We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Hotel, Pity About the Beds”
Review of Hotel Maria Luisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maria Luisa
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved Hotel, Pity About the Beds”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights with friends, doing a little road trip on the path of the Cid, and this was such a lovely and convenient hotel. The staff was very friendly, hotel located close enough to downtown for a nice stroll, but not right in the middle of things and the breakfast was more than sufficient. The only letdown for us was the fact that the beds were SO hard that neither of us slept particularly well, despite propping ourselves up with pillows. The extra pillows were also a little difficult to locate as they were way in the back of a cupboard on top of the wardrobes. We are used to European beds being a little hard (we both have different back problems and a lovely memory foam mattress at home), but this was really a bit much and thus our sleep suffered.

Still, we would both recommend the hotel and probably go back again if we were ever in Burgos.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo S, Dpto.comercial at Hotel Maria Luisa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that your stay with us was very positive, but we are so sorry to hear that you find the bed mattresses too hard for all of you. We take good note about all your comments and your sleeping difficulties during your stay, because it is really important for us to make sure our guests have a good night's sleep.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Burgos.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    121
    55
    22
    8
See reviews for
69
111
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HamiltonNZ
Level Contributor
163 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I booked this Hotel as a previous reviewer had stated they had their bike (for biking the Camino) dropped off here.

When I arrived my bike was there. Excellent!!
I was greeted by a lovely young blonde women and I wish I could remember her name because she was just lovely and very professional.

My room was stunning. It was large, had a separate dinning area and a huge bath. It was very clean.
I had room service twice and it was great.
I had lunch and dinner in the restaurant and the meals were great but a little bit over priced.

However, my room was so very hot.
There was an Air conditioner but it was hiding behind a curtain. One of the cleaning staff came into the room to clean while I was there and pointed it out to me. However, it was nosey and didn't really do anything. I was grateful when the next day there was a thunder storm and it cool everything down.

While I was there, I had an accident (nothing to do with the Hotel) but it delayed me from starting my bike ride. I went to reception to ask to stay another night and I was made to feel like I was putting the Hotel out. It totally ruined the atmosphere for me after that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo S, Dpto.comercial at Hotel Maria Luisa, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for your kind comments.
We are very glad that you enjoy your stay at Hotel Rice María Luisa.
We specially appreciate your good comments regarding the staff and the rooms. We are really sorry for our terrible mistake on the last day of your stay with us.
And we hope that you will choose us again in your next travels to Burgos.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

11~14-Sept 2013
The entrance to this Hotel is easily missed unless you know where it is or are lucky to spot it early enough, we did a lap of the road outside and eventually stopped by the entrance to the underground car park, this allowed us to unload the luggage and take it to the Hotel where they give you an electronic key for the car park and explain which are their spaces (car park is chargeable €10.0 per day), (make a note of the bay number that you park in) This is a relatively small Hotel, and that includes the lift which was just ok for my wife and I with 2 large suitcases, probably could have squeezed one more in. The room we had was on the second floor and overlooked a local school which could get a little noisy at certain times of the day. The décor was mostly polished wood and the double bed was just a standard size one so not overgenerous with space. The bathroom was adequate and clean, although I had to tighten the Shower head to make it more usable. The room was clean and had an open-able window as well as an air-conditioning unit which was effective although Burgos is a little cooler than other areas of Northern Spain. The breakfast room is also a Café open to the public and there is some passing trade there. They can provide some evening meals if requested and it is the bar in the evenings (Monster sized Gin & Tonics) The food is quite nice although only the toast is hot (which you have to do yourself) otherwise just a cold buffet for breakfast but the coffee is good and plentiful and made freshly as you need it. The Hotel staff are friendly and helpful and provide maps and can mark them up to show you where everything is They even attempted to teach me some Spanish. It is about a 10 to 15 minute pleasant walk to the main town so no need to use the car or public transport. On the whole a very pleasant and friendly 3 star establishment.

Room Tip: The tour of the Cathedral is well worth the €7 each that they charge, it is a self tour with Audio g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo S, Director Comercial at Hotel Maria Luisa, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel Rice María Luisa and also his staff.
We are really happy that you enjoy your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit our town.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We used this hotel on a trip from Germany to Portugal, a modest hotel in the centre of town. We had a problem with our journey and arrived about 1.00am. The reception man was very helpful. We arrived very thirsty he got us a lot of very cold water from the bar when we asked, very welcoming and nice man. Although i say modest hotel, it was spotlessly clean and tidy. We also luckily parked right outside on the street so cant say what the general parking is like in the day, maybe you would have to ask.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo S, Dpto.Comercial at Hotel Maria Luisa, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor and for your kind words regarding the hotel Rice María Luisa and his staff. We are really happy that you enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Burgos.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here arranged by our tour. Location wise is i think ok however we arrived late so stores beside hotel are already close.its a bit old hotel still uses keys .rooms are quite small for 3pax although clean.
What I really appreciate with this hotel is their honesty. I left my money belt bag with my euros and pesos , hanged at their coat hanger. When I found out that the mb was left at the hotel and our bus was already at loyola we immediately notified and coordinated this hotel and thanks to them the staff and manager I got my mb in Amsterdam. A big big thanks. .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marge1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo S, Dpto.comercial at Hotel Maria Luisa, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the staff.
We are very glad that you enjoy your stay at Hotel Rice María Luisa. We will be reviewing your comments in a hope to make improvements for the future.
We hope that you will choose us again in your next travels to Burgos.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean. The location was very practical. The price was easily affordable. They are to be congratulated for their superb breakfast. There was a large variety of food at the buffet, quiches, ham, hard boiled eggs, cheeses and tomatoes, sausages, etc. Lots of sweet food too. Cereal, donuts, croisants, etc. It's a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VHLJBOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo S, Dpto.comercial at Hotel Maria Luisa, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor.
We are very glad that you enjoy your stay at Hotel Rice María Luisa.
We specially appreciate your good comments regarding the staff, the cleanliness and also the breakfast buffet.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Burgos.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in July. The girl at reception check in was very friendly and answered all our questions with a smile. Requested a room at a high floor level but the girl informed she has a quite room allocated to me on the second floor. When I got into the elevator discovered that the hotel does not have high floor levels as the highest button was number 2 in the elevator. Bed was comfortable. The shower in the bathtub was difficult to prevent water getting on to the floor. The air conditioner was noisy as it made a clicking sound every minute so had to t'urn it off during the night. Also there was some noise coming from internal courtyard, maybe a public bar? A couple of teenager decided at 1 am to leave their bedroom door open for half a hour while their parent were at the restaurant. They were shouting,dancing and playing I will try my luck somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo S, Dpto.Comercial at Hotel Maria Luisa, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all thank for taking time to review our hotel.
We are very sorry that you could not enjoy your stay with us. We will
make adjustment so that this does not occur for any future guests.
We hope that you give us a second chance next time.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burgos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
0.6 mi away
Meson del Cid
Meson del Cid
#3 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cordon
Hotel Cordon
#9 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rice Bulevar
Hotel Rice Bulevar
#15 of 51 in Burgos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cardena
Hotel Cardena
#17 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Luisa

Property: Hotel Maria Luisa
Address: Avenida Cid Campeador 42, 09005 Burgos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Rice Maria Luisa)
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maria Luisa 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maria Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Luisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing