We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - Boarder line 5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cigarral El Bosque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cigarral El Bosque
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel - Boarder line 5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in May. Was not too busy. Staff were friendly - they opened the bar next to the swimming pool for us specially on Monday which was a nice touch. Clean good rooms with good view of old city. Good breakfast and good recommendations for restaurants in the old town.
Bad points - an architectural mess. Typical rubbish attempt at being a clever modern design but is in fact ugly and completely impractical. (everything on different floors, wasted spaces etc) The only nice bit is the entrance hall that you are welcomed into.

I would consider this a boarder line 5 star hotel but to be fair the prices reflect this.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    184
    103
    29
    38
See reviews for
116
278
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Worst experience in my life in a hotel from the moment I checked-in untill I left. We checked-in and the lady at the reception didn't even welcomed us, I got in my room and there was the king bed for me and my wife ready and another single-one ready we didn't ask for. One bulb in the bedroom and three bulbs in the bathroom were broken, the wi-fi signal was available only 50% of the time and was so weak it wasn't possible to use the internet. No courtesy sleepers or bathrobes were present in the room. I called the reception to ask for the technician to change the broken bulbs and probably because the were busy checking-in many people, nobody answered; I tried 4 times, the fifth time they picked up the telephone receiver and because the receptionist didn't want to be disturbed he/she hanged-up immediately...never exrienced such a rudeness in a hotel.
My wife checked-in one day later than me and despite she had two heavy luggages nobody at the reception offered to help her: she has to walk across all the hotel carrybg those heavy weights.
No bar available, very poor breakfast level without any waiters. The last night right under our room the hotel hosted a wedding party and we couldn't sleep until 4 AM because of e noise coming from outside, despite we called the reception to ask to stop the noise 4 times; last try we did was called the police, but it didn't help.
I opened a bottled of water and it was left open half empty on the coffe table for all our stay, the furniture of the rooms is old and damaged and you have a feeling of dirt, in the bathrooms basically you had only very hot water, no cold water was available.
It is obious that once the hotel was built it must be of high standard, no after 20 years or so the feeling is of a decadent place were the management doesn't have enough money to grant a proper service: I wonder how they are managing to keep the 5 stars: they don't deserve more than 3.

One last thing: nobody at the reception speak english good enough to understand what you need.

Only positive thing is the view on the old city.

DO NOT GO IN THAT HOTEL!!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesco74I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed in room in the second floor and the reception is situated in the third floor. This means the further away you are from the reception the poorer the wifi reception in the rooms. This means if want to review your emails and to browse something on the internet, you have to come upstairs and seat for a while in the lounge to do some surfing! Another thing I didn't like in this hotel is the fact they didn't have anyone to help me to carry the luggage! Apart from that detail, everything in this hotel is very good and I would recommend it. I do recommend taking the bus nº72 which has a stop some 50 meters from the hotel main entrance (ie, turn right once you leave the gate). Mind you though the bus ride is at 1 hour intervals, so plan your time before you leave the room. Anyway, for 1,80 Euros/person and a bus ride of about 15 min you can jump off at Toledo's main square (ie, Plaza de Zocodover).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood Middlesex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were recommended this hotel by a friend. We were not disappointed. Although outside the town, it is relatively easy to get into the town by bus (runs hourly) or taxi (about 6-8 euros) or walking (about 20 mins to the other side of Puente San Martin). Nice spacious rooms at a very reasonable rate via Booking.com. A beautiful balcony with views over this amazing city. We chose to have a light breakfast in the bar (coffee and toast) which worked out cheaper than the full breakfast which we didn't really want.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

This hotel is superbly located a mile or so outside Toledo but with great views across the valley to the city. Rooms are excellent, with plenty of space, large and modern bathroom, comfortable beds. They also have a large balcony from which to admire the view while sipping a glass of wine - wonderful in summer. The (unheated) pool is great (in July and August). Reception staff are pleasant and helpful. However, I don't really recommend dining in the hotel - it's a bit stuffy and formal, the service is slow and off-hand, and the food uninspiring. In particular, unless you like raw meat, beware. Although requested "well done" our duck looked as if it could still quack, so if you don't like the sight of blood, avoid. Like many Spaniards they don't understand anything but super-rare. Much better to go into Toledo (worth using a taxi if you wish to drink) - there are plenty of good restaurants in town.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. In good weather, order breakfast in your room, and eat it at the table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cascaispickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Situated outside the town walls of Toledo this modern hotel has an attractive horizontal orange coloured design over 3 floors.
Parking and reception was on the top level then lifts or a slope took you down to the rooms and the restaurants / caves on the 2nd and 1 st levels.
The building was designed to give the best views of Toledo. From the breakfast room you could see the river below and one of the bridges to enter the city.
We took a taxi in and back; it varied between 5 to eight euros depending on where you got out. I would recommend near the El Greco museum then you can walk up the hill to the Alcazar and/ or buy a 5 euro ticket for the little train that takes you around the town and across the river where you can get good photos of the city.
Our room had lots of space and a balcony overlooking the garden.
We were treated well by all the staff, particularly by Mario on reception who gave us a friendly welcome with helpful advice on how to access the city.
We ate both lunch in the cafe and our evening meal in the restaurant. The restaurant was also open to the public.. We did not need to book a good table as we were the only people eating to start with. There was a little discount for hotel guests.
My only criticisms are: pricey at 200 euros including dinner and the lifts were hot because they were not air conditioned.
The wi fi reception was good.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Turned out to be a good pick. The rooms are nice and off course the view of city too with the rugged gardens and hills. Hotel staff are good too.

Getting there can a bit of a challenge if you have no car. From the station, you need to take two different buses. Change near the Alcazar and then the bus-stop for the hotel is at the bottom of a hill, so you'll have to climb up to get up.
Easiest would be to simply get a taxi and they aren't that pricey either. Cheaper for example than the crooks we have running the place in Holland.

Near the bus stop btw you have a snackbar where you can get bread with all kinds of ingredients for good prices btw and they aren't stingy either with the amount of meat they put in your bread. Many locals come there too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.2 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo
0.8 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cigarral de Caravantes
Cigarral de Caravantes
#16 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fontecruz Toledo
Fontecruz Toledo
#26 of 45 in Toledo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cigarral El Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cigarral El Bosque

Property: Cigarral El Bosque
Address: Carretera Navalpino s/n, 45004 Toledo, Spain (Formerly Hotel Cigarral el Bosque)
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cigarral El Bosque 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cigarral El Bosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing