We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador "Hostal San Marcos"
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

You cant believe that your hotel is inside a two star stop in. Michelin. The magnificent cloister is beautiful and is part of this hotel. The rooms are regular, but very clean and well kept.
The restaurant is typical and the waiters very helpful even at 11 pm at night.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ninfa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    740
    293
    100
    36
See reviews for
437
1,341
56
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Having previously walked the Camino with a friend I took my wife on a return trip to drive over the route. I had stayed in 2 of the best Paradors on the last trip 4 years ago this one in Leon and the other in Santiago de Compestela. The Hostal San Marco's has a great setting on an enormous Square, the entrance, interiors and the four foot walls are all very impressive. You can wonder around at will. The service was great, the breakfast was superb, the staff, rooms were excellent and the price is very reasonable. We asked for a superior room and it was like having a self contained flat with a jacuzzi in the back corner of a Castle.
The only problem here is that you will never be in Leon unless you do the Camino, shame really as it is a lovely little town and the restaurants and bars are extremely reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room try and get 551
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It was a poor start to this Hotel , the signs for it are non existent , we eventually found the entrance only buy going across a park we shouldn't have drove along !
However there is plenty of parking,
The Hotel entrance is very impressive as is the reception area, The rooms however are not set in the old part of the building ,but in a newer part at the rear.When I say newer in looks like a typical 1970,s seaside build, only darker, The rooms were a bit careworn and as I said before very gloomy..DONT however be tempted to just throw open the windows as the mosquito population was the worst we have experienced for some time !
Leon town is just a few footsteps away and was a delightful place, and the Hotel is in probably the best location
Breakfast was usual Parador quality

would I return, no probably not, unless they improve room quality

Room Tip: Don't open the windows !1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agustin M, Director General at Parador "Hostal San Marcos", responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mr. Lomoto,
I would like to thank you for sharing on line your experiences after being guest of the Parador this month.
I do apologies for not being able to match all your needs and with that in mind we do continue working hard to improve the product we have. Improve room quality is on our yearly plan.
I hope you enjoyed your time in León and if you plan to return here and you think that a second opportunity is still posible reach out to me and we do the outmost for you and your family.
Thanks and regards from Leon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at this Parador during a week long driving tour of northern Spain. I doubt you will find amore stunning hotel anywhere. The ex Monastery has been turned into a magnificent high class hotel whilst retaining large parts of the original cloisters and church around which you are free to explore. Everything is of the highest quality as you would expect from a Parador hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcichris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
100 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was walking the Camino de Santiago and THIS is the place I had decided to splurged and stay in. So glad I did!! Definitely the right decision! Gorgeous room, comfortable, with a delighful balcony, yet quiet and lovely. The breakfast variety was phenomenal, a huge room set up with tables and tables and tables of fresh, buffet items. The wi-fi works poorly in the rooms. However, they have a gorgeous room with a couple of hard-wired computers set up for guests. The ability to wandered around on this historical building and the feel of having your own "Night at the Museum" is priceless! Definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYChichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, England
Level Contributor
225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My jaw dropped when I realised thst the building I was looking at was actually the hotel I was looking for. It felt so good parking outside in the Plaza and unloading my cases; like I'd won the lottery. The interior doesn't disappoint with an impressive reception area and courtyard like a cathedral, and being connected directly to the church and Leon museum. I don't know anywhere like it. Other areas are more hotel-like; the bedroooms, breakfast lounge and restaurant are quite standard. I found the staff generally helpful. I joined a guided tour of the Parador which was very informative but is only in Spanish.
I want to comment on the restaurant. It's one of those where the staff hover and try to do everything for you and before you know it your wine has been topped up even if you didn't want any more. They can be helpful, e.g. in mixing a salad dressing to your liking at the table, but I was not impressed when I was asked if I had finished my main course when I was still chewing the last mouthfull and before I knew it my plate had been taken. PLEASE, give us some more time to enjoy the experience of dining. Overall though, an unforgettable (for good reasons) stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank go9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groesbeek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is in an old Monastery like a palace. The facade is marvelous and also the building inside is worth seeing. Rooms are clean and up to date, although old style. Hotel in close to Leon's old city center. Walking to the shopping streets there is very nice.
The old Leon center and Cathedral are worth seeing and walking through.

Next to the hotel you can see older man playing the typical Spanish Petanque and other plays.

Room Tip: All roomd look okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Leon
Eurostars Leon
#6 of 36 in Leon
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real Colegiata de San Isidoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hospederia Monastica Pax
0.4 mi away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 36 in Leon
794 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Husa Abad San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador "Hostal San Marcos"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador "Hostal San Marcos"

Property: Parador "Hostal San Marcos"
Address: Plaza San Marcos 7, 24001 Leon, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leon
#2 Business Hotel in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Parador "Hostal San Marcos" 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostal de San Marcos is one of the most extraordinary historic hotels on the Old Continent. Construction of the building was begun in the 16th century, together with the bridge across the River Bernesga in the outskirts of León. It was built to house the peninsula's western headquarters for the Military Order of Saint James. The project was financed by King Ferdinand the Catholic. The magnificent hotel is a museum of stately function rooms, with a spectacular cloister and chapter house; spacious, elegant guest rooms; a library; and a wonderful restaurant that offers beautifully prepared traditional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parador "Hostal San Marcos" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Leon Hotel Leon
Parador De Leon León
Parador De Leon Hotel León

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing