We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No charm but good value for money”
Review of Hotel Riosol Leon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riosol Leon
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Leon
Paris, France
Level Contributor
159 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“No charm but good value for money”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Comfortable and clean room (with poor view though), good price, efficient staff and close to the bus / train station were major benefits to us. Overall dated design, lack of atmosphere and very poor soundproof can be of a problem for long stays. The deal we had was great value for money though (50 euros for a double room).
The hotel is perfect for one night only, especially if bus or trains connections are an issue, but I would definitely look for a more charming place if in Léon for a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supermercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    98
    142
    61
    29
See reviews for
79
135
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

As I was travelling by train its proximity to the station was important and it is only yards away from it and only a 10 minute walk to the cathedral and old town.
I was given a double room at the front of the hotel but there was no noise from the main road outside. The room was a good size although in the bathroom the bath would have been too small for me to get into. I did however use the shower!
The room as with the rest of the hotel was very clean.
Breakfast was a cold buffet with the traditional fayre of rolls, ham cheese etc.
I was very impressed with the hotel staff. The lady on reception was very helpful providing a map and pointing out all the local attractions and the lady supervising the breakfast insisted on pouring my juice and coffee and carrying it to my table for me.
I had an onward train the next day and they looked after my luggage for me.
Would certainly use the hotel again if I ever revisit Leon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This was our 3rd overnight stop at this hotel. Everything runs very smoothly. We found it a bit more expensive than others we stayed at of a similar standard but it is conveniently located close to the river so we assume that's what the reason is. There is secure underground parking which is a bonus but they do charge for it.

Room Tip: Close to the corner with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just steps from the train station, Car Rental, Downtown. Inexpensive, Clean and Comfortable.
We enjoy our stay. If we come back to Leon we will stay here again and again!
Leon and Picos de Europa video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oMi12C3g5OQ

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SendaRemota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This hotel is about a 1 minute walk to the train and about 10+ minutes to the main centre so the location is quite good. It is overpriced for what you get and any useful things (wifi, etc.) are at an additional cost. The rooms are basic and a little tired. However, if you're just passing through, it is convenient. There are definitely better options and better prices available.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leon hotels

London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is THE hotel if you are making bus or train connections:
it is less than 5 minutes to the train and just over 5 to the bus.
The old town is a gentle 10 to 15 minute walk away.

We were in room 610. It had comfortable beds and a workable shower.
It was a little small but okay for a couple of nights.
Slightly old fashioned decor with dark woods.
Despite the hotel taking coach parties the lifts were always available when we wanted them.
Breakfast had slightly less choice than an IBIS but perfectly okay.

Room Tip: We were in an inside room away from the main road and heard no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We arrived in Leon very late in the evening, having walked a long stage of the Camino de Santiago, and were tired and cold. This hotal was a godsend. The night manager, Joseph, was friendly, helpful and even helped us order takeaway pizza when the restaurant across the road was closed. Other reception staff were similarly helpful. This is a comfortable and well priced place to stay, not especially picturesque but close to the city, old town and a short walk from the railway station. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Leon
Eurostars Leon
#6 of 36 in Leon
499 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apartahotel Exe Campus San Mames
0.7 mi away
Santiago Leon
Santiago Leon
#34 of 36 in Leon
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Husa Abad San Antonio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Quindos
Hotel Quindos
#30 of 36 in Leon
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 36 in Leon
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riosol Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riosol Leon

Property: Hotel Riosol Leon
Address: Calle Palencia 3, 24009 Leon, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riosol Leon 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riosol de Leon enjoys an unbeatable location at around 20 metres from the city's train station, next to the Bernesga river and just 500 metres from the old quarter and Leon Cathedral. We are possibly the city's best located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Eurostars, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riosol Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Riosol León

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing