We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartahotel Exe Campus San Mames

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartahotel Exe Campus San Mames
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Leon
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Great hotel near the old town. Just a 15 minute walk. Large rooms with kitchen (utensils for rent). Large beds (90 * 200 cm). All present what you expect. Good service at the counter. Extensive breakfast in the hotel or at 2 minutes in a small bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan3Buster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    126
    46
    6
    6
See reviews for
88
82
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
136 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed here one night in May 2013, and was very happy with my stay. The aparthotel is located only 15 minutes (brisk) walk from the old town of Léon and maybe 20 minutes from the cathedral. Considering the very low price of the hotel (I payed under EUR 40), I did not mind the walking.

My room was large, spotlessly clean and had everything I needed. The bathroom was only adequate in size, as a large bathtub took up most of the space. The room had a kitchenette, and you could rent necessary utensils in the reception for EUR 7. Everything seemed new, modern and practical – I cannot complain about anything except that the six lane busy road outside made opening the window very noisy...

I booked through hotels.com, which wrote that WiFi was only available in the reception area. The also read that in January 2013 this was the case. However, there is WiFi in the rooms as well (and in Spanish standards it was very fast). Ask the receptionist for password and username when your arrive.

If you fancy a buffet in your room, or want to test the kitchen, there is a large Supermercado Mercadona only a few hundred meters from the hotel (you can probably see it from your window). I also noticed that you could buy the breakfast for around EUR 6, but I did not try it.

Parking in Léon is incredible expensive, but you can park right outside the hotel for free. Something to consider when booking a stay in Léon...

The receptionists were all friendly and helpful. I know that the hotel lack certain things to be a 4-star hotel, but in reality I would say that it is. All in all I thought the hotel had a perfect location for both leisure and sightseeing in Léon. Top rating due to an incredible low price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

We recently visited León and booked accommodation at this place. We booked a quadruple room that had also a kitchenette. It was fine and met our expectations. The room was adequately served and cleaned daily. Breakfast (extra) was also ok. There was a hiccup when we were told at reception we needed to use a cable to connect our laptops and iPads!!! Who uses that at this day and age? Luckily our room was very close to the cafeteria and we managed to connect (wi-fi) to its network. Make sure you get a room close to one of the areas with wireless otherwise you may end up with an old fashioned cable and no way to plug it to your mobile devices. The hotel is located at the university campus. If you are planning on sightseeing in the old town you may have to walk a good 20'. The good thing is if you are driving you can park in the area for free.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JOSE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed 2 nights on a whirl wind tour of Spain at the Campus San Mames. This hotel is in the San Mames neighborhood, a good 20-30 minute walk from the center of town. There is parking out front and a cafe/bar called Casablanca across the street. The rooms were clean, everything worked, the staff was nice. There are no glaring don't stay here signs to report, but there are some considerations.

1) The walls are super thin- one night at 2 am it sounded like someone was moving furniture. It was really loud and you can see from my other reviews I am not the type to complain lightly

2) Ask for a non smoking room- the room I got smelled heavily of smoke. I opened a window and it was ok later but if someone is sensative to smoke it would be bad. I am sure it would be just fine in a non smoking room but you need to ask for it when booking.

3) The weather was dreary when I got there, so this may have exacerbated the feeling, but the area felt somewhat depressing. You are going to spend all of your time by the catherdral and the old cityt anyway, so it is up to you to decide if saving a considerable amount of money is worth it.

Overall- no huge issues and a good value for the money, it's just that if where you stay has a huge impact on your enjoyment of your time look in the center

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking. Be sure of this
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oddeseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Too far away from the downtown, but good. Price was good too. Convenient, simple, but very large room with citchen. Stuff is very helpfull and nice. If you really need something - they try to help you. Very pleasant. If you need to buy something to cook - a big supermarket is a 3 minutes from the hotel. On foot :-) But for a car`s parking you need to pay.....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luluka35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Nice hotel, with convenient free parking in circular driveway right in front of hotel. Parking garage costs extra. Large modern room with kitchenette. Good bathroom with ample room. Breakfast was good with fruit, yogurt, coffee bar and plenty of fresh juice. Location was good if you have a car, but it was about a 15 minute walk to the center of town. I don't recommend driving into town because parking is difficult and one can always take a taxi. Overall the hotel is a good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We have stayed here on 2 separate occasions already en route to and from Portugal and are planning another stay shortly. The hotel is very good value for money.

The rooms are extremely spacious and provide more than ample room for luggage and moving around. The bathroom is also great and the water pressure and temperature both great.

Upon request a cable can be provided for in-room laptop internet usage.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Husa Abad San Antonio
1.5 mi away
Eurostars Leon
Eurostars Leon
#6 of 36 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 36 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Infantas de Leon Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hospederia Monastica Pax
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartahotel Exe Campus San Mames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartahotel Exe Campus San Mames

Property: Apartahotel Exe Campus San Mames
Address: Calle Vegamian 13, 24007 Leon, Spain (Formerly Aparthotel Campus San Mames)
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartahotel Exe Campus San Mames 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right across the Vegazana Campus of the University of Leon, Aparthotel Campus San Mames offers bright, spacious studios for your stay in Leon. All of them include free Wi-Fi access, kitchenette, TV, and bathtub. There are studios with triple and quad rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Eurostars, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Apartahotel Exe Campus San Mames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Campus San Mames León

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing