We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU MUST GO HERE !!!”
Review of Casa Pancho

Casa Pancho
Ranked #8 of 416 Restaurants in Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“YOU MUST GO HERE !!!”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We went to this restaurant and tapas bar three times whilst in Burgos. For the evening, the tapas is superb, try the calamaries, the mushrooms stuffed with bacon and the 'black pudding' [local speciallity]. This seems to be one of the few places where patatas bravas is the traditional type rather than 'chips' with a dip that a lot of bars now serve. For lunch the 'menu del dia' is very good value and of the highest quality. The restaurant, bar [and toilets] are spotlessly clean.
Most importantly the staff were what makes this such a memorable and enjoyable place to visit. We miss you already.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    431
    124
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vitoria-gasteiz, España
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Surprisingly calm”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Looking for a place to have lunch in the centre of Burgos on a Saturday can be daunting: everywhere there are droves of people indulging in that very Spanish oddity, eating just before going home... to have the main meal of the day! We would have skipped Casa Pancho as well, had it not had a view to the dining area; we could see the bar thronging with customers, but there were several tables free and the area looked quiet. We squeezed our way to our table and enjoyed a tasty, plentiful meal served with alacrity and kindness in equal measure. The cecina (cured beef ham) was the best we've had so far!
Only, careful with how much you order, rations ARE plentiful!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qualia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best home made food”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

On my travels passing Burgos, the visit of this restaurant is "a must". Half a dozen times I have visited this clean and cosy place. Difficult to get a greater variety of wines for a good price than at this place. Nov., 13th, I tried fresh boletus, just prepared with best olive oil, salt, pepper and white wine from Duero....delicious. The stuffed mushrooms are also "a must". Spain is famous for "russian salad", at Pancho's, this speciality is certainly a super tapa. Angel, friendly as ever and with a great sense of humour, recommended me the new hotel en front of Pancho's. I promised him to stay there for the next visit. Result: A wonderful evening as always.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rainer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The people that run this place are super friendly and take pride in the food they are putting out. And you can taste it. If you are visiting Burgos, this place is not to be missed. We went for lunch, and tried a lot of everything and it was all good. A month later, as I am writing this review, I can still remember the stuffed mushrooms and the dessert tarts. There were two dessert tarts- one was more of a custard and the other was closer to a cheesecake. The cheesecake was PHENOMENAL. Being an amateur baker, I tried to get them to explain to me how its made, but my Spanish is not so great. It's made with a cheese that's local to Burgos, but I couldn't figure out what its called. Anyway, make sure to have it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super friendly owners and fantastic tapas joint”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Best stuffed mushrooms this side of the Atlantic! Eat or regret forever. All other foods were absolutely delicious. 12 euros pax for lunch! Top this ! Santiago, the owner, is the very best you can find in Burgos.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 22Euro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Pancho also viewed

Burgos, Province of Burgos
Burgos, Province of Burgos
 
Burgos, Province of Burgos
Burgos, Province of Burgos
 

Been to Casa Pancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing