We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cigarral de Caravantes
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place, highly recommend!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very nice sized, clean room with a balcony looking over at the old city. Great location - 15 minute walk to the bridge of the old city (all downhill) and another 10-15 (depending how long it takes you to find it through the winding lanes) to the Cathedral uphill. Wireless and onsite parking great! We walked to the old city at midnight to watch a Holy Week procession, and it was perfect to walk the lanes in quiet after all the day tourists had left. Highly recommend, both the hotel and restaurant; had a great dinner there.

Room Tip: We had room 35 which was very nice, but be aware that the noise from the lobby and downstairs restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickAngBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    121
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
169
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here in march for 2 nights with my wife. Amazing place. Very beautiful. And staff is very friendly, and they always keep smiling. Its about a 20 min walk from the walled city, and I love that fact. The distance assures you get a great view from your room. You wont know if to go to the walled city, or just stare at the view from the room balcony.

Room Tip: A tip, ask for the highest possible room facing the walled city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhardwaj_Vikrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great location. The hotel has much more potential than what it shows. Wifi internet was "said" to be available but was basically not usable. Speed was dramatic. It took 2-3 minutes to open single web pages. Using youtube was not even possible.

Reception had no internet and could not print our boarding passes.

Overall the hotel location is very good, breakfast is decent, service is good. The restaurant in the evenings was a bit empty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopeyeSpinach0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chapelle Montbrandeix
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We ended up here by default and could not have been happier. The welcome was very friendly, the room was very good, the breakfast was served in the dining room with all the linen trimmings, friendly service and an adequate breakfast selection. The hotel is about a twenty minute walk from the centre of Toledo which I would suggest doing as parking is limited and the streets are steep and cobbled. . If you are there on a Sunday, a word of caution - the restaurant in the hotel is closed and many restaurants in Toledo appeared to be closed also.. We enjoyed our stay.

P.S. If you have dogs there are walks along the banks of the Tajo which is not too far from the hotel.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a view on Toledo. The lower rooms have a bigger terrace and the upper ones a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed on the second floor, on room number 32, with the best views of Toledo from our balcony. I cannot think of any better sights from anywhere else. The Alcazar directly across our balcony, the majestic River Tajo to the right, the hotel's courtyard's fountain... whoever thought of the location of this property did a perfect job, there is simply no better place to witness the city of Toledo from your room, specially at night when all landmarks are lighted up.
We were welcomed by a very nice and professional receptionist that handled non stop incoming phone calls and managed to check us in at the same time gracefully, she even offered some treats to our dogs before we headed upstairs to our room.
The room we stayed in, room 32, was directly located above the lobby, and the only negative point of our stay was that we could hear everything from upstairs, even all the way down to the restaurant, located two floors below from the room, the noise would permeate the walls as if the guests were right there, by the room's door. Luckily sleep crept in quickly, after a busy day visiting the city, so this did not interfere with our rest, however, guests a bit more sensitive to noise need to stay away from rooms 32 and 33, the rest of the rooms seem to be quite distant from the lobby, so I guess the noise would not be an issue.
The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, small, private, with a lovely courtyard, a restaurant downstairs, but the best thing about the property are the views from any given point. All rooms offer a privileged view of Toledo, however, those on the upper floor, as it was our case, have even better sights of the city.
We had everything we needed in the spacious room, including a small fridge, and even two pairs of slippers in the closet!
The property is also located within walking distance to the city, although this is relative, walking distance for me is 30 minutes, other people might find it a bit far. Either way, the historic city center is only a few minutes away, and there is plenty of parking space everywhere around.
On a different note, the hotel seems to be surrounded by a few abandoned houses, giving it a bit of a ghostly atmosphere as soon as you leave the walls that surround the property, but other than that, nothing suggested that the area is not safe, maybe a bit isolated, if something.
We loved our stay and will book with them again without even bothering looking somewhere else.

Room Tip: As mentioned, rooms 32 and 33 are located directly above the lobby and can be a bit noisy, the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We spent a lot of time deciding where to stay on our stop in Toledo ... why did we bother! This hotel could offer so much but when we arrived in the early evening of 29 September it was as if we had disturbed the receptionist from her nap. She showed us our room, gave us no information on the hotel (breakfast times, location of pool, restaurant etc.) and when we asked about dinner seemed to delight in telling us that the restaurant was closed on Sunday evenings. Once in our room we realised this was not the room (with balcony and panoramic view) we had reserved but we were told it was impossible to move us elsewhere as the hotel was full. (Just four cars in the car park made us question this and in the morning we were told this was in fact not true.) Our room was small and dark but comfortable. The bath grouting needed a good clean. The following day we were moved to a room in the main building with balcony and lovely view but absolutely no sound proofing! By 12.30am the sound of next door's very loud tv was getting to us and we asked reception if she could ring them to ask them to turn it down. Even though she admitted it was so loud she could hear it in reception she said she couldn't. Why not? We got to sleep just after 3am when they turned it off. Perhaps their receptionist's aren't trained in what the term 'service' means, or perhaps they just don't care. Visit Toledo it's glorious but find another place to stay.

Room Tip: It you must stay here ask for an annex room with a view (ie not blocked by foliage).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyandAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
274 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A really good value for money hotel. We walked downhill the 15 minutes walk into town, so we did not need our car. We had one of the lower cheaper rooms (number) 14, with a nice terrace, some shade from an olive tree and a nice view at the city of Toledo in the afternoon sun. However the rooms on the second floor may have an even better view. Very kind and helpful staff, although the not working WIFI password could not be solved by the ladies on duty during our two day stay.

Room Tip: second floor rooms for a nicer view room 14 is next to the dining terrace, so it might get noisy du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex4777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.5 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
0.6 mi away
Cigarral El Bosque
Cigarral El Bosque
#21 of 44 in Toledo
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 44 in Toledo
1,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#14 of 44 in Toledo
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cigarral de Caravantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cigarral de Caravantes

Property: Cigarral de Caravantes
Address: Carretera Circunvalacion 2, 45004 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cigarral de Caravantes 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cigarral de Caravantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cigarral De Caravantes Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing