We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don Gregorio: top class and inside the historical centre - but a couple of minor issues” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Don Gregorio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
200 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Don Gregorio: top class and inside the historical centre - but a couple of minor issues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Don Gregorio in Salamanca is a renovated family palace which sits along Calle de San Pablo, one of the main thoroughfares inside the historical district of Salamanca. There are less than a dozen decent hotels inside and Don Gregorio has to be at or near the top levels. As soon as you walk outside the hotel door, one of the major sights of Salamanca is right in front – the Iglesia-Convento San Esteban, with its breathtaking plateresque-style façade. The previous courtyard had been transformed into the smallish lobby that was tastefully decorated, with a wonderful natural skylight. The lift was small and though the door was glass, the elevator walls looked like cheap wood.

Check-in is very quick, presumably helped by the fact that they don’t have a lot of rooms on two floors. The manager who checked us in was friendly and the person who helped us with the luggage was even friendlier. Even the housekeeping staff seemed to take their work very seriously.

The room is quite large, larger than most hotels in the class. The rooms even have specific names – ours was the Dona Maria. They provide a lot of pillows. There are lamps in the right places and controlled by enough switches. The ac was easily controlled. There’s a large window on one wall that opened into our own 3m x 3m private courtyard one floor below, with louvered walls on all sides. No balcony but the view certainly gave you relief plus the confidence that no one could look down on your room if you kept the curtains opened. The safe worked, but no in-room coffee maker though. It's hard to imagine how the old palace room looked - only one original wall had been retained.

The bathroom was enormous and elegantly furnished – it had separate glass walled compartments for toilet-bidet and a separate one for the shower. The shower was the high-tech one with several shower heads at different levels, plus the flexible neck head, plus the rainforest type above. And, great for couples, two wash basins.

Breakfast is at the lower ground floor. Though windowless, the place is very tastefully decorated with chrome chandeliers, black granite walls, elegant tables and chairs, with tables far apart and off to the side. Variety is ok, not great but given the small number of rooms, I guess it makes sense that you have to ask for one of the hot dishes on the menu, which included eggs and omelets. My complaint was that it took long, even though on the second day, we ordered it as soon as we came in. The Nespresso machine was appreciated.

The major downside with our experience was the in-room wi-fi access. Though free, it was very spotty, especially by our second (and last) day when we could hardly connect consistently. A minor issue was the noise from outside the corridor - a limitation of the building structure on which the hotel was built on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    57
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
65
216
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I loved this hotel. The buidling was beautiful, with lovely common areas and a nice (although tiny) bar. The staff was very accommodating and unobtrusive. My room was very nice, extremely clean, with many amenities. The location was excellent, across from the Convent, a close walk to the Plaza Mayor and many restaurants. I was pleasantly surprised at the high level of this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMitch6542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have rarely met such positive staff. Not in your face but very accomodating. This is a little gem of a hotel and if you enjoy breakfast, well this is difficult to beat. Spent two nights in this hotel and I will come back. Better if the "modern anglo saxon back-ground music" was replaced but that aside, a great experience. The recommended restaurant in the town (el Meson de Gonzalo) to be avoided.

Room Tip: I was very happy with mine so I can not advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here with my daughter for a couple of nights in June. The hotel is in a nice position but for me was totally let down by the very rude man that checked us in. He made me feel unwelcome and was really unfriendly and unhelpful. We asked for restaurant suggestions and he just pointed to a tourist map with tourist restaurants and told us to go in that direction or have room service! Not the sort of greeting you want after 10 hours of travel. Luckily we didn't see him again after that day and the rest of the staff were very nice. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was rather a strange affair in the basement and was a little soulless.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamanca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the beginning of June and had the most amazing experience. All staff members from cleaning to management were so helpful, friendly, professional that make felt us as at home. I strong recommend it if you want to either visit the city, have a lunch/dinner or celebrate your wedding (it is just an amazing venue).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia1sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aventura, florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed overnight in Salamanca at the Grand Hotel Don Gregorio on our trip from Madrid to Porto, Portugal, and it was a wise decision. Salamanca is beautiful, and a beautiful change from Madrid.

This wonderful Hotel is a former Mansion converted into a 15 room Boutique Hotel. It is a special place to stay. The Staff are extremely friendly and professional. The rooms are quiet and luxurious, with wood floors, stone walls, and comfortable beds and baths. The Spa, that's another superior amenity.... It is large, and private, with a jacuzzi style pool, heated tile loungers, four showers, a large flat screen television projecting marine scenes, a reflective ceiling, and a calm buddhist tranquility once entered. It is intended to be utilized privately, and only by one or two couples at a time. It is wonderful.

The breakfast area, in keeping with the Hotel's character is quiet and plush, the food is excellent.

If you are planning on driving from Madrid over to Portugal via Salamanca, spend a night or more at this wonderful Hotel. Have a meal at Meson de Gonzalo, and walk back to your beautiful room at Grand Hotel Don Gregorio. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry_silverstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
241 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is about twice more expensive than other hotels of the same category in town. So we came here expecting the very best for our money, considering other customers opinions on tripadvisor. We got a superior room (30+ square meters). Very nice design, comfortable king bed, high quality equipment (Böse, Loewe), bath, shower all great. Nice view. Sound proof (silent although overlooking the street). Very good central location. Really high speed (12Mb/s+) internet free of charge.
Correct service, luggage, valet parking.
But... Quite unfriendly welcome at check in (much better next day with other staff). No help for dining out (go to Plaza Mayor, it's full of tapas bars, receptionist said). No in-room coffee machine, not even instant coffee. Correct breakfast, nothing exceptional (well, with 17 rooms they cannot have a huge buffet).
Overall remains a good experience, but we didn't feel it was worth 250€/Night in Salamanca.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matoux00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 72 in Salamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#3 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Don Gregorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Don Gregorio

Property: Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Address: Calle San Pablo 80-82, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Don Gregorio 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RESTORED 15TH CENTURY PALACE NOW A FIVE STAR BOUTIQUE HOTEL Don Gregorio Grand Hotel is an elegant, luxury hotel in the historic city of Salamanca, Spain. The boutique hotel offers 17 guestrooms and suites for a quiet retreat with the charm of a palace and the convenience of modern amenities. The five-star Grand Hotel sits minutes away from many historic landmarks in Salamanca, such as the Plaza Mayor, Ieronimus Cathedral, and Clerecia Towers. Book a splendid vacation at a Tripadvisor Travelers' Choice(R) 2014 Winner for Top 25 Luxury Hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Don Gregorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing