We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, Splendid service...”
Review of Fontecruz Toledo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fontecruz Toledo
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent exactly one night in Toledo during our last trip to Spain and the Fontecruz was just perfect for us! It was quite an adventure getting to the hotel driving, but we called ahead as we were getting close to the city and the young woman at the desk was extremely helpful - she also made sure we had a place under the hotel in their little parking area for our vehicle.

The hotel could not be better situated - a quick walk to the magnificent Catedral, the very heart of the old town, and a few more steps out to the stunning Alcazar. The room was well equipped, modern and the bed was comfortable. Our (Spanish) travel agent recommended this one, and as always, she was spot on!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at the Fontecruz for two nights on a short excursion to Toledo after getting a great last-minute deal on one of the major hotel booking sites. From the moment we arrived, we were met with courteous, warm greetings from the front desk staff - Javier, in particular, was great to us and gave us his recommendations for places to eat/things to do. The room was spacious with a large bathroom, and we slept very comfortably. The hotel is situated in a quiet location about a 15-minute walk from the main square, but only about 5-minutes from the Cathedral, and we enjoyed finding our way around along the narrow, winding cobbled streets. There's also a small good-quality grocery store right next to the hotel, which was very convenient for picking up picnic foods like bread and fruit, bottles of water, or snacks before our days out. I'd definitely stay here again if in Toledo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkat1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We made a stopover in Toledo on our trip to Madrid. In walking distance to everything you can see in the old town of Toledo. Very calm but not as historic as explained officially. It is just the facade. Had two double rooms with "connecting door". Sizes ok, bathroom as well. But shower e.g. with construction fault (after two minutes bathroom was under water). The management said, they know and wanted to fix it exactly after our stay... The same with the door key system. Didn't work, annoying. Breakfast ok, service minimal and not motivated. Expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calimero007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Considering that this hotel is situated in a 'palace', formerly owned by Napoleon Bonaparte's brother, one might assume that some of it's former glory could still be found here. Unfortunately this is not the case...
While the interior design and the rooms are quite suited for its name and adequate for a 4* hotel, the service, unfortunately, lacks the standard of a 3* hotel.
While the desk staff was very friendly and helpful (parking our car in the nearby garage), assistance with luggage did not exist.
The hotel also has a "Spa" for massage and beauty treatments, which also includes a small indoor pool with hydro massage and a sauna (at an additional cost of €25 per person - over 16's only).
The most disappointing part of our stay has definitely been the breakfast: on arrival in the breakfast room, only two of the ten two-seated tables were cleaned and ready to be used (although only one couple was having their breakfast there), all the other tables were left with used dishes.
The buffet consisted of a standard, Spanish continental style selection, with some scrambled eggs, cocktail sausages and greasy bacon in a heated buffet container (which upon opening creaked like a door in a classic horror movie - due to the lack of a drop of oil from whoever is meant to be in charge of it...).
When the waiter eventually arrived from the kitchen, his first reaction was not to attend to us, a family of five still trying to figure out where to actually sit, but he started to spray clean two empty tables (seemingly oblivious to all the other tables full of used dishes...).
Coffee was meant to be served from a pump flask, which was empty and there were only three clean breakfast plates and two spoons for the cereals. The quality of the food was only alright and the scrambled eggs and the Serrano ham seemed to have been out at the fresh air for quite some time.
Overall, a rather disappointing stay at a self proclaimed 5* palace, with only 2-3* service. It's a shame, as the hotel itself bears much more potential to live up to its name...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is a luxury hotel in a very quiet ( if somewhat difficult to find) location in Toledo-well placed for visiting the Cathedral and a short walk to the other main sights of this historic city.
However we were not at all impressed with the standard of service, especially at breakfast. The single waiter seemed harassed and not at all able to attend to more than the most basic services of clearing the tables away, and 'your room number'. Coffee was dispensed from big help-yourself-thermos flasks, the orange juice was not freshly squashed, as one would expect in a major producer of oranges that Spain is, one was left to find out how the toaster worked (not very well): overall more of a 2-star service!
We had to change room fro our second night, as the rrom we had been given initially was too small and looking over nothing in particular, not even a bit of blue sky.

Overall: they ned to try harder!

Room Tip: Good location-shame about the service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna123s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We spent two nights at this wonderfully positioned hotel. The service was the one of the best I have ever experienced. After arriving several hours early, we tried to park at the private car park next to the hotel but they wanted our car key and I was reluctant to hand this over and go off for several hours with valuables inside. I phoned the hotel and they said drive up to the door, you can leave your luggage and we will park the car (in fact they went one further and let us in the room three hours early - thank you). Juan was exceptional, giving us all the advice we needed regarding the map on what to see and recommending many places for lunch and dinner (all that he recommended were superb). He also gave us a card to visit a bodega where we were made very welcome and tried and bought some wine. The room was a good size for us and our family and I was very happy with everything (the beds are exceptionally comfortable), but my partner did not like the fact that our beds were made up as singles and one was higher than the other). ah well! We didn´t have time to try the spa and must admit that after finding Cafe Del Fin which does a superb cheap breakfast 2 minutes away we went there for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at this hotel, and couldn't be happier with the choice of hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and always smiling. It is situated in a quiet spot, but within easy walking distance of all the things to see in Toledo.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.1 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.5 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 44 in Toledo
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
0.3 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
1,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abad Toledo
Hotel Abad Toledo
#14 of 44 in Toledo
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontecruz Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontecruz Toledo

Address: Plaza Juego de Pelota 7, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Toledo
Price Range: £56 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fontecruz Toledo 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontecruz Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Eugenia De Montijo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing