We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget choice in Leon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Blanca B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Blanca B&B
Ranked #4 of 23 Leon B&B and Inns
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great budget choice in Leon”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had trouble finding Pension Blanca as our new satnav had absolutely no clue about the one way systems in Leon. Good to get directions beforehand as it is possible to pull up right outside to unload. Blanca is great, really helpful, told us where to park for free (a mere 5 mins walk away), gave us a map on arrival and talked us through all the sights to cram in with only one full day to see Leon. The room was fine, clean, bathroom very tiny but had all the facilities. The common room was a useful resource and was also the place for breakfast, a help-yourself affair with everything laid out in the kitchen. Breakfast was basic; cereal, bread, jam, coffee/teas/chocolate and we would have liked some local ham/cheeses, but maybe we had been spoilt by the amazing value breakfast at our previous hotel in Gijon. As a coeliac, I was delighted that Blanca provided gluten-free cereal and bread. The kitchen is available for guest use throughout the day. Highly recommended as a budget B&B in Leon - really convenient for all the main attractions and all within walking distance. Leon really grew on us and we wished we had booked an extra day - it's a lively, vibrant city which felt safe and easy to navigate by day, but it really came alive at night when it seemed the whole population took to the streets to promenade and gather in the numerous bars and restaurants that line the streets. The old quarter is particularly fine to wander around as it's largely pedestrianised, and the jewel in the crown is the magnificent gothic cathedral. Pension Blanca and Leon are both well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Might have been a weekend thing but our room which overlooked Avenue Independencia was really noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pangurdubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlancaS562, Propietario at Pension Blanca B&B, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for your comment on my Leon and board, you only have to come back here we'll be waiting. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
36
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The manager Blanca is outstanding. Breakfast was good and it was great to meet other walkers on the Camino in the common room in the evening and to share a meal with them. Blanca provided everything for a great breakfast and was an excellent source of info. about Leon....

Room Tip: While we had a bedroom with shared bath there was only 1 other room sharing the bathroom and there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UCnAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlancaS562, Gerente at Pension Blanca B&B, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for your review, I´m glad you conectarais with other pilgrims and I serve my comments to my town knew each other better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

If you are visiting Leon and want an extremely convenient and reasonable place to stay then Pension Blanca is a good place to chose. We drove into Leon on a Saturday, found the Pension easily and were able to park free nearby.

Blanca is very knowledgeable and kind. The kitchen is open at all times so you can cook or heat food in a microwave, make a cup of tea/coffee whenever you wish.

The rooms are clean and have all you need. It is remarkably quiet for a city centre location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My music group Mundi needed a place to stay in Leon that was comfortable, affordable... and in central Leon. The Pension Blanca fit all these requirements, and our party of 8 enjoyed 3 nights at this bed & breakfast, all the while looked after by the amazing manager Bianca - who was always checking to see we had everything we needed. The cathedral is a 6 minute walk from here, and there's plenty to see and do nearby. If you're going to Leon on a budget, this is a definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlancaS562, Propietario at Pension Blanca B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thanks to the whole group, do not forget your concert was magnificent as you, I hope you enjoyed de Leon and his people. I wish you many concerts

A Kiss to all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I pre booked this Pension for 2 nights for the start of our Camino. Unfortunately, we had a flight cancellation due to a strike and couldn't get there for the first night. The manager was very understanding and didn't charge us for the late cancellation. She was very friendly and helpful when we arrived. The Pension is located in a great position close to the bus, train station and the centre of Leon. It is located in an apartment building and is one where you need to press the buzzer to get access to reception, but we had no problems in getting access.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrabushwalker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlancaS562, Propietario at Pension Blanca B&B, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por vuestra crítica, espero que hayais disfrutado de vuestro camino.

Saludos y buena vida
Blanca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We came for 1-2 nights with my wife and stayed 4 nights!! This is how good we felt at Blanca's!
This is a small B&B with only a couple of rooms, but they have everything you need. Very good location (good bars and restaurants closeby) and very clean...
The small kitchen is shared so we also cooked once.
The best part is how friendly Blanca is. She goes always the extra mile to make you feel home. She keeps the place very tidy, gives you advice on what to do and where to go, gave my wife hairdryer, etc.
We came doing the camino de Santiago. I had to stop as I had an injury. Blanca adviced a good place to go and see a doctor and even gave me lunch one day I was stranded in the hostel as I wasn't able to walk much!
Next time we go to the north of Spain we will gothere again!!!
Thank you Blanca.
Regards,
Christian & Roberta from Germany

Room Tip: our room had windows to two sides so it was very sunny and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca S, Propietario at Pension Blanca B&B, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Google Translation
Gracias pareja por vuestro comentario, espero que tu tendinitis haya ido mejorando y tu chica terminara el camino sin problemas. Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at pension blanca for one night during semana Santa and really enjoyed our stay. Great location, bright and clean rooms, friendly service and great rates! The free breakfast was a definite plus!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sicilly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hospederia Monastica Pax
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Leon
Eurostars Leon
#6 of 36 in Leon
482 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Reyes de Leon
Hotel Reyes de Leon
#17 of 36 in Leon
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 36 in Leon
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor
1.1 mi away
Apartahotel Exe Campus San Mames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Blanca B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Blanca B&B

Property: Pension Blanca B&B
Address: Calle Villafranca 2 | Villafranca, 2, 24001 Leon, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esta situado en la Avenida principal de Leon Ordono II, esquina con C/ Villafranca, con vistas a la catedral y a cinco minutos andando de la estacion de Renfe y de Autobuses, y al lado de las visitas indespensables de la ciudad (Catedral, Barrio Humedo y Romantico, Musac, Plaza Toros, San Isidoro..)Es un alojamiento diferente; calido y actual.Disponemos de 7 habitaciones, cinco de ellas con bano completo y otras dos comparten bano y aseo.Un espacio para ti; cocina disponible, salon-comedor, Biblioteca, internet y Wifi en las habitaciones.El alojmiento tambien dispone del servicio de lavanderia, guardamos tu bicicleta y admitimos a tu animal de compania. Tambien os proveemos de secador de pelo y plancha o si necesitas informacion sobre actividades, rutas, u otra cosas que puedas necesitar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Blanca B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing