We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meson del Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meson del Cid
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed only one night, but were met with a smile and very helpful staff and a LIFT!! As other mention, the views are sensational and everything was spotless.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toscanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    251
    73
    18
    4
See reviews for
109
269
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel on our way to the Picos de Europa. Wasn't easy to find (even with sat nav) but we eventually made it. Parking was expensive but as we were loaded with walking gear for our trip we were happy to pay for it to know that the car was secure. The hotel is in an excellent location right next to the cathedral, but we didn't know when we booked that it was La Noche Blanca and the whole city was alive with music, shows and street theatre - it was a good atmosphere but they was a laser light show focused on the cathedral with very loud music which went on until 3am! But despite this we did get a good nights sleep - we both managed to fall asleep with the music still thundering and lights still shinning, the double glazing was pretty good. Hotel staff were very friendly and really helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellyWelly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
196 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

The property is encompassed by three buildings: the old hotel, the restaurant and the added tower. Most of rooms have excellent views of the amazing cathedral located across the square. We stayed at the original area where the room and its contents were on the old side, but given the 70 Euro per night rate it represented a fair value (I had no opportunity to have a look on the newer rooms that were offered at the same rate). One minus is the parking availability and cost. However we were lucky to find a free space just at the hotel’s side street, even though the receptionist was not very helpful giving information on this option. The restaurant appeared very attractive but due to timing we had the arguably best dinner of our trip in other place offering basically the same regional dishes but at slightly lower prices. The breakfast was a little pricey but good enough and the difference was again the view. In short, it is not easy to beat its location, mainly if the rate is fair considering the ordinary accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlgtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed one night at the Hotel “Meson El Cid” in Burgos during my pilgrimage to Santiago de Campostela. Hotel situated in front of the Burgos Cathedral just fifty meters from the main Western entrance. I have the magnificent view at the Cathedral from the window of my room. Room was comfortable and clean. Bath room was very good and equipped with the bathtub. Personal of that hotel spoke English. Breakfast was good with plenty of food. Restaurant was excellent with tasty food and good wine. I could enjoy my supper looking through the windows at the Cathedral at the rays of the setting sun.
That hotel is the excellent place from where I could visit Cathedral, all Medieval Churches, Burgos Museum and other historical places.
The only probable problem was the parking but since I was the pilgrim marching on my own feet I didn’t care about that problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Wonderful room, great service and spectacular view of the cathedral.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanielR1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Here I will stress the service of this hotel. I needed a RENFE ticket printed because I did not get an email confirmation. I thought I had to go to the train station yet the reception made a call to RENFE for me and got my ticket printed. They also agreed to do a huge load of laundry essentially at their cost. There are umbrellas guests can use at the entrance. There are tables and chairs at the reception area where you can hang out.

The room had great views of the cathedral right in front of us. The room was what you'd expect from a medieval building. The free wifi somehow did not work in the room nor the entire building but fortunately the hotel has an annex across the street and there it worked. Breakfast was excellent with good food selections.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This was our second visit and we continue to like this place very much. Like others we asked to overlook the cathedral and as we opened the shutters we were welcomed by a troupe of traditional dancers and musicians gathering to perform in the plaza below: a rustic dance that involved perilously balancing on interlaced swords. All very jolly. The hotel is equally traditional in this tourist magnet. Buck's Fizz for breakfast (inclusive) is a nice touch.Parking trouble free.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burgos hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Burgos
AC Hotel Burgos
#4 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rice Palacio de los Blasones
0.5 mi away
Hotel Forum Evolucion
Hotel Forum Evolucion
#1 of 51 in Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abba Burgos Hotel
Abba Burgos Hotel
#7 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson del Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson del Cid

Property: Meson del Cid
Address: Plaza Santa Maria 8, 09003 Burgos, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burgos
#5 Best Value Hotel in Burgos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Meson del Cid 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gray concrete Spanish with red pantile roof, modern facilities - Located in front of cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Meson del Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Del Cid Burgos
Meson Del Cid Hotel Burgos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing