We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing staff, perfect price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puente Romano de Salamanca
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, amazing staff, perfect price.”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel is located by the river Tormes, right by the ancient Roman bridge. The neighbourhood is very quiet and safe, we parked our car outside, across the street, and nothing happened, not that we feared it might, but it was reassuring.

The hotel is nice, the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable, the amenities were plentiful and of good quality. The staff was incredibly helpful and extremely nice, they made our stay all the greater.

Stepping out of the hotel, all you have to do is cross the Roman bridge and 5 minutes later you're standing in front of the cathedral and right at the heart of the city.
All in all, this hotel is a gem and I advise everyone to consider it when staying in Salamanca, especially if you go by car.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    179
    33
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
203
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
124 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

As they say,location ,location ,location.If this hotel was in the city centre it would be way more expensive to stay here.It's a decent 4* so for the price you'll pay on the internet to book through one of the agencies you'll get a good standard hotel for a reasonable price.
If,like me,you don't even want a city centre hotel, that's a bonus.I was driving and needed somewhere I could reach without having to negotiate narrow streets after a long day on the road.This hotel is perfect for that.It's basically just off the inner ring road and the Roman Bridge,which is very close by ,is well signposted.I've noticed some people say their satnav picked it up easily .Mine didn't but as I say,look for the Roman Bridge and you can't go far wrong.
The hotel has properly secure underground parking,no access to the public generally,and that was also important to me.If it's not important to you there's plenty of parking in the side streets .
Check-in and check-out were efficient.
The room was a good size ,clean and had all you'd expect of a hotel of this standard.
The bathroom was excellent ,on the small side but with all usual toiletries and towels.
There is a restaurant,or there was when i was there,but it seemed to be unused during my stay.I understand breakfast is available but I didn't try it.
The surrounding area is quite run down but that's again why the price is low.There isn't much to see nearby and no shops or restaurants.The walk into the centre is quite interesting.You stroll across the Roman Bridge( a few minutes away) and that anyway is something you should do when visiting the city,wherever you stay--especially because the view of the cathedral is best from the bridge.The actual walk into the centre will take about 15 minutes-some people say less but they must be Olympic athletes.It's also generally slightly uphill,though the good thing is that it's slightly downhill on the way back!
Overall this was a good hotel and I'd stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dongola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This is a modern, nice hotel and very cheap. It has an underground car park

There is no restaurant and the local restaurants have now all closed because they were hideously expensive and seriously bad. So to eat you have to walk half a mile or so.over the bridge into the old town.

We always stay there and will be back at the end of next week.

Close your eyes when driving in or out of Salamanca as the surrounding city is absolutely hideous - Salford on steroids.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We chose this hotel primarily for it's location ~ we were driving to Salamanca and didn't want a hotel in the city centre itself where parking is almost impossible and the streets very narrow. We were very pleased with our choice as it was easy to find using a GPS and we had no difficulty parking in the adjacent street free of charge. Our double room was more spacious than we were expecting, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom very clean. The only slight complaint was that it wasn't that well-lit, even with all the lights on. Breakfast was good and all the staff very helpful, especially a very kind breakfast waitress who saw us pouring over a map and suggested that we take a drive to La Pena de Francia; we were glad we took her advice as it was one of the highlights of our trip. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MojacarSpencers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokolbin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Nice hotel in quiet area, just a short walk across the roman bridge into the town. Was kindly upgraded to a balcony room with a view of the city by the friendly reception staff. Hotel had easy underground parking access. Breakfast was lovely and staff very helpful. Good hotel and great value for money

Room Tip: Balcony room overlooking roman bridge
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We chose this hotel because it was located out of the historic center(inadvertently a good choice because we were there for the biggest religious festival of the year) and the wonderful view of the city from across the river. Everything was adequate, the staff very friendly and informative, letting us know about the religious procession and fireworks. My lack of enthusiasm is mostly due to how this hotel compared to the hotels in which we stayed in Segovia, Avila and Toledo which were similarly priced but offered much better value. Great breakfast was a good start to the day. As others have mentioned, just a very pleasant walk across the 2000 year old bridge into the city and to the major attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raiatea5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We spent 83 euros and had bed,breakfast and secure parking. It was excellent value and the location was great. The hotel was just a 10 minute walk from the cathedrals via the old roman bridge. Our room was large,clean and comfortable and our bathroom was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. Salamanca is a charming city with lots to see and do. We went up to the top of the cathedral tower and had fantastic views of the city and surrounding countryside. The city is stuffed full of wonderful architecture and the main square is a sight to behold. We were spoilt for choice when it came to finding somewhere to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janlikesorchids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 70 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.6 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#3 of 70 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puente Romano de Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puente Romano de Salamanca

Property: Hotel Puente Romano de Salamanca
Address: Plaza Chica 10, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Puente Romano de Salamanca 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel was inaugurated in 2002 and it's situaded clouse to the Roman Bridge. Hotel Puente Romano de Salamanca offers 35 comfortable outside rooms with balcony or terrace. In our Hotel you will enjoy both traditional hand carved walnut furniture and modern comfort technology: free WIFI, air conditioning, hairdryer, room and bathroom telephone, room minibar, free room safe, LCD TV, private underground... Hotel Puente Romano de Salamanca have cafeteria service and a summer terrace. Each stay at our Hotel is an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puente Romano de Salamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Romano De Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing