We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Casa de Cisneros
Ranked #3 of 34 Toledo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stopped in this place for a bite to eat after touring the Cathedral. The restaurant is located below street level, which makes it very interesting. It has a glass floor over old ruins of a muslim palace. You will not forget this place. The service was great and the food portions were generous. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kobuck1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina117, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Cisneros, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013
Google Translation

Nos llena de satisfacion saber que nuestro restaurante tambien recibe este elogio compartido con nuestro HOTEL muchas gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Casa de Cisneros
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Warm welcome by the proprietors - we really felt like we were staying with family or friends. The rooms were comfortable and the chance to stay in a medieval building built over the Roman ruins was not to be missed.

The food in the restaurant was fantastic and the service impeccable. Prices are reasonable (I hesitate to use the word cheap in a positive review, but it is really inexpensive). We were with our 16 month-old daughter and they provided a baby bed for us. They also made a genuine fuss over her which was endearing.

The icing on the cake for this hotel is it's location right next to the Cathedral Cisneros in the center of Toledo. We will definitely be going back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thistle3583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina117, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Cisneros, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por sus palabras tan llenas de satisfacion por haber estado es este nuestro hotel , un saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in september. Perfect location. Very small bathroom, I´m tall and bit overweight and if I would have been a littel bigger I could not have used the shower. We had a great room overlooking the cathedral. Beds were comfortable, pillows not as comfortable. The owner gave a tour of the excavation site below the hotel and offerd you a glass of Toledo wine and slices of cheese. Only downside is that you can hear everything that is happening next in next room but earplugs saved the sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJADAMS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina117, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Cisneros, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por sus palabras y es verdad el ruido dependiendo de las personas pues se escucha , un problema que estamos en ello por solucionar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a small guest-house with restaurant attached tucked into the centre of Toledo. The rooms are decently furnished, service good (although can be erratic) and the internet is free. The food in the restaurant is good without being special. What makes this place extraordinary is that you are essentially staying in an architectural museum. Most of the floors are glass (which can be disconcerting), but does enable you to look down into the past. The compromise is the bathrooms - if a comfortable, functioning shower is critical to you, then don't stay here. If you want to feel as though you are living in some kind of strange dream, then this place is very good. Personally, I found it a bit claustrophobic, and wasn't ideal for working.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrayMan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina117, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Cisneros, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por sus palabras aunque no las entiendo mucho, quizas sea el traductor que no es muy bueno, aun asi muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The best thing about Hostal Casa de Cisneros is certainly the price.

You can't complain when a double room in the very heart of Toledo, opposite the cathedral, sports a price tag of just €40 per night. With a bathroom and shower. In mid-August. And, to top it all off, in what is practically a museum, as the building is a restored XVI century building with an even older cellar (XI cent).

The restoration has taken care of most of the traditional features. As you walk in, you simply can't believe the beauty and cosiness of it all: the wooden ceilings, the stone walls, the creaking floorboards, the antique furniture. Definitely a unique experience. By the way, preserving history doesn't come at the expense of comfort, because the beds are excellent, the air conditioning works perfectly well, and it all feels fine.

On top of that, the owner (Jorge) was also very friendly and polite when we arrived.

Minor glitches. Showers are indeed pokey. Really really small. Luckily we're both slim, but it makes you wonder how even a slightly overweight person would manage. Also, the breakfast buffet is useless. Don't bother, you save €5.

But like I said, these are minor glitches and definitely worth forgiving when you're spending €40 a night. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would like to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina117, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Cisneros, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por sus palabras pues se ve que le agrado mucho el precio y la situacion, espero que repita y que sea la proxima vez de su agrado el desayuno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Authentic Middle Age features and Roman/Muslim ruins in the cellar visible through a glass floor. Clean & comfortable rooms with antique features and furniture. Perfect location for sightseeing & located right next to the cathedral. Owner is warm and welcoming and gave the hotel guests a hour long tour and history of the hotel and the archioglogical excavations beneath in the cellar. Very reasonably priced and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina117, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Cisneros, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario , esperamos que vuelvan pronto, un saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed with hospederia casa de Cisneros for two nights. And we were totally amazed by this lovely cozy hotel. The Casa de casineros is a building with profound history. There is even a Roman bath of hundred years ago under the celler. But the Casa is really well maintained. The boss is really nice. He was already there to welcome us when we arrived. He is always there whenever we need help. He even gave us a private tour to his wine cellar, and we just love the wine. The location couldn't be better. The cathedral, the Alcarza, the El Greco Museum...almost everything is within walking distance. Seriously, i mean everything, after all Toledo is a small town. You can almost visit every spot on foot. Our room has a balcony facing to the alley and with a perfect view of the cathedral. The restaurant and the wine celler is really satisfying. The price included the breakfast, which was really a good bargain. The breakfast is really nice. The restaurant downstairs seems to be a hot spot for the locals. If you are looking for a drink, the vino titto of la mancha can be a good choice. But don't worry, with the curtains and the wooden window shields, I can always sleep sound and tight.

As the tourists mentioned, the shower is tiny. And the B&B has prepared shampoo and showering gel.

We spend the whole weekend in Toledo and we just love the casa de Cisneros. We wanna thank the boss and all the staffs for making us feel like home. It's our first time in Spain, and I'll definitely come back.


ps: according to our experience, the price on weekends may be almost twice the normal price. remember to pick a date to save some money. And Toledo is extremely hot and dry this season. Remember to bring the lotion and sunsheer, and stay hydrated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mingming715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolina117, Owner at Hostal Casa de Cisneros, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013
Google Translation

Nos ha encantado su descripción esperamos pronto su vuelta a Toledo. Un abrazo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.1 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#4 of 44 in Toledo
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Domus Plaza Zocodover
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa de Cisneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa de Cisneros

Address: C/ Cardenal Cisneros | esquina carcel del Vicario, 1, 45001 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Toledo
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Casa de Cisneros 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Casa de Cisneros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Casa De Cisneros Hotel Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing