We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Azofra!”
Review of Hotel Azofra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Azofra
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Azofra proved again that it can be very fine stay when in Burgos. Their dinner can be very good one, their cook does good job, portions could be little bit bigger, especially when it comes to rice or pasta...rooms nothing spectacular but night was quiet and good sleep, it is small family type hotel, very nice staff, nice walk to the city center, 15 minutes for sure. We were there for one night and next time we will ask for little bit reinforced breakfast & dinner...I will be happy to come to this nice little hotel despite the little improvements that will need to happen in near future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilgrimWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We ended up having to pay for the room twice despite having proof that we had already paid for the room through a hotel booking website. The owner / manageress was extremely rude and aggressive and would not listen to reason, to the point of virtually physically assaulting my wife and myself. Our young children were terrified by her manner. Because of this experience I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, there are numerous hotels in Burgos with much better facilities and pleasant staff. Please avoid !

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel completely as there are loads of very good inexpensive hotels in Burgos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Four of us traveling so we booked a large room on the third floor. Room was clean, roomy with a nice large bathroom. The front desk clerk spoke good English and showed is the room to make sure it was fine for us first. It was Sunday so most everything was closed including the restaurant downstairs but the front desk clerk gave us a map of a nice place with lots of places open. Loved it, down by the river, ped mall, crowded and full of life. Parking can be difficult but not impossible and the walk is enjoyable if you have any distance to walk. Wifi does not work on the third floor but fine on 0-2 floors. Parking is free out front on the street. Lift is available to the 2 floor only.

Room Tip: Quiet area so no concerns over street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdxballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A 20 minute walk from the center of the town, The room was good and clean, the staff helpful but with little English, the breakfast disappointing, although there were a couple of great cafes nearby.
Overall a good place for a few days rest. While the weather can be wet, as it was on this visit we liked the Hotel and the town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed one night here on our way to the ferry at Santander. The hotel was very good. Clean, well maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful despite the language barrier. Our Spanish is mediocre. We had a meal in the restaurant and the waiter was very pleasant, the food was excellent, we had the roasted lamb. The bar area was typically Spanish all dark wood and high stools, but the choice of drinks could have been better.It was quite a walk into the city centre,but a 25 minute stroll along the riverside brought us to the cathedral. However, the Monastrey of Huegla was only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. and well worth a visit. The location was very quiet. The price was reasonable but no breakfast included.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I speak perfect Spanish and my husband is Spanish, so there was no language barrier. We were treated extremely rudely by the receptionist. Era muy impertinente y nos despreciaba de una manera incomprensible. I do not usually place reviews, but I would have liked to have been warned in advance, so this is a warning to others. We were not the only ones upset by her manner, though Burgos is a wonderful city. By the way, this trip took place last summer but I was surprised by the other reviews so I decided to write this. They must have had a different receptionist. I would not wish our experience on anyone.

Room Tip: Rather dark and dreadful curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wol2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Charming room- comfortable, well-equipped, impeccably clean. Pleasant and knowledgeable reception staff. The price was a very good deal, including a (basic) breakfast. Parking easy, quiet location. The only drawback (for some- not us) is that it's maybe a 25 minute walk to the city centre, along the river, but it's a lovely tree-lined walk. It's next to the old "Hospital del Rey"- now the University law faculty- which is a very fine collection of old buildings. It's also close to the Monasterio de las Huelgas, which is nearly as good as the cathedral and well worth a visit.
The hotel's restaurant is very good indeed- friendly service, good food, huge portions.(see separate review under Casa Azofra).
We'll definitely go there again next time we visit Burgos.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmens_hubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burgos hotels
1.0 mi away
Abba Burgos Hotel
Abba Burgos Hotel
#6 of 50 in Burgos
810 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
1.3 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Cordon
Hotel Cordon
#10 of 50 in Burgos
301 reviews
2.4 mi away
HQ La Galeria Hotel
HQ La Galeria Hotel
#11 of 50 in Burgos
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
AC Hotel Burgos
AC Hotel Burgos
#4 of 50 in Burgos
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azofra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azofra

Address: Calle Don Juan de Austria 22-24, 09001 Burgos, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Burgos
Price Range: £52 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azofra 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated in the university area of the city, conveniently just a 5 minute drive from Burgos' old town. The well-equipped accommodation comprises light and airy rooms with lovely wooden floors. In addition there are a number of meeting rooms, a cafe and a popular restaurant with a varied menu of traditional local dishes. Its location means you can enjoy the benefits of a residential area, peace and quiet and no problems finding somewhere safe to park, yet never far from the charming and historical old town. This property is also rated for the best value in Burgos! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Azofra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing