-lotta-moxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.5 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#3 of 44 in Toledo
1,078 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
0.4 mi away
NH Toledo
NH Toledo
#6 of 44 in Toledo
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antidoto Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antidoto Rooms

Property: Antidoto Rooms
Address: Calle Recoletos 2, 45001 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Antidoto Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En el corazon del casco historico de Toledo. Parking publico a escasos metros. Junto a la Plaza de Zocodover, Museo del Ejercito y los principales monumentos. Apertura en 2.013. Casa de arquitectura Toledana del S. XVI rehabilitada y acondicionada para las necesidades del S.XXI. Muebles y decoracion de diseño de vanguardia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antidoto Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing