We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.......but?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rice Reyes Catolicos
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Essex, England
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Disappointing.......but?”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here as a stopover on our way back to the UK. On arrival the hotel was easily found and parking located immediately outside. As this was a weekend it was all free. The hotel does offer secure parking just across the road and this was also explained to us. The receptionist, Teresa, was very welcoming and happily spoke Spanish, English and french whilst we were there. We were advised our room was on the first floor. Room 99. Room 99 is situated down a short corridor but the light bulb was out. This made seeing the key entry difficult. Our room shared by the three of us, husband, son aged 16 and myself was the disappointment. Having been travelling for a month we had stayed at a lot of hotel rooms during that time. This one was clean, beds were comfortable and adequate size but we sadly found 17 things wrong with the room and we never complain! This varied from bulbs not even in lights to wires sticking out of the socket to the extractor fan in the bathroom (dangerous for small children).The service hatch hanging down from the ceiling in the bathroom and cupboard door hinge ripped out and broken with the screws loose. These were niggly faults that should have been put right. I might also add we did not go looking for faults these were staring at you. We also put the air conditioning on but found that the 'silent' button was stuck on but the a/c unit was far from silent and only kept it on for half an hour as we would never have slept.
However after a fairly good nights sleep though we came down to breakfast. This was so disappointing. We were not late down (8 am breakfast started and we were down by 8.30) but there were only three croissants left, which were stale, some hot rolls and a lot of cake. What was noticeable was, there was nothing kept cold although there was cheese and meat on offer.Everything appeared warm including the melted butter. Unfortunately there was also a large noticeable hair in the frittata and another on the clean plates. By my chair a sausage. As there were no sausages on offer i could only imagine that this was left over from the night before.
Before we left we spoke to Teresa, who was still on duty and asked for the manager so we could explain that we were not usually guests who complained but would happily show him our room. Unfortunately there was no manager available at the time. She did take our details and i have delayed putting this review on until i heard back from Mercure who own the hotel.
This was our first stay at a Mercure chain and we did come away very disappointed. We had hoped to make this a regular stop, as we travel frequently between UK and Portugal and it is nice to have regular stop overs. Mercure have come back to me and advised this is not their usual standard and when we next 'book' we should let them know. Why? Surely these faults should be corrected immediately.
In one way i want to give you another chance Mercure but if i am honest there are a lot of other hotels in Burgos that may be out there to give me a better experience. One thing though Teresa is a credit to you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capdan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burgosgroup, Manager at Hotel Rice Reyes Catolicos, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear customer,

We are terribly sorry that you don´t enjoy your stay at the hotel Rice Reyes Católicos. We have always excelled in the Hotel in our cleaning and the high quality of our breakfast. We say the cafeteria and kitchen department to be especially attentive to the buffet breakfast service and maintenance department to resolve the possible problems in the hotel, we really appreciate your opinion about us.

We also want to thank you for your great review of our Reception department specially of our collegue Teresa, the reception department always try to solve the possible problems that may arise and help our guests in want they requiere.

I look forward to see you in futures visits to Burgos and welcome you because tha days you had been in the hotel I were abroad.

Sincerelly.

Sara Martínez
Head Manager Rice Hoteles Burgos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    127
    95
    46
    22
See reviews for
113
146
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The blonde girl at the reception was very kind and helpful, but it started going all wrong when we were given, at 2.30 p.m. a room that hadn't been cleaned. It was a very warm August day and the room was like a sauna. We asked for a second room, 208, which was proper and nice, nice also the bathroom, but boiling hot. The a/c system was not strong enough or malfunctioned, so I had to ask for a ventilator fan. Wifi didn't work, they had to call a guy to fix it, who did it three hours later. There in no sitting room in the hall, and the garage is easy to find only if you arrive before night, and it is in the other side of the river. They took the money from my credit card two days after I booked, unlike most of the Accor hotels. It shouldn't be a Mercure.
The great thing was the restaurant , absolutely worth having dinner there

Room Tip: Don't go there in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaDaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burgosgroup, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rice Reyes Catolicos, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear customer,

We are terribly sorry that you hadn´t wifi in the room, we had technical problems in the rooms but it were solved, we have a cyber corner at the reception for cases such like this.
Due to the heat of recent days air conditioners can not cool the room as we want because of the weather, but the room has a temperature of 19 º that it is a pleasant temperature but to be your stay more comfortable I give you our reception air conditioning. Sorry for the incovenciences.

We charge to your credit card the money of your stay because it is a non refundable rate in booking.com and the confirmation says that the hotel charge the money when the guest do the reservation.

Please admit our sincere apologies, for future stays we will be happy to assign you an upgrade room with welcoming details. Please give us another chance to prove the quality of our services.

Best regards.

Beatriz Abad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Burgos hotels

Juillan, France
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A nice hotel, ideally located and very well soundproof. The room is large enough for three ( 2 adults, one child) and the breakfast, included in the price is really worth it.
It is very easy to go to visit from there ( 10 minutes walk). The only little problem is the air conditionning that does not work very well, a pity for such a hotel. The mini bar is adequate and the restaurant quite handy though it is a pity they do not offer "cordilo al lechal" in Burgos.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burgosgroup, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rice Reyes Catolicos, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your kind comment. We are glad that your room was comfortable in your stay.The maintenance department is changing the air conditioning to make the stay more confortable.
We hope to see you again at the hotel Rice Reyes Católicos.

Best regards.

Beatriz Abad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hotel is located in a residential area about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Burgos and we found it nicely decorated and very comfortable, especially for 42 Euros.

We had to request a room change as the first one stank of smoke, despite being on the non-smoking floor. Sadly the only replacement available was a twin room, not a double. The receptionist was very helpful though.

Our only other problem was the air conditioning unit in the room which was very noisy and totally ineffective. In the end we had to switch it off and open the windows, but it was far too warm for a good nights sleep (37C degrees when we arrived).

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burgosgroup, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rice Reyes Catolicos, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear guest,
thanks for your kind comments about the staff at the reception desk. We have non-smoking rooms available but unfortunately clients do not respect the rules, we are terribly sorry. The maintenance department is changing the air conditioning to make your stay more comfortable.
We hope to see you again at Rice Reyes Católicos.
Best regards.
Beatriz Abad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgos, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

At first glance it look a bit small and not good from the outside but have to say very nice reception... Room are very small and over furnished so no place for 2 adults and a dog... We are there at the moment and not very enjoying it because it is so hot that the AC can't cope because it is so old. I have look the other reviews and some date from 2004 and it's the same as mine... Poor AC. Staff very help full that I ask for a fan to help us to sleep and the lady answer that all the room is the same with the same system ahahahah! So hot room exchange to another hot room... For me not a 4Star hotel... And still wonder how they have got them... Do not stay here!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 312Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burgos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Luisa
Hotel Maria Luisa
#18 of 51 in Burgos
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rice Palacio de los Blasones
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rice Bulevar
Hotel Rice Bulevar
#14 of 51 in Burgos
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corona de Castilla
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta de Burgos
Hotel Puerta de Burgos
#37 of 51 in Burgos
581 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rice Reyes Catolicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rice Reyes Catolicos

Property: Hotel Rice Reyes Catolicos
Address: Avenida Reyes Catolicos 30, 09005 Burgos, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rice Reyes Catolicos 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ELEGANCE AND DISTINCTION IN THE CENTRE OF BURGOS Hotel Rice Reyes Catolicos in Burgos stands out for its quality and personalized service that it offers to each and every one of its clients. Renovated in 2014, this charming hotel is perfect for any kind of stay, whether it is for business or leisure. Why choose Rice Reyes Catolicos? Because it is in the heart of Burgos, close to all the main tourist sites in the city. Because we have a young, professional and friendly team that is at your entire disposal and we make a difference thanks to the quality of our service. For all of this and much more, choose Hotel Rice Reyes Catolicos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rice Reyes Catolicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rice Hotel Burgos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing