We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality short stay venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cigarral de Caravantes
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was a one night stop between Santander and Marbella, ideal for the purpose and located high on the opposite side of the river from the old town, with good views over it. We appreciated a friendly reception, good parking and universally clean facilities within very traditional styling. Dependent on a reasonable level of fitness, the town is within walking distance and we enjoyed a good wander round a really interesting area before returning for a 9.00pm earliest sitting in the terrace restaurant which had great ambience and views. The staff here were a bit off-hand and misunderstood our order which was annoying but we were in no mood to upset an otherwise lovely evening by making a fuss. The marinated sardine starter with roasted peppers was superb, the steak entree too chewy so the fact that we only received one entree, not two, didn't disappoint too much. In sympathy, our language skills aren't extensive and they said they were busy. We should have asked for their special! We had gone for a good value deal, so had a lower room which smelt a little 'drainy' having been closed during the day, but it was immaculately clean and the firm mattresses were comfortable - double doors onto a small terrace a nice feature. The buffet breakfast offered extensive choice.
Overall, we were very happy and would stay here again - taking more care over our dinner orders!

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms (I assume) are on the lower level and a little dark - perfectly adequate for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarmersBoy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Everything. We had a room on the first floor with a fantastic view of the city. The room was typically Spanish with a tiled floor and beamed ceiling. The pool area was lovely and very relaxing. The ladies on the desk were very helpful and friendly. They gave great advice on where to eat and also on bus times. Breakfast could have been a bit more varied, but the choice of fresh fruits was excellent. Parking was free which was a bonus.Thought the Cathedral was very pricey at 36euros but wouldn't have missed it.
The 71 bus leaves from the corner next to the roundabout at 10 minutes past the hour and returns from the bus stance in the main square at 15 minutes to the hour. However, the last bus is at 21.45. There are lots of taxis, but we enjoyed the walk. El Trebo is fantastic for tapas. Enebro is very cheap with student type tapas which was popular with locals of all ages. El Enbrujo was great. The duck was terrific. Consuegra with its windmills is a 40 minute drive from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room. We had a fantastic view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Probably the nicest hotel we have stayed in. Not the best (not 5 star) but the nicest. The views are fabulous, put across the city and river,and every room has them. The terraces, for eating (excellent evening meal) and drinking, also have the views. The pool is a big bonus. Although the rooms are rustic they are big and airy, each with two double beds and either a terrace or balcony. The walk down the hill to the old town is 15 minutes and you can use some of the money you save on the car parking for a 5Euro taxi ride or the bus back at night. The only little gripes was that the breakfast was not worth 8Euros and you don't get wi-fi in EVERY room. Besides that this hotel, and it's staff, is a little gem. It should be a 4 star hotel. Try it, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first (top) floor, number 35, and it was great. The balcony was plenty big enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BADGER6491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The swimming pool is an absolute bonus! The room we had was spacious and even had a terrace outside! It's also a wedding venue so there's lots of character!

It's a great place for those driving - beautiful view of Toledo on the way there, very easy to locate, free parking and just on the edge of the city.

Another guest at the hotel gave us a great tip about taking the car to Puente de San Martin (bridge) and just before it there were some free parking spaces. Sure enough that was the case and we walked into the city. Driving there would be madness, never mind looking for parking!

Room Tip: If you want to use wi-fi in the room, check with the receptionist whether it has coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freakcherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

During a half term break, we took our family along with my mom for a quick 3 night stay in Toledo to enjoy some sun, great Spanish food and to return to a town where I went to university 15 years ago. I knew this town well so I knew that if I wanted something a bit larger and with a pool we would have to stay outside of Toledo but without breaking the bank. The prices at this hotel are great considering it's not that large, the breakfast was light, fresh and perfect for the morning start and the rooms are adequate in size. Although the beds are not the most comfortable in the world...they are fine for short stays. You do need a car (which we had) to get around for longer journeys but there were some other great restaurants, cafe's and lounges near by to enjoy within walking distance. The views are all good and they were very accommodating to our needs as a family with 3 children. Over all, a great hotel for what we needed and would highly recommend to families.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FishChipsandSalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Very pleasant staff and a good breakfast.The room was comfortable with a large terrace and a magnificent view. We walked into Toledo which took some time as it was 35C but caught the bus back which runs every hour. A very pleasant stay and we have no reservations in recommending this hotel. Due to the distance from the city the location was not perfect but oh that view!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldiesfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We just could't close our mouths any more after sighing " Aaaaahhhhh !", when we open the terrace door of our room to find the panorama of Old Toledo. Only that exact moment would worth every thing why we were there. We felt home like our neighbor treated us on their invitation.

Room Tip: Please ask the room with good terrace view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 958Stevek958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#14 of 44 in Toledo
1,021 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo
0.9 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
1,006 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 44 in Toledo
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cigarral de Caravantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cigarral de Caravantes

Address: Carretera Circunvalacion 2, 45004 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range: £39 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cigarral de Caravantes 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cigarral de Caravantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cigarral De Caravantes Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing