We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hosteria Sara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hosteria Sara
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

We travelled to visit our daughter who is spending a year in the University of Salamanca. This was a great budget option: a room in the centre of town, looking down on the street, (it was not too noisy) beside the House of Shells. Not a hotel as such - no restaurant or bar or sitting area - but lots of bars and cafes around for breakfast and other meals. Would highly recommend if you just want a nice room to sleep in. Staff were extremely kind and helpful, my daughter was ill and with their almost non existant English and my poor Spanish and a good dictionary we communicated and they gave me great information and advice. Gracias.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking onto the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lonipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    59
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
116
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

I looked at several options before choosing Hostal Sara. It was Holy Week (before Easter), and every place had drastically reduced rates. We had room 304 with a mini kitchen and balcony (with a partial view of the Cathedral). The hostel is lovely, gorgeous wood floors, blue and white tiled bathrooms (the shower in our room was quite small), and the furniture is new and charming. The hostal was built in 2005, and they have a modern elevator that makes things easier. There is no lobby, but you are always greeted by receptionists. Although they don't speak English, they are friendly and accommodating. This place is great, and I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RavenOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed for a couple of nights in October and we were not disappointed. We paid about 40 euros a night which was very good value.

The hotel is fairly new and the rooms are modern. The ensuite bathroom was very good and very clean. There was an elevator which was very handy for getting our luggage up to the room.

The location is absolutely perfect. It is very close to the beautiful Plaza Mayor and we walked everywhere (Salamanca is very charming). There are also lots of restaurants/tapas bar on the same street which made things very easy.

The staff are super friendly and helpful. We would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Condesa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
354 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

This was a wonderful find. Great location, very helpful staff, spotless and large bedroom and modern bathroom, close to everything in the old town of Salamanca. Even though there was a huge feria going on, it only cost us about 40 Euros/night for a double. Free WiFi. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarlFlorida2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Sara

Property: Hosteria Sara
Address: Calle Melendez 11, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hosteria Sara 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosteria Sara is situated in the historic centre of Salamanca, just 100 metres from Plaza Mayor. All rooms feature air conditioning, internet connection and a private bathroom with hairdryer. The guesthouse is conveniently located within a 1-minute walk of The House of Shells. It is also just 3 minutes from both the old and new Salamanca Cathedrals. The staff are happy to help guests plan their trip around Salamanca, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Hosteria Sara has a lift, and adapted rooms for guests with reduces mobility are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hosteria Sara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing