We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal - and especially good for pilgrims”
Review of Guzman El Bueno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guzman El Bueno
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Leon
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Excellent position right in the middle of the old city, near the Cathedral, St Isidoro, etc, with lots of restaurants and bars very near, but a few yards up an alleyway off the main street, so that there isn't as much noise as there would be at night if it was actually on the main street (especially at weekends, when Leon students like to party till late), with helpful, knowledgeable and understanding owners. Two points that might be of interest to pilgrims on the Santiago route: a) laundry's no problem if you hand it in soon enough - just ask, and b) the showers have foot-bath type things underneath, so that, if you want, when you're standing washing in the shower you can be soaking your weary extremities in a foot of water. Not luxury but perfectly OK. Not very expensive. There's a reliable lift. The owners speak good English.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have just spent a week staying here after my wife had an accident breaking her leg after falling in cathedral plaza on our first night in Leon. The family who run Hostal Guzman el Bueno could not have been more supportive, kind or thoughtful during our enforced stay. They gave all kinds of assistance and kept our room for us, even though they had been booked out later during our stay. They made a difficult stay as easy as possible under the circumstances. While the room we had was small it suited our situation as my wife was able to negotiate getting to the bathroom without too much difficulty after surgery. We were offered a larger room. We could not ask for better support or service whilst we have been in Leon. We will be back here next year too enable us to complete the walk to Santiago, the reason we were staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidWKimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

This is not really a review - just an observation. Because of the reviews given on Trip Advisor we headed to "Guzman" when we arrived in Leon. The receptionist there hesitated over giving us a room, making us believe they were full. However he showed us two rooms, one that had obviously been smoked in and the other one quite small. Both were rather tired looking. The receptionist also told us that instead of the regular 50€ a night for double occupancy, we would have to pay 33€ each or 66€.
Imagine our surprise when we decided to look elsewhere and found a lovely 3* hotel around the block for 60 € including breakfast & taxes! It had character & the rooms are large with amazing baths. What a treat - we are very happy we aren't at th Guzmo el Beuno

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank retiredexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Silvia1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Marialangreo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mgustaviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
21.2 mi away
Hotel Reyes de Leon
Hotel Reyes de Leon
#18 of 35 in Leon
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Leon
Le Petit Leon
#23 of 35 in Leon
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Don Suero
Hostal Don Suero
#24 of 35 in Leon
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alfonso V
Hotel Alfonso V
#16 of 35 in Leon
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Leon San Antonio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde Luna
Hotel Conde Luna
#7 of 35 in Leon
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guzman El Bueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guzman El Bueno

Address: Calle Lopez Castrillon 6, 24003 Leon, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: £47 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guzman El Bueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing