We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy and stylish in the heart of Burgos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Puebla Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
La Puebla Hotel
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
424 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Trendy and stylish in the heart of Burgos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed here over the holiday weekend with the intent to see the cathedral. The hotel was in a terrific location, very close to the main plaza and also to the cathedral. However it was dead quiet at night (unusual for Spain). The place was very nicely done over with exposed wood floors and a hip, mod look. The one down side to the floors was that they creaked mercilessly when one got up in the middle of the night to use the rest room. But they did look nice. The room was overly warm (as many Spanish places are come fall) but by turning the heat off, this problem was easily addressed. It's rated as a three star but that seemed a bit mean give that we've stayed in a number of three stars here that are nowhere close to as nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wombat1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    31
    23
    15
    18
See reviews for
21
49
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Nice and charming hotel, we got a double room (not too big but really beautiful) with a gigantic bed. The location is perfect, adjacent to the city centre.

The best part is that since we arrived without a reservation in the last minute on a Friday evening the room was only 50 euros!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Álvaro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2007

This hotel is centrally located in a narrow back street of the old and interesting city of Burgos. It tries to achieve a modern, clean, "designer" look, and to an extent it succeeds, but for us the result was rather too clinical, lacking any definite character or charm. This wouldn't have mattered so much were it not for the price - we paid 115 euros for 1 night for the two of us, including breakfast; fairly expensive we thought, for what you get.

On the positive side, the hotel is clean, functional and well-located. The welcome is friendly but no-one we met there spoke English; with our limited Spanish this made communication difficult. We were disappointed to be given a twin room as we had been careful when booking to request a double. The lady on reception said something about this but we didn't fully understand her - I think she was telling us that they have very few double rooms and that most of them are twins. Not much of an excuse though when you book more than 6 months in advance!

I think she tried to be helpful when we asked for restaurant advice but we understood so little of her reply we had to take pot luck and ended up in the restaurant immediately next door (the Fabula) which was good but quite expensive (114 euros). It is also worth noting that from our experience Burgos seems to take the Spanish preference for late dinners to extremes (it is not essentially a recognised tourist destination). Few restaurants had yet opened at 9pm. We presented ourselves at the Fabula at 9.15pm to be told it was too early and to return in 15 minutes, When we did, we were the only people eating until nearly 10.30pm; by 11.00 though it was almost full!

Our room was not large, but quite adequate and the beds comfortable but not ideal for a romantic holiday. The en-suite bathroom was good. The view was of the street and the location was quiet. Breakfast was average - again, OK but nothing special. There was a lift which was useful as we had two heavy cases.

Two other tips: firstly we found it difficult to access the hotel by car as the street is protected by an electrically operated barrier. There is a pole with a little grill to speak into and we understood nothing of what was said to us through it. We kept repeating "Hotel Puebla" for a long time before the barrier was raised and then I suspect this might have happened only because by then we were blocking the path of a large delivery van behind us! We never discovered the answer to how you are supposed to deal with this. Fortunately it's easier to get out when you leave. The second tip is to book secure parking in advance as we did. This is in an underground garage at the end of the street - fairly convenient though quite narrow access with tight bends on the downward access ramps - not for the faint-hearted or nervous drivers. But this is important as there is nowhere obvious to park in the vicinity.

This hotel would be fine for business travel or for one night (ours was just a one-night stopover). But if you have the time to stay longer in Burgos there is plenty to see including the magnificent cathedral and several museums and galleries; strolling in the impressive Plaza Mayor or under the trees by the river is nice too. For a longer stay we'd recommend looking for a hotel with more atmosphere - the Cordon in the same street looks interesting and might fit the bill. I think we'd try that if we return to Burgos.

  • Liked — Location (very central)
  • Disliked — Lacked character
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Northerner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague / Den Haag
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2006

We stayed two nights in Hotel La Puebla. On the pro side: clean, design interior, centrally located.
On the negative side: our room was very small, no aircon. The most disturbing was the music in the hallways and lobby. It was a kind of music you used to hear in elevators. Unfortunatly the music was so loud, you could hear in in the rooms itself. It was switched of at 11h PM, so you can forget about a siesta nap.

For the price of 88 euro a night (double room, no breakfast) the hotel is too expensive. After hotel La Puebla we stayed another two nights in Hotel Cordon (same street, a few meters from La Puebla). This was cheaper, no music, much larger rooms and better comfort level (although not the designish look of La Puebla).

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burgos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cordon
Hotel Cordon
#9 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Via Gotica
Hotel Via Gotica
#18 of 51 in Burgos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Norte y Londres
Hotel Norte y Londres
#12 of 51 in Burgos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centro Los Braseros
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
0.4 mi away
Meson del Cid
Meson del Cid
#3 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Puebla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Puebla Hotel

Property: La Puebla Hotel
Address: Calle Puebla 20, 09004 Burgos, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Puebla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic center and the shopping area but in a quiet street. 5 minutes from the cathedral and in the Camino de Santiago. It's an XIX C. refurbished building elegantly furnished. We can offer you parking and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your La Puebla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Puebla Burgos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing