We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise”
Review of El Molino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burgos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Molino
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Burgos
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We were picked up from the Camino and taken to this beautiful old mill house. Sat in the garden with ducks, peacocks and Guinness pigs to entertain us. Best of all was the fantastic dinner served by our hostess. We had a great night's sleep, a good breakfast and were taken back to the Camino to continue our walk. All in all a perfect break.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for El Molino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Comfortable rooms, clean with most of the things you need (except A/C in the summer). Really good bar and restaurant, all at a very good price.
They used to have a big man who slept in the bar as a security measure, he would let you out if you made an early departure as I usually do - didn't see him last time I was there, shame - hope he hasn't lost his job.
We need more places like this - or any at all in France!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter -unsurprisingly.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed here in april 2013 while on the camino frances. Wonderful warm and amazing food. mentioned the poster in the dining room "The Way" to the host and she was so kind as to bring out a photo album of the wedding of Martin Sheen's grandson at her house to her daughter. She was very gracious and the photo album was simple and sweet. We decided not to mention to the other guests the conversation between the host and us so as not to take away from the wonderful food, home, and hospitality that was given to us. The peacocks in the back are a welcome respite from our tired feet on the camino as they entertained us for an hour or two. The grandmother was also delightful in entertaining us around the fire place. Her daughter that helps with the casa took us into town so we could stroll along and she couldn't have been more accommodating. When talking with one of the staff he mentioned that winters are brutal because of the snow and it was easy to envision since the casa was some distance from town..The wine was also amazing...with El Molino on the label.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ethix4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I have been walking the Camino de Santiago for three weeks and El Molino is by far the best place I've stayed AND they served the best food I've eaten in Spain. The old stone house is set in a magical land of greenery, complete with a river, and animals of all sorts, including a peacock that is gorgeous. The inside of the home is decorated with antiques and has many nooks and crannies for hanging out and/or relaxing. They served a dinner of maybe seven courses, all delicious. And of course, unlimited amounts of wine. The owners and staff were delightful. I would highly recommend this oasis whether or not you are walking the Camino.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaMorelia_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This place is a complete gem. In the middle of nowhere, with a stream, loads of ducks and geese and fantastic vegetables and fruit growing. Dinner was absolutely wonderful - much of it made up of the home grown veg and fruit: including courgette soup, grilled peppers, fantastic jamon, tomato salad, casserole, fruit platter ... Very friendly people - the owner picked us up from Hornillos (about 6km away) and dropped us back there the next day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Everythin started with a missunderstanding: I had booked for the De sol a sol, Casa rural in Hornillos del Camino. But once I had arrived, the bed was not available. obviously they had overbooked it for this night. But the owner immediately offered me an alternative and a couple of minutes later a spanish farmer picked up another spanish couple and me in his car to drive us to this magic place: El Molino, a mill in mid of the Meseta ...Well, it was a strange mixture of: all kinds of birds, like doves, cock and hens, ducks, gooses ... and peacocks, further on two slumbering dogs, a buddha ... and other gourgeous things to discover. Forget for all the mess behind the building with old cars, building rubble etc. .... the rooms were recently renovated and very, very nice. And the dinner as well as the breakfeast were so good, and very hearty together with a very nice companionship of other pilgrims and the owners ....

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank schicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burgos hotels
10.3 mi away
Landa
Landa
#8 of 50 in Burgos
454 reviews
11.0 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
11.0 mi away
Meson del Cid
Meson del Cid
#3 of 50 in Burgos
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Evolucion
Hotel Forum Evolucion
#2 of 50 in Burgos
451 reviews
10.9 mi away
Abba Burgos Hotel
Abba Burgos Hotel
#6 of 50 in Burgos
806 reviews
11.5 mi away
Monjes Magnos Hotel
Monjes Magnos Hotel
#16 of 50 in Burgos
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Molino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Molino

Address: Ctra. de Estepar a Vilviestre de Muno km 2 | (VILVIESTRE DE MUÑÓ), 09230 Burgos, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Burgos
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing