We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice parador, well located and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador "Hostal San Marcos"
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Very nice parador, well located and friendly”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed in Room 456 (standard double in the original section, overlooking the river with breakfast included) for a single night.

The bathroom was nice but a bit cramped. The shower (in bath) was fine. Parador's own product range was available and the towels were lovely.

The queen bed was comfortable and the room was warm. It was an atmospheric room with window with wooden shutter that provided 100% block out. The view was on to a pedestrian bridge and river through the trees.

Reception was very friendly.

The breakfast was nice, the usual amount of choice (which is a lot) for a parador.

As the building is a historic monument there are plenty of interesting parts of the building to explore including the cloisters.

The parking around the back of the property was easy to reach and free.

We thought the location was reasonably good, 15 minutes walk to calle ancha and 20 to the cathedral. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for a room in the original part of the building, not the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agustin M, Director General at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Jon Potte,
we do thank you for share your opinion in this travellers chat
We do celebrated that you enjoyed your time with us.
Opinion like yours encourage us to continue working in this direction.
The heritage of San Marcos is incredible however the team always goes an step futher for our guests.
Thanks and regards from leon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    771
    302
    102
    39
See reviews for
457
1,413
57
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

When we drove around the corner and approached the hotel, I was completely in awe of staying here. However, throughout out my week, I found some paradoxes that is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

-Outside facade is immaculate, stately, and gorgeous & inside the main hall is transformative as if you were entering into the Spanish renissance with the large heavy carpets, immense chandeliers, connection to the church/museum, old library, impecable courtyards and themed furnature that made you feel a bit like old-world Spanish elite.

- As you pass through your heavy, carved wooden door and onto the wood floor into the room, the let-down began. The bed is very short and not comfortable (I was in a normal double room). I was here for work and needed to do some work at the desk, but at 6'0", my legs are too tall to fit my knees under the desk and this made working here very uncomfortable.

-Food - breakfast buffet was great. A delightful selection of choices: from fresh squeezed juices, charcuterie, cheese, spanish omlet, breads, sausages, cereal, and more. However, the dinner/room service left much to be desired and I ended up getting a pizza from Dominos as it was better/cheaper than the restaurant.

- I wish it was warmer because the room has a great balcony - unfortunately, Februrary was the wrong time to be here and use it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mónica G, Director General at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear AmyP,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences after being our guests.
We do celebrated that you enjoyed your time with us.
We do aplogies for not being able to match all your needs.
However we do feel happy reading your commends, San Marcos is so special as you point it out.
Thanks again and we do remain at your diposal.
Look forwrd to welcoming you back in the future.
With warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

While visiting family in Leon in December '13 I attended a Private luncheon party for a group of friends of my cousin. It was in a private room. Food was excellent as was selection of wines. Service was also excellent.

I have stayed in hotel in prior years and the place itself is worth the stay. Regular rooms where I stayed were not bad, wouldn't give them 5* still would recommend it and will stay there in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It is overpriced, in my opinion, but there's no denying there's no place like it to stay ... it's huge and its fun to wander the corriders and explore its nooks and crannies, expecially the cloister. Its like stepping back into history.
Most of the staff are helpful but some of the front desk people can be a little curt and terse. The maids and the bar staff are especially friendly.
Its about a 25 minute walk from the centre of town and the cathedral so that can be an issue if it's raining or cold. On the other hand being away from the centre of things means its also quiet.
And do NOT stay in the "new" section, which has zero charm or style. The "old" section is the part with character..

Room Tip: Ask for the "old" section ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingzogofalbania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

It looks like a magnificent palace! The rooms are small but comfortable. The staff are disinterested but you put up with it for the experience. They don’t serve dinner till 8.00 so don’t bother turning up early! Dinner was terrific though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Having seen pictures of the exterior, we didn’t consider staying anywhere else but the Hostel San Marcos in Leon, and there is no question that when viewed from the plaza the façade is glorious, a powerful presence in terms of its ornamentation and sheer expanse. Inside the public rooms are far less elaborate, though the scale remains grandiose. Our room was in a section that had been constructed much more recently, and the room itself was of ample proportion, well furnished, and clean. No complaints, but it seemed reminiscent a hotel room from the 1970s or 80s, not at all historic. The Parador is large (at least the largest we have stayed in), and when combined with the contemporary additions on the back with their long corridors, one might think they were in a convention hotel. (This may be an unfair assessment, in that we prefer smaller paradors in more rural areas.) Breakfast was bountiful, with something for everyone’s taste, and staff kept the different food stations well-supplied, no small task with scores of hungry tourists wanting a quick bite. Our experience in the bar the evening before proved disappointing, staff were indifferent and the food mediocre, something that rarely happens in Spain. On-site covered parking is available at no fee, and San Marcos is convenient for exploring the sites of Leon on foot. Particularly suggest the cathedral, which has a very informative audio guide that describes the construction (and structural problems) of these wondrous edifices. We don’t necessarily regret staying at the Hostel San Marcos; it was good. Rather we regret not taking the time to look for alternatives in Leon that may have appealed more to our style and taste. You can always take your photo outside the Parador's magnificent exterior and tell your friends that’s where you spent the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oxford1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It is hard to describe this building. It is enormous with an elaborately carved and decorated exterior reflecting its long and storied history. It looks even more imposing because it sits on a large plaza which accentuates its length and imposing facade. It is a huge building and you can get lost in it and I did. Renovations include elevators and the rooms are down long hallways and the numbering of the rooms can be confusing. The room was fine, a bit dated but very serviceable. Service was good and so was the food in the restaurant. It was clean and the bathroom was good sized. Showers worked well and the water was hot.
The history of the area is worth reading about and the interior reflects its history. Many pilgrims on their way to Santiago de Compostela stay here and pass by in a steady stream with their scallop shells on their backpacks. Lots to see and explore in the building and I am glad that I had an opportunity to stay here and learn of the history of the building and the area.

Room Tip: Get good directions on where your room is. It is easy to get lost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty65Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real Colegiata de San Isidoro
0.4 mi away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 35 in Leon
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Leon
Eurostars Leon
#6 of 35 in Leon
516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hospederia Monastica Pax
1.1 mi away
AC Hotel Leon San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador "Hostal San Marcos"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador "Hostal San Marcos"

Property: Parador "Hostal San Marcos"
Address: Plaza San Marcos 7, 24001 Leon, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leon
#2 Business Hotel in Leon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Parador "Hostal San Marcos" 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostal de San Marcos is one of the most extraordinary historic hotels on the Old Continent. Construction of the building was begun in the 16th century, together with the bridge across the River Bernesga in the outskirts of León. It was built to house the peninsula's western headquarters for the Military Order of Saint James. The project was financed by King Ferdinand the Catholic. The magnificent hotel is a museum of stately function rooms, with a spectacular cloister and chapter house; spacious, elegant guest rooms; a library; and a wonderful restaurant that offers beautifully prepared traditional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador "Hostal San Marcos" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Leon Hotel Leon
Parador De Leon León
Parador De Leon Hotel León

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing