We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly and professional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cocina de Tono

La Cocina de Tono
Ranked #35 of 548 Restaurants in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
417 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly and professional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

They have a comedor at the back (dining room). You are best to reserve a table there as they get full. Spanish do not start turning up until 21.45 and stay and eat until around 1.00. All other tabes were Spanish.

The server went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. Ours was the only table for two. All other tables were occupied by more than ten people. We had clams and quail salad for starters to share and then shared a chuleton of 1300 grammes with local Salamanca wine. The food was nearly as good as the service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    120
    29
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food fit for gods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had eaten a lot of tapas by the time we arrived in Salamanca, therefore, we followed Trip Advisor and decided to eat at La Cocina de Tono. What a unique,unassuming place we found this to be. My northern accent didn't help when ordering, but the lady owner was very endearing and helped me chose. Sitting at the bar or near the bar is highly recommended so you can see the food and soak up the atmosphere. The scallops were to die for and the Rioja was smooth and made the whole experience. It was so good we went back the night after and were brave enough to have bull's tail. The quality of the food was out of this world and some of the best tapas I've ever tasted. It is inexpensive too which is an added bonus. Don't go to Salamanca without visiting this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatandAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unique Tapas in a Classy Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Delicious and unique tapas in an upscale atmosphere. Get there early to guarantee a table (8:30 pm). Be sure to sit in the tapas area and not restaurant. Staff is friendly and helpful- provided us great suggestions. Our favorites included the croquetas, ravioli, and saquito de morcilla con manzana y crema de patata (a creamy seafood purée in a pastry). The waitress told us the house specialties were morro de ternera (bull tail) and bunuelo de bacalao (fried fish dough ball). Both were the best things on the menu! The Rioja was smooth and finishing with the torta de queso is divine! Quality of food was the best we had in Salamanca and nice ambiance made this one of our best meals in Spain.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“How simple can be great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Tapas in Spain can be anything : from average uninteresting bites to small portions of sublime dishes. In this unique place, tapas are an art.
Chipirones, Viera, Bombon de foie, ravioli de mano de porco, rabo de toro in tinto, tarta de queso: everything was just perfect. With a selection of local Salamanca tinto wines upgraded by Rioja and Rioja reserva Baron De Ley. And all of this is happening whilst sitting at the bar and being guided by competent, charming and friendly ladies. A moment of sheer hapinness.
One of my best meals ever in Spain and at a price for two when you could not even get starters at so called famous places.
Simplicity at its best.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“certainly one of the best restaurants in Salamanca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

at my first night in Salamanca I followed tripadvisor and arrived to "La Cocina de Tono". the waiters helped me choose what to eat and I enjoyed it all! I set next to the bar at one of those high tables. If you seat inside you can't choose tapas and the prices are different.
I recommend you to enjoy all options in the area next to the bar, as well as great service that is not a common thing in Salamanca! from the starters and to the fantastic apple cake all was delicious :)

I came back with a friend 2 weeks after and we enjoyed together a great dinner in a fine atmosphere.

I definitely recommend a visit to this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cocina de Tono also viewed

Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 

Been to La Cocina de Tono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing