We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST vegetarian in my whole life! AMAZING!”

Gaia Restaurante Vegetariano
Ranked #6 of 418 Restaurants in Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$17
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Granada, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The BEST vegetarian in my whole life! AMAZING!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Fair price, great products, incredible plates... The menu changes often. Usually the recipes are from all over the world. This couple travel a lot and you can taste in the restaurant.

Who needs more?

A MUST-EAT in Burgos!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank SaezMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    57
    16
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Burgos!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The service was top notch and the food delicious, inventive & favorful, all for a very reasonable price!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Soulless food..”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The price is very cheap..10€ for 4 courses... but the food..
Tasteless, and no texture, overcooked.
I would rather have 2 courses that had power then 4 with none.
Old school vegetarian, both in food and decoration of the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Galapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tasty, inventive and good value”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Although very close to the cathedral, it is a little bit hidden from the view and the main tourist routes of Burgos, this restaurant is well worth trying! Located a minute away from the cathedral, it offers a relieve to all vegetarians and vegans that visit Burgos.

Burgos and the whole of Castille y Leon is mainly famous for the delicious roasted sucking lamb and other red meat based products, therefore finding a pure vegetarian restaurant is very tricky. In fact, ordering almost anywhere in Spain a vegetarian sandwich, you are most likely going to find a slice or two of ham in between salad and tomatoes.
This restaurant was recommended to us separately by two vegetarian friends and we were not disappointed.

First of all, the price is very competitive- 10 Euro for a starter, first course, main course, home-made desert and a quarter litre of simple but very nice local red wine or large bottle of water is a great value.
On offer there are five starters, five first and second courses and deserts. It was really hard for me to select my food- all sounded delicious and I was curious to try it all. My fiancée was happy to share her food, so we tried a nice variety of food.

The food was very fresh, inventive with flavours and combinations (for example an asparagus gaspacho) and the portions were generous but not making you feel you have overeaten.

Also on offer, there are bio drinks such as beers (none on tap tough, all in bottles) and ciders- well worth trying a bottle of the Manzanova cidra- delicious!

The atmosphere is nice but quite simple and the service is good and food arrived fast, although the restaurant was fairly busy.

I have lived in Burgos for nearly 3 years and have tried several restaurants and tapas bars- the food here in general is excellent, but very few of them offer a purely vegetarian/vegan food.

I certainly will be coming more often to this restaurant- only a pity it is a 'comedor' which means it is only open for lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Libor79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, creative and cheap vegan food”
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal at this restaurant. The price was 10 euros per person for a four course meal, including water. The food is vegan (and also inventive) so will not suit all tastes. The menu apparently changes every day and there are four or five choices for each course. As an example, the dishes my friend and I ate included: a cold garlic and peanut soup (which sounds strange but was delicious), salad, lentil timbale with raspberry vinaigrette, asparagus soup and vegan tacos. The courses aren't huge but if you have four that works just fine. I left feeling well fed but not overfull. Only downside is that they don't serve hot drinks.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CarmenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaia Restaurante Vegetariano also viewed

Burgos, Province of Burgos
Burgos, Province of Burgos
 
Burgos, Province of Burgos
Burgos, Province of Burgos
 
Burgos, Province of Burgos
Burgos, Province of Burgos
 

Been to Gaia Restaurante Vegetariano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing