We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador "Hostal San Marcos"
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It is hard to describe this building. It is enormous with an elaborately carved and decorated exterior reflecting its long and storied history. It looks even more imposing because it sits on a large plaza which accentuates its length and imposing facade. It is a huge building and you can get lost in it and I did. Renovations include elevators and the rooms are down long hallways and the numbering of the rooms can be confusing. The room was fine, a bit dated but very serviceable. Service was good and so was the food in the restaurant. It was clean and the bathroom was good sized. Showers worked well and the water was hot.
The history of the area is worth reading about and the interior reflects its history. Many pilgrims on their way to Santiago de Compostela stay here and pass by in a steady stream with their scallop shells on their backpacks. Lots to see and explore in the building and I am glad that I had an opportunity to stay here and learn of the history of the building and the area.

Room Tip: Get good directions on where your room is. It is easy to get lost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty65Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    722
    286
    94
    36
See reviews for
433
1,289
54
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This Hostal was truly the highlight of my Camino accommodation, the rooms were extremely comfortable though they might be a little dated. The Breakfast was really enjoyable but the highlight for me was the building, I walked all through and around it totally in awe, to think that you can stay in such a magnificent place at a price that I thought was truly reasonable. I hope to return one day and stay for a few nights and not just have the limited wardrobe that is the Camino walking gear. If you have the chance do stay. Now I have tried one I would like to try other Paradores in Spain.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The sheer size of the exterior, which appears even larger because it sits on an open plaza, is daunting. The plataresque decorative style so embellished the building that it was overwhelming. The interior was equally grand but in smaller doses more tolerable. Our arrival was strange because we weren't certain we could drive the car through the plaza (we could) and once in front of the building, the valet came out and offered to park it and we didn't know the parking arrangements and the valet couldn't communicate well. I have mobility problems and had booked a disabled room and was disappointed to find the room fairly standard with limited functionality Travelling from reception to the room was awkward as the most direct way was by a large stairway so I had to take an indirect elevator route that included a stroll through the breakfast dining room. In general, the accessibility of this parador was lacking. We found the staff sufficiently helpful except at check out The process was slow and the lady doing the checking out answered a telephone after she began helping me causing me to wait even longer.

Room Tip: We were in the annex Imagine the rooms in the main building would be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Walking in was like going into a great museum or cathedral. The history of the hotel/hostel/monestary dates back to 70 AD and its been built, destroyed and rebuilt several times. Construction of the current building started in 1515. It’s served as a monastery for the pilgrims travelling to Santiago de Compostela and later became the headquarters of the Order of Saint James whose soldiers provided protection for the pilgrims. It also contains a consecrated church and museum. This truly is one of the most beautiful Renaissance buildings in Spain that we’ve seen. The carvings on the 100 meter long front of the hotel depict religious and historical events is amazing. An explore of the interior is a must. There are several public rooms filled with paintings, carvings and tapestries as well as the church and choir areas. It rained hard while we were there but fortunately just walking around the hotel was well worth it. When we entered the hotel the reception area was crowded with pilgrims making the 700 mile (or more) trek from France to Santiago de Compestela by foot and carrying enormous backpacks. Over the time we were there waves of latter day pilgrims arrived or left. We met French, Germans, Norwegians, Americans, Brazilians .. pretty much from everywhere.
This facility has been remodeled as a hotel and is the best hotel option in Leon. Rooms are average size and ours came with a small balcony overlooking the river. wifi is spotty probably due to the thick stone walls. You may have to go down to the first floor to do any serious file transfers. Breakfasts are good and include a wide selection (eggs and bacon as well as a large assortment of fruit, pastries and bread). The restaurant is a good dining option. I had a stew of chickpeas, beef and bacon that was very good. But there are other restaurant options in the local area that are more reflective of current Spanish foodie cuisine. Try the Parrilla Louzao restaurant which is a 5-10 minute walk. Its an amazing experience by itself. If you have any real volume of wash to do on your trip there’s a reasonably priced laundry mat within walking distance that the concierge can direct you to (the hotel option is very pricey). Service at the hotel is spotty due in part to the large waves of people coming in and leaving. They are friendly and helpful but overworked at times.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river/park and preferably with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
304 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Staying at this magnificent building either you fuse into it or feel overwhelmed by its size and grandeur. One gets the feeling of being an unwelcome guest and the attitude of the personnel enhances the perception. They were aloof and rude and the service during breakfast short of peevish. This is a common problem with Paradores. The personnel feels and acts like civil servant to which you owe them a favor by staying at the premisses. This is not new, it has been an endemic problem. The parking was free and the rooms quite. Although the building is probably the most grandiose of Paradores, it lacks the human "touch", or charm such as those in Cangas the Onis or Cambados. Worth once a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinezcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A magnificent building both externally and internally. Although we were in the 'new' wing, this was not immediately apparent from the interior of the room. The reception was brusque on arrival and we had to use the bell boy to take us to the room and he seemed to want a tip! On the basis that I did not ask for him he did not get one!

This is a busy hotel and two receptionist staff in the morning were clearly struggling to cope with all the check outs.

We ate out in the town and can not comment on the dining room except to say that breakfast w of the usual Parador standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budjuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Possibly the grandest Hotel building in Spain it incorporates an ancient resting place for pilgrims and a beautiful church and yet has modernised with 120 rooms fitted neatly behing the facade so you don't notice you have moved from old to modern. The public rooms are wonderful and just to look at the and the grand staircase is a treat. There is a reasonable coffee and snack bar in the front of the hotel which leads on to the Grand dining room - 9.00pm opening ! The rooms in the new block are spacious but could do with refurbishment. The Wi/Fi is weak and intermittent (but stiill free although they are plugging a 9 euro upgrade) Breakfast room is halfway up the grand staircase and with several hundred guests is reasonably managed. Fresh orange juice and 4 netpresso machines. Good selection of warm and cold buffet and excellent bread. If you can get a deal on the grand rooms in the old part you should take it. A trip to the church before service and especially the choir stalls off the cloister are hightly recommended.

Room Tip: Negotiate for a room in the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinbwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor
0.9 mi away
Hospederia Monastica Pax
0.4 mi away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 36 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Leon
Eurostars Leon
#6 of 36 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real Colegiata de San Isidoro
1.2 mi away
Hotel Husa Abad San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador "Hostal San Marcos"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador "Hostal San Marcos"

Property: Parador "Hostal San Marcos"
Address: Plaza San Marcos 7, 24001 Leon, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leon
#2 Business Hotel in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Parador "Hostal San Marcos" 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostal de San Marcos is one of the most extraordinary historic hotels on the Old Continent. Construction of the building was begun in the 16th century, together with the bridge across the River Bernesga in the outskirts of León. It was built to house the peninsula's western headquarters for the Military Order of Saint James. The project was financed by King Ferdinand the Catholic. The magnificent hotel is a museum of stately function rooms, with a spectacular cloister and chapter house; spacious, elegant guest rooms; a library; and a wonderful restaurant that offers beautifully prepared traditional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador "Hostal San Marcos" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Leon Hotel Leon
Parador De Leon León
Parador De Leon Hotel León

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing