We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended to Camino Pilgrims!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada Regia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Posada Regia
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Leon
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Recommended to Camino Pilgrims!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I spent one night at Posada Regia while walking the Camino de Santiago de Compostela. We arrived in Leon by bus and it was a 15 minute uphill walk up Avenida Ordoño II from the bus/railway station to this nice hotel. We had a bit of trouble finding the hotel, but I blame it on inattentiveness on our part. Please note that Avenida Ordoño II turns into Calle Ancha, make a right turn on to Calle Regidores and you will see the main building of the Posada Regia directly on your right hand side. Once settled, you can keep walking uphill and the Leon’s Cathedral (Santa Maria de Regla) is 5 minutes away.

We did not have a reservation coming in to Leon and we were happy the staff could accommodate us. We were lodged in an overflow building (across the street and 100 ft. up an alley). At first I was worried we were not in the main building. But the building we were housed in was secure and our room was very nice. I found the room to be a good size, quiet and clean. Our bathroom had double sinks, a cute corner tub, plenty of hot water, good water pressure and big, fluffy towels. We also had an enclosed Juliet balcony! The WiFi signal was strong in our room, but the downstairs desktop computer for guest’s use was antiquated and barely working.

The staff was polite and very business-like. We paid for breakfast and the only complaint I had about it was the fellow guest’s actions regarding buffet etiquette. The one staff person working the buffet was running herself ragged trying to meet the 12 tables of patron’s demands. I did not have dinner at the hotel’s restaurant, as the hotel is dead-center in Leon’s restaurant area!

Nothing to do with the hotel, but it could affect your visit to Leon… the Tourist Office by Leon’s Cathedral was one of the worst I have ever encountered in Europe. (When it was open… and I asked for suggested city sights I received a curt answer that consisted of just restaurant advice and then I was directed across the plaza to the cathedral… period… no other suggestions. I found these additional sites interesting:
#1) Cathedral of Leon (Santa Maria de Regla)
#2) Royal Pantheon/Basilica San Isidoro
#3) Leon Parador/Antiguo Convento de San Marcos
#4) City walls and gates

Room Tip: I liked the quiet of the overflow building rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJoisygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    85
    52
    17
    7
See reviews for
41
79
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
874 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great location, friendly staff and if you are lucky, a nice size room. I had room 301 which was on the top level. Other reviewers have mentioned the small dormer windows. They are correct. But the room was large in comparison with other rooms on the floor, comfortable well appointed and well lit for reading. There are lots of electrical outlets and you don’t have to unplug anything to use them. Air conditioning is needed on this level and it worked fine. I left it on all day and the room was always comfortable. The bathroom is good size with a sizable triangular tub. The embroidered bed linens felt wonderful and the extra large and fluffy bath sheets were very unexpected. I never heard any street noise, but did hear water running in the adjacent room.


The breakfast buffet was average - but with delicious fresh squeezed orange juice. The coffee was good too. Most of the buffet is set out, and they will bring the coffee and juice to your table.

I would stay here again. If you don’t mind a window high up, this is a good room to get on the third floor of the main building.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small. Maybe ask to see a few rooms before accepting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We arrived by train and it was a convenient 15 minute walk from the railway station to this nice hotel. But we had received an e-mail to wish us welcome and give us instructions in finding the hotel even before our arrival. So we felt very welcome, and the staff was also very nice when we arrived. The building is in the pedestrian area very close to the cathedral and to many bars and restaurants. Of course this makes the area somewhat noisy at night, so if you want to make sure that you can sleep at night you should reserve a room with an air conditioning for a small extra charge. We did, but since the weather was not very warm we never actually used it.
Our room was at the top floor, and it was quite small with only a small window which you had to climb up on a chair to be able to look out through. But the room was very nice and also had a minibar and a pleasant bathroom.
In the morning we had breakfast that was included in our price, and it was very good. I really recommend this hotel if you want to stay close to all sights and feel that you are a part of this pleasant city.

Room Tip: Pay a few extra euros for a room with air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kartul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Spent one night here during our trek of El Camino de Santiago. Older hotel, but excellent facilities. Meals outstanding. Service excellent. Only negative was the street noise, which was loud and amplified by the narrow streets lined by stone buildings--loud enough until 4 a.m. to make sleep difficult to impossible. No air conditioning meant we had to keep the window open to stay cool during an extremely hot summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vihti, Finland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Posada Regia is right on the corner of the busy pedestrian street and the edge of the bar and restaurant area. Fine, but it has a downside. As the building is ancient - and very cozy for that - the noisy bar guests will keep you awake until the early hours even on the third floor where the rooms do not have real windows, only small shutters 2 meters off the floor. The doors are also a bit a jar so you neighbours' comings and goings are clearly audible. But the rooms are well-equipped and beautiful. Air conditioning costs extra, and so does breakfast, both are well worth their price. Garage parking is costly, street parking is possible and free from Sat. afternoon until Monday morning. (Try Calle Ramon y ... and side streets)

Room Tip: Avoid third floor, low ceilings, shutters or skylights for windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here after a night at the Leon Parador. This place is much more fun and representative of a comfortable, old hotel. Ask for a corner room overlooking the street.
The attache restaurant is also fine and worth a trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We traveled to Leon to begin the last one hundred kilometers of the Camino. The first night we stayed in the Parador which was elegant but not centrally located. The second night we stayed at La Posada Regia with our group (the wonderful "On Foot In Spain"). Our room was charming corner room overlooking the street on the third floor. The hotel is very old (dark wood & the like) but comfortable and had everything we wished. It has its own restaurant as well that serves traditional delicious spanish fare.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor
0.2 mi away
Hospederia Monastica Pax
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conde Luna
Hotel Conde Luna
#8 of 36 in Leon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alfonso V
Hotel Alfonso V
#13 of 36 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 36 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Infantas de Leon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Regia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Regia

Property: La Posada Regia
Address: Calle Regidores 9-11, 24003 Leon, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Regia 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your La Posada Regia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Regia León

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing