We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Narrow Gauge Train”
Review of El Transcantabrico

El Transcantabrico
Ranked #26 of 64 things to do in Leon
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Narrow Gauge Train”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Interesting experience in Northern Spain travelling through lovely countryside. Train only travels for a short period each day and most sightseeing is done in a luxury coach which follows train to each stop. Meals and sightseeing are excellent. Train never travels at night which is a good thing as it rocks & rolls about. Beds are small, a bit uncomfortable for tall people.Lounge is not really big enough for all passengers to get together. Dining tables are for two only so not so good for socialising with others.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Lyndsay999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    4
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Exiting and different expirience”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

If you like to enjoy very good food, meet new friends and at the same travel through the North of Spain. This you will enjoy; it is a Hotel because you sleep and have breakfast on board, but you hardly travel the rails on it. Just about one forth of the time. Itseems like a riverboat but on tracks. The service on the train and the restaurants they take you for lunch and dinner are excellent and in different towns. Our Guide was Excellent (Ana) she was a walking Enciclopidea of Spain and she took care of everyone like if we were family.The cabins are spacious I would bigger than in some ships there are just 14 rooms on this luxury train. Something different to do on vacation let someone else do everything for you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Maritza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Nice Mobile Hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our trip on the Transcantabrico El Lujo, but it was not really what we expected. It is not really a train trip, it is a very nice mobile hotel (so you only have to unpack once), combined with a series of very nice bus tours (on a comfortable luxury bus with big leather seats in a 2-1 configuration). The good news is you see a lot of northern Spain, some wonderful coast lines, impressive lakes and mountains, and some interesting cities and villages. You eat wonderful food at a lot of nice local restaurants. And the train parks each night so you can sleep well. The cabins are reasonably large, and we found ours quite comfortable with a lot of storage space. It is a well run, top scale, very pleasant tour. What it is not is a relaxing train ride, where you can sit back in the lounge or dining car and watch the scenery go by. On most days the only meal you have while the train is moving is breakfast. The days are active and the late Spanish dinner makes them long. So the trade off is you see a lot, but you don't get a lot of time to relax. If you get tired, as we did, you do have the option of skipping a tour here and there and staying on the train. The staff will take care of you in fine style. But in most cases the train will be waiting in a station for the bus to return, so there is not much opportunity to sit and watch the scenery (but you can walk around town). So while the tour was not exactly the "train trip" we expected, it was nevertheless a wonderful experience and highly recommended. One of the pleasant aspects of the trip is you will either begin or end at Santiago de Compostela, which we found to be one of the most pleasant and interesting cities of the many we have visited in Europe. The Parador there is one of the best, the cathedral every impressive, and the university city very attractive and great for walking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
19 Thank Jaybardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Transcantabrico GRAN LUJO - Lives up to its name”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The sumptuous navy and cream ‘El TransCantábrico’ Gran Lujo train is the same class as the Orient Express.

Operated by Feve, the Gran Lujo version of the Transcantabrico is the company's flagship train, complemented by the Classico and Robla.

Offering one cabin per carriage! Where once there were two cabins, there is now one expanded suite. Each of these new deluxe wood panelled, air conditioned suites has twin or a king size bed with luxury linens, private PC with Internet access, flat screen TVs with on-demand movies, games console, and a bathroom with sauna and hydro massage shower.
In our experience, this decadent journey across northern Spain was one of history, culture and cuisine; an experience that is highly personalised and friendly. It runs back and forth between Santiago de Compostela in the west and San Sebastian in the east.
The train stops at night so you sleep well in the King size bed and many of the meals are in gourmet restaurants in towns along the way. In fact, the cuisine really defines this trip – the food and wine is of exceptional quality and with a full breakfast, multi course lunch and a multi course dinner, after a few days you start to feel very full!
The days are filled with fascinating trips off train excursions on board a dedicated, luxury coach.
The team is professional and friendly and in our experience fellow guests were wonderful – we all really got on so well.
A few things to note include the fact that the internet access only seems to work when the train is stopped in a station, so for your international travellers without 3G on their mobiles, this was a slight frustration. Also, the pace of itinerary is quite intense, as one gets to see an immense amount of the history and culture of Northern Spain, so this is more of an experience than a relaxing break.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
576 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Beware - the Classico is not the same as the Gran Lujo”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

While many reviewers have commented favourably on the Gran Lujo, we spent five days on the Classico and it's a very different experience. Four "suites" per carriage means that they are tiny, and only for sleeping uncomfortably in the minute "double" bed - you can't sit and watch the view either! Further, the lounge car isn't for lounging as the bench seats are positioned to face each other, and they certainly aren't arm chairs as they appear to be on the Gran Lujo. I expect the itinerary is the same, but it might be more tolerable if the train was comfortable. Make sure you book the right train as they're both run by El Transcantabrico!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
22 Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Transcantabrico also viewed

Leon, Province of Leon
Leon, Province of Leon
 
Leon, Province of Leon
 

Been to El Transcantabrico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing