We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very practical upmarket hotel, not really super stylish. Good restaurant.”
Review of Abba Burgos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abba Burgos Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very practical upmarket hotel, not really super stylish. Good restaurant.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We arrived from France for lunch time in Burgos and alit at the Abba Burgos Hotel. It looms over Burgos like a very important place to be and certainly served its purpose as a stopover on the way to other Spanish cities. The very welcoming staff were helpful and efficient and the rooms were clean and modern, yet lacking a bit of homeliness. Otherwise, it was a perfectly acceptable good hotel, above average. The restaurant is open late and the serving personnel very cheerful and service was quick.

Room Tip: Explore tripadvisor before you go downtown and seek out the tapas places.Don't miss the cathedra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    376
    134
    34
    25
See reviews for
191
339
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Disappointing. We booked and paid in December 2012. We arrived at the 4 star hotel, after flying in to Madrid, driving to Burgos, and were allocated a room in need of redecoration, with broken hangers, black scuff marks on the walls, missing grouting from around the bath, and inadequate space for two persons for 8 nights. The hotel was fully booked on our night of arrival. As we had booked so far in advance in a 4 star hotel i would expect a room in good order to have been reserved for us. The hotel must have known of the condition of the room. I am very surprised that a hotel with 4 star status would let out such a room. At the very least they could have offered a better room as soon as one became vacant, particularly as we had caused 27 other people to book in there for the weekend.

Room Tip: Before accepting a room check it out and complain immediately if there is anything lacking, regardle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We too stopped on chance at the hotel travelling through Spain with our dog. They said they welcomed dogs and gave us one of the best rooms with the garden - which was ideal as it was a lovely sunny day and we sat outside on the patio. They then gave us the rules and regulations!! Wow, not seen anything like that in a dog friendly hotel before however, if they have had problems maybe that was their only solution. For one night it was not a problem and as it was good weather we would have taken our dog into town with us and eaten outside anyway. Their garage was cool so we could have left her in the car. Superb location with a good walk into town which had plenty of bars and restaurants. The cathedral there is beautiful.
The reception staff were very friendly and especially Jesus who spoke good English and was most helpful.
Would we stay there again - Yes because of the location and the size of the room and bathroom. Everywhere was spotless - a credit to the housekeeping staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the large garden rooms, especially if the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I readily admit that most things about this hotel are excellent but I must complain about their so called free Wi-fi. As a self employed consultant it is essential I keep in touch with my business emails while away. No problem so far right across Northern Spain for the last week until we stayed at the Abba Burgos relying on their web site description of free Wi-fi. What they actually mean is free web browsing. Not the same thing. They have gone to the trouble of setting up a basic service at about 0.3mb download speed for browsing and webmail but that blocks email access by Outlook or similar mail systems. If you want to have that, or anything resembling video speed for U-tube or Skype, you must buy their premium service that I believe provides about 2mb speed and gives full access. I don't know what they charge for this because there is no mention of it on their web site. I have now seen an earlier review that quotes €9 for 24 hours.
I would not have a problem with that in principle (although I think it's archaic in the modern age) provided they were upfront about it and did not try to encourage their guests to think Abba are providing a competitive service when they are not. It appears I can get genuinely free Wi-fi at MacDonalds or Costa coffee but not at an Abba hotel. When I raised the matter with the duty manager I was told there was nothing they could do and they didn't see it as a problem. One night would be bad enough but I took a pre-paid deal for 2 nights and this Wi-fi set up will cause me genuine aggravation and inconvenience - or €18 which more than negates the savings of the pre-paid deal. Be warned. I feel I have been misled and will not be using their group again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisendaMolina, Gerente at Abba Burgos Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear PB1952,

Firts of all, we would like to thank you for posting your opinion, this is the best way to let us know your opinion and to help us improve.
Secondly, in reference to your review, we are really sorry to see that your stay was not as good as you expected. In reference to the Free wifi service, it is true that it is not thought to use it for work but only to download email or surf the Internet.
As you can see in the website of the hotel: http://www.abbaburgoshotel.com/en/hotel-burgos-with-pets.html we explain that the free connection has not been designed to work and that you can have a Premium service with a guaranteed bandwidth suitable for advanced users, for video streaming, video conferencing or VPN connections. The cost of this service is 1 hour: 5 €, 1 day: 9 € or 3 days: 15 €.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any other doubt about our services.
Looking forward to welcoming you in any of our hotels.
Best regards,
abba Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel to stay in when visiting Burgos, Spain. It is very centrally located, literally minutes walk from all the main attractions eg: Cathedral, Shopping District etc. The staff are very pleasant and accommodating.

The rooms are very well equipped and reasonably priced for the excellent standards you receive.

I will definitely choose Abba Burgos next time Im there.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel give excellent views right across Burgos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RED0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I go into a hotel really wanting to like it. Some people have difficulty finding the Abba. SatNav made it easy. The location is great. They've gone to a lot of trouble with the building. The staff could not be more obliging. There's a free pool and gym (which alas we could not try) but they looked great.

But there are serious problems with this hotel, all of which seem to stem from management policy. I have to echo Hawne's review: this is NOT really a pet friendly hotel. (Their policy says dog may not be left alone in room: so if you don't want to take the silly-expensive room service, how do you eat? in shifts?) Next morning the manager explained this policy as the result of a bad experience and said that exceptions could be made for well behaved dogs if you left your mobile phone number. But could you count on night staff having the authority to do this?

The free wifi was too slow even to receive email ( I checked it out at 256 Kbps). The paid wifi was way too expensive at €9 and still too slow (2Mbps) AND it had a tendency to drop the line.
The restaurant is closed on Sunday, and the bar menu is puny. We could not go out to eat because of their dog policy. So we stayed in the room and watched TV. But the volume was limited to such a low level that we found ourselves huddled round the screen trying to catch a word.

Until the management changes its policy on dogs and provides usable free wifi, we cannot recommend this hotel. Such a shame because in every other respect it was five.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quentar_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We booked this hotel en-route from Southern Spain up to Bilbao for the ferry home. The hotel is lovely, staff helpful and rooms nice. However, we chose the hotel because we were travelling with a dog (West Highland Terrier). On arrival we were given a room on the ground floor with a small garden - ideal we thought - then we were handed with a list of 'don'ts' for the dog - Dog not to be left in room - dog can't come with you to reception? - dog can't use garden - if dog barks you will be asked to leave it in car - obviously dog can't go in any of the public areas. So, all in all, OK for a one night stay over or OK in summer when you have plenty of options for eating out, walking etc.

I would like to say if we were not travelling with a dog the situation of the hotel is fantastic for sightseeing, although because of its location there are flights of steps to go down to get to the main square - I have seen some comments where people have said it is hard to find - we had the sat nav and had no problems - if you can't find it, it is right by the cathedral which you can't miss.

Room Tip: Service and value based on comments above re travelling with a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burgos hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
0.6 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
0.3 mi away
AC Hotel Burgos
AC Hotel Burgos
#3 of 51 in Burgos
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rice Palacio de los Blasones
0.2 mi away
Meson del Cid
Meson del Cid
#4 of 51 in Burgos
564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Forum Evolucion
Hotel Forum Evolucion
#1 of 51 in Burgos
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abba Burgos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Burgos Hotel

Property: Abba Burgos Hotel
Address: Calle Fernan Gonzalez 72, 09003 Burgos, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burgos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abba Burgos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres from Burgos Cathedral, Abba Burgos offers free use of the heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, gym and paddle tennis court. Rooms come with free Wi-Fi.Situated on the Santiago Pilgrimage Route, the Abba Burgos is next to Castillo Park and opposite Atapuerca Convention Centre. Burgos Castle is a 5-minute walk away. The hotel offers great views over the city.The bright, air-conditioned rooms have satellite TV, a safe and a minibar. There is a work desk and trouser press, and the private bathroom comes with amenities and a hairdryer.The Abba restaurant serves fresh, seasonal dishes and features a garden terrace with views over the city. There is a café-bar, and room service is available.There is a 24-hour front desk, and a laundry, ironing and dry cleaning service is offered. On-site parking is available for an extra charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Abba Burgos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Burgos
Burgos Abba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing