We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newish, modern, central, good views.”
Review of Hotel Via Gotica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Via Gotica
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Burgos
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our room was very modern, the bath area was designed as a glass box within the bedroom.
It had a mini laptop you could use.
Most of the bedrooms had a Juliette balcony over looking the attractive view towards the cathedral.
The name of the hotel is high on the roof which you do nt see as you drive along.
The parking was in the public underground parking around he corner and cost 13. 55 a day.
The helpful girl on reception was friendly but we felt very busy as she also had to run the cafe area next to the reception.
Also we were late booking in as our room was still being cleaned at 3 pm so we had to leave our cases and return later.
The bedside light was broken and a nearby light switch did not work.
Perhaps the hotel does not employ enough staff or is trying to cut costs?
Our lunch in the cafe was fine and the coffees came with orange juice and a Biscuit .
Our evening meal was good in the downstairs restaurant but it was a small area that lacked any atmosphere.
Our breakfast the next morning was also downstairs and was a very basic continental.
Recommended for the view, location and for a modern room.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina A, Gerente at Hotel Via Gotica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios que sin duda nos hacen ver lo que a veces no somos conscientes desde Dirección y por tanto nos ayudan a mejorar.
Le comentaré que el cartel de ubicación del hotel no nos permiten ponerlo de otra forma, ya que estamos en el casco antiguo y patrimonio y el ayuntamiento nos impiden ponerlo más visible.
Habitualmente hay dos personas atendiendo, una en Cafetería y otra en recepción, supongo que en desayunos necesitaría un apoyo extra y por eso estaba más apurada la persona que amablemente les atendío.
Y con respecto a lo de las habitaciones a las 3 de la tarde, le puedo asegurar que normalemnte la gente los fines de semana no sale antes de las 12.30 hrs de la habitacion y los que entrar al hotel suelen venir temprano, por tanto es dificil que en unas dos horas tengamos todas las habitaciones al nivel de limpieza que nos gusta ofrecer a nuestros clientes, disculpe las molestias no obstante, pero normalmente a las 3.30-4 de las tarde estan siempre terminadas.
Tomamos nota de todas sus sugerencias para mejorar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stayed one night at Hotel Via Gotica in March 2013. I arrived with the night train from Lisboa, and therefore checked in at around 07 in the morning. Due to an early departure the next morning, I asked if it was possible to have my complimentary breakfast one day earlier. I was told that the buffet breakfast was not open, but that I could choose whatever I wanted from the cafetería that the hotel has in the same building. A perfect solution for me, and a good breakfast (I loved that they served coffee from bigger cups here). By the time I finished eating, a room had been made available.

My room was on the second floor, with great views of the cathedral. Unfortunately, the room smelled of cigarette smoke – either the guests that were here before me smoked in the room, or it came from the ventilation system (I think the latter). The room reeked, and I did not want to open the windows too much either, since it was only 4 degrees outside. Knowing that there were no other available rooms, I did not complain. Apart from this, the room was clean, nicely decorated (with a great “lake” wallpaper over the bed) and stylish. Although the room was kind of smallish, it worked out perfectly for me.

The hotel is located only five minutes’ walk from the cathedral, and less than three minutes’ walk from the bus station. In the building next to the bus station, there is a fairly big Élarbol, if you fancy stocking up or eating a quiet lunch in your room. I took a taxi from the train station for 9 euros.

The hotel offers a great location and modern rooms to a fair price, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina A, Gerente at Hotel Via Gotica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios y sugerencias.
Indicarle que como en su caso hubo que darle la habitacion temprano no se pudo poner el ozonificador que hubiera evitado ese olor tan desagradable, pero si nos lo hubiera indicado se le habríamos puesto al salir a ver la ciudad.
Me alegra que su estancia fuera de su agrado, esperamos poder contar con su visita de nuevo.
Y solo un comentario: esta prohibido en todos los hoteles introducir alimentos del exterior para tomarlos en la habitación, se lo comento por si lo desconocía.
Esperamos poder volver a verle muy pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed here for one night on our way to Bilbao to catch the ferry and was just perfect for us. Our room overlooked the river and the illuminated Burgos Cathedral. The room was not enormous, but had just everything you could want, a very comfortable bed, excellent very modern bathroom with frosted glass panels and a good sized bath with shower. The Hotel has a small cafe and the very helpful girl who checked us in, also ran the cafe. We had booked to have breakfast, which is served in a basement dining room, but in hindsight, I think we would have preferred to have a croissant and coffee in the cafe (coffee is served with a small glass of orange juice and a small pastry). The Hotel does not have a car park, but the public Cathedral car park is just across the road and costs just over 13 euros for 24 hours. All in all, excellently placed for Burgos city centre and would use again when in the area and not expensive.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Cathedral view room, although I think most rooms have this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina A, Gerente at Hotel Via Gotica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios positivos, hemos tomado nota de sus comentarios sobre el desayuno y la sala para mejorar en todo lo que podamos. Para la Dirección y la propiedad de este hotel el bienestar y la opinión de sus clientes se tiene muy presente y son considerados en las reuniones de calidad para mejorar cada día y que se sientan como en su casa.
Esperamos verle de nuevo en nuestro hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This hotel has a fabulous location, on the river, facing the gateway into the old town. The hotel itself had a small reception area with a small cafe/bar to the side. Our room was small but very clean and comfortable, with an amazing view of the bridge and gateway. Burgos is a very beautiful picturesque town that you should visit at least once in your lifetime, I think I'll do it twice, and when I do go back I'll stay at Hotel Via Gotica again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina A, Gerente at Hotel Via Gotica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios positivos, la verdad es que entre las características que más destacan en este hotel es la ubicación, la limpieza, el trato y las vistas... fundamentales todas ellas para garantizar el éxito de un establecimiento.
Y tiene usted toda la razón Burgos sin duda es una gran desconocida, una bella ciudad con grandes monumentos y gastronomía que descubrir, una ciudad que sin duda merece la pena hacer una parada y que mejor que en Hotel Vía Gotica con una de las mejores vistas a la ciudad y que además según el prestigioso periodico New York Times, es perfecto para alojarse.
Espero volver a verle de nuevo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Hotel has things money can buy without a soul. Has laptop with Internet access with a code. same code is meant to be used with your wifi as well but it can not work on two places!.
Strange that the air conditioner did not automaticaally work when I went into room and only worked when I went down to reception to ask for it to be activated. Like disabled access toilet downstairs. Extra blankets would have been nice. Central location, but rather noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I stayed just for one night.. in a nice room. The bathroom was a bit more tricky... but found out eventually. Will agree about the shower.
T got something in my eyes, and Carmen who was working night shift was very nice, when I came down in the middle of the night, ( she even offered to go to the hospital with me, after work the next morning, that is what I call dedication ).
Great price for the room that is just across the bridge/ gate to the Cathedral.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel has 2 big wow factors: the first is the view from the windows of all the rooms on each floor EXCEPT those number 4 - 104, 204, 304, 404; the second is the decoration of the rooms - very modern and stylish.

For us, a third wow factor was the location: about 3 minutes from the bus station.
For computer geeks the 4th wow factor could be that each room has a laptop and free wifi

Now for some tips to make your stay workable.
The shower tap has icons that display the jet to be used. The jet you want has to be upermost.
The shower cubicle is a bit small. So not for big people.
The lights for the bathroom are triggered by motion.
The breakfast room can be crowded if you pick the wrong time.
Keep the windows shut to keep the room quiet.

Room Tip: The corner rooms - 103, 203, 303, 403 are double aspect: they have two windows facing in different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burgos hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Burgos
AC Hotel Burgos
#4 of 50 in Burgos
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordon
Hotel Cordon
#10 of 50 in Burgos
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abba Burgos Hotel
Abba Burgos Hotel
#6 of 50 in Burgos
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meson del Cid
Meson del Cid
#3 of 50 in Burgos
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Via Gotica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Via Gotica

Address: Plaza Vega 3, 09002 Burgos, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Burgos
Price Range: £43 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Via Gotica 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A watchtower, the perfect balcony to enjoy the beauty of the Burgos Cathedral… Hotel Vía Gótica is a 3 star, avant-garde, elegant hotel inaugurated in April 2011.It is located in the very heart of Burgos, in the monumental area, near the Arlanzón river, with impressive views to the cathedral and the Santa María Arch. It is superbly located: in front of the Cathedral and near the Museum of Human Evolution (MEH) and the Palacio de Congresos.The building has been fully refurbished and now it has modern, comfortable and functional facilities. There are many details in wood and a great variety of colours and finishes in the different storeys. All of them are technologically well-equipped and have their own name: Catedral, El Espolón, La Cartuja, Las Huelgas and Panorámica.Expert decorators have provided the establishment with a unique style, with an avant-garde design and exclusive details, such as a netbook in every room of the hotel.We have a total of 17 modern, light-filled rooms distributed this way: 12 double rooms, 4 single rooms and 1 top-floor room with terrace and views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Via Gotica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing