We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! What a weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Refugio de Cristal
Ranked #3 of 32 Toledo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome! What a weekend!”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Not just for the clean and comfortable room, but the facilities and the beautiful area.
Wake up in the morning with the magnificent view of the mountains and this peace.
What else? The pool, the kitchen, the fireplace, and last but not least the staff.

From this place you can visit Toledo. Is not far away. You can skip the visit to the village.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkubao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    18
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
96
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We loved this place & recommend it if you want a stylish but ecofriendly retreat on the edge of the beautiful Cabaneros National Park little over an hour from Toledo. Susana and Alvaro are great hosts with home cooking and after dinner astronomy demonstrations are just two of their talents.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
278 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We've been to many places in rural Spain, but there are very very few where you can enjoy real peace. There's always a road not far away, a farm next door or, more usually, neighbours' dogs who wake you several times during the night, even though the hotel looked quite isolated on Google Earth! Here it was different. Genuine peace.
This has a slight cost, in that the Refugio de Cristal is off road. However, it's only one kilometre outside a hamlet, and most of that kilometre is concrete topped. Where there's no concrete top, then it's hard stone, so no worries about mud and you definitely do NOT need a 4 x 4.
The views from all the rooms are sensational as the hotel is almost surrounded by mountain slopes, sometimes bare, sometimes wooded. To see the early morning sun lighting the top of the mountains while breathing in pure air in total silence is indeed a privilege.
The rooms are all of very classy, discreet modern design and spotlessly clean. Each room has a small flat screen with attached DVD player. There is a selection of DVD's, with a sufficient number in English. At no time did we hear DVD noise from another room.
The rooms are open plan, which may not suit shy couples, since the washbasin is open to the room and your fellow guest could, if he/she wanted, observe you taking a shower. So if that bothers you, best abstain. I believe that there is a curtain that can be drawn across the "bathroom" area, though we didn't use it as we quite like each other. Shower is hot and efficient. Room heating, for those who come in winter, is excellent.
Breakfast is good, with eggs and bacon, toast from two types of bread, excellent local olive oil, crushed tomato, butter, jam. You are also offered yoghourts and cereals, so it's pretty complete. You can have breakfast on the general terrace or on your private terrace outside your room. Both have beautiful views.
When we were there, dinner was only served on Saturday, but it was really good. Local charcuterie and cheese as starter, an excellent salad or black tagliatelli with seafood as first course, then fish or tenderloin of iberian pork in mango sauce as main. The tenderloin was very good, we didn't try the fish. Dessert was chocolate cake, plus skewer of fresh fruit plus sorbet. Local wines are available at reasonable cost.
1.3 kilometres from the hotel is the local restaurant, La Jara, where the quality of the food is quite exceptionally good for such an out of the way place. The owner is a fan of Jamie Oliver, so you can see he takes his cooking seriously. It's not expensive for what you get and they have a very good Syrah at 22€.
The owner of El Refugio, Alvaro suggested a 4.4 kilometer signposted walk beside a mountain stream a slow half an hour's drive away. The drive went over the mountain on a little used road. We took it slowly to enjoy the constant magnificent views. For birdlovers, our walk coincided with the crane migration, and the area seemed to coincide with the rallying point, high in the sky of various detachments of cranes that circled around until they formed a huge group (several hundreds) that then set off north east. This happened on three occasions between 13h30 and 14h30. It was the last weekend in February.
Behind the Refugio de Cristal the owners have built a footpath down to the end of the property, surrounded by a mediterranean garden, with labelled plants. There are benches in nooks within the garden. I spent a happy half hour here before breakfast and saw Hawfinch, long tailed tit, great tit, blue tit,woodpecker, jay, spotless starling etc. The area is good for raptors in the spring and summer months. I guess in the summer you could get quite a good birdlist just wandering around locally.
By the way, both Alvaro and the very friendly local restaurant owner, Javier, speak sufficient English to get by.
The hosts Alvaro and Susana are really charming, and when the sky is clear on Saturday night, Alvaro gets the telescope out and guests may get a closer look at the stars.
So, as you can see, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and will definitely be returning; wish it were tomorrow!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cliffordchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here two nights in September. It was a beautiful place to relax and enjoy being away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of our busy trip. Where else can you stop speaking and hear only the sound of bugs and animals - there was almost no human ambient sound whatsoever - talk about a peaceful place! We stayed mid-week, so there was only breakfast service, but we collected food stuffs from the market 15 minutes away and enjoyed many al fresco meals on the patio outside of our room. Susana and Alvaro, the owners, were very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this Refuge to anyone who wants a few days to truly get away and relax. Keep in mind, it's about an hour away from Toledo, two hours from Madrid, and you must have a car to get here, but it is worth it.

Room Tip: There are only 4 or 5 rooms, so they all seem equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaanderen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

kwowledge of languages is very poor, nice rooms with a view, very poor breakfast (no rolls, fresh bread only toasted, canned fruitjuice - very nice garden with excellent and discrete sittings - our stay was, due to communications problems - less good than we espected

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trippersVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
30.3 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
30.0 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 44 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
30.0 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastida
Hotel La Bastida
#19 of 44 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
29.5 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo
30.7 mi away
NH Toledo
NH Toledo
#6 of 44 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Refugio de Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Refugio de Cristal

Property: El Refugio de Cristal
Address: Camino de Valdelechar, 54 | Hontanar, 45159 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, eco-friendly property is located in the Hontanar Valley, 10 km from Cabaneros National Park. It has an attractive chillout terrace with a seasonal pool and amazing mountain views. The air-conditioned rooms at El Refugio de Cristal feature modern decor and a private terrace with beautiful views. They come with an LCD TV, DVD player, free Wi-Fi and a private bathroom. The Refugio's bright lounge has floor-to-ceiling windows, sofas, a TV and a telescope. The spacious garden has a stream and various benches where you can relax. Popular activities in the surrounding area include hiking, horse riding and visits to wineries and artisan cheese factories. Located just outside Hontanar, El Refugio de Cristal is 45 minutes' drive from Toledo and 1.5 hours from Madrid. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Refugio de Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing