We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!”
Review of Hostal Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Plaza Mayor
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have spent two nights, January 24-26, 2012, in Hostel Plaza Mayor, room no. 34.
The hostel has lots of favorable points: firstly, it has a splendid location, just off Plaza Mayor, on the way connecting to Plaza del Corillo. All sites are 5 to 10 minutes walking distance.
The hostel building is also lovely, supported by columns that form a portico; on top of the first 7 columns, you will see bas-reliefs symbolizing the days of the week: the Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn and the Sun.

My single room (with its own bathroom), came with old and stylish furniture that made me think about the travelers of the last century. The bathroom was small, but not tiny. The bedroom had a mini-fridge, a coffee maker, heating and air conditioning, plus the usual TV set that I never switch on. The hotel site advertises free Wi-Fi in the building, but I did not use it.

I think the hotel is classified as a one star hostel because it does not offer breakfast and it does not have an elevator, otherwise I would readily qualify it as a fair 3*. As for the lack of the elevator, the gentlemen at the reception offered with grace to help with my (quite heavy) suitcase.

One challenge when travelling in Spain is that little English is spoken, so someone that does not understand some Spanish might find it difficult. Thankfully, the hostel’s daytime reception desk personnel spoke quite good English and were extremely polite and helpful, especially Mr. Oscar Borrego. Mr. Borrego told me a number of interesting stories and legends about the city and helped me find the curiosities of Salamanca: the bas-reliefs of the days, the astronaut and the ice-cream eating dragon on the Cathedral façade and the frog at the University. Even if I “did my homework” on these, the complexity of the decoration made it necessary to ask for further clarifications, which were offered with grace and sense of humor.

For the 27 Euros per night that I paid for a single, I think that Plaza Mayor Hostel offered exceptionally good value for money and I recommend it for my fellow travelers stopping overnight in Salamanca.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alia_Aliena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    88
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
96
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Hotel Plaza Mayor and the service of Óscar Borrego at the front desk made our Salamanca stay the highlight of our 3 weeks in Spain. The location, at the entrance of Plaza Mayor, was perfect for exploring the entire town and finding places to eat nearby. Because of double windows, our room was quiet even though we were in the epicenter of Salamance energy. The hotel was clean and the furniture in our room was lovely which made the somewhat smallish rooms very efficient and comfortable. We loved having a fridge and free in-room WiFi. We came to consider Óscar a friend because of his cheerful and competent handling of any need or challenge we faced. There are about 15 steps up to the reception area, but beyond that, the lift made getting to our room very easy. Bravo and thanks, Hotel Plaza Mayor.

Room Tip: 1st floor is near the WiFi router which made our reception excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Nora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
508 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Hotel Plaza Mayor in Salamanca (not to be confused with the somewhat similar budget hotel of the same name in Madrid) is an ideal place to stay for those who wish to economize without having to put up with less than desirable accommodations. It offers clean, comfortable rooms in the very heart of Salamanca's Centro Historico, just a few feet away from what many consider the main attraction of the city, the spectacular Plaza Mayor. The bed was clean and comforable, the bathroom was as good as any we had in Spain, and there was ample room for our luggage.
While not the most luxurious place we stayed in during our visit to Spain and Portugal, this small hotel will forever remain in my memory on account of the amazing hospitality, graciousness, and service provided by the owners to myself and my wife upon our arrival in Salamanca. We had driven from Segovia and Avila, and were baffled by the amazing intricacy of the maze of narrow, crooked streets in Salamanca's old town. Even with our GPS, we could not find the exact location of the hotel in our car. I decided to stop, park, and locate the hotel on foot. When I found it (with the aid of helpful passers-by), the woman at the front desk, who was the wife of the owner, welcomed me and told me her husband would accompany me back to my car and guide me to the parking garage. Even though he was at that moment engaged in other work elsewhere in the hotel, he immediately went off with me to find our car, which was parked several blocks away. He then took us to the garage and proceeded to carry most of our luggage back to the hotel for us (against our protestations). For the rest of the stay, he and his wife offered us the same level of courteous service above and beyond that normally expected of an hotelier.
Based on our wonderful experience at this hotel (and in Salamanca itself) I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone planing a trip there. One warning -- there is no elevator, so luggage must be carried up the stairs to your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel has to be one of the nicest little finds in the city centre. Perfect for exploring the local area.

Room Tip: Room 40 is lovely for a solo traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We arrived in Salamanca during their annual fiesta and were right in the thick of things at this hostal. Plaza Mayor was a hive of activity with concerts each night and thousands of people in attendance and yet once back in our room, we couldn't hear any outside noise at all.

Clean and well appointed rooms, friendly and helpful staff, restaurants and cafes all around and literally a stone's throw from Plaza Mayor. For 50 euro a night, an absolute bargain in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I have stayed here about 7 different times over the last 4 years, usually for about a week each time. I don't think I have found a better value for the price anywhere else in Spain, and I've travelled a LOT in Spain. The rooms are small, but nicely decorated and well-maintained with gleaming hard-wood floors. It seems every time I go there they have done something else to improve the place (most notably the addition of wi-fi), instead of just letting things slowly deteriorate. You can't beat the location. Having a small refrigerator in the room is nice as well. The staff is always friendly and helpful, but I'm not sure how good their English is - I speak Spanish, so this has never been an issue for me.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatesville, TX
Level Contributor
449 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

There were six of us all couples aged 58 to 69 years of age who found the Hostal Plaza Mayor to be our stay for the night in Salamanca. We wanted to stay near the Plaza Mayor. Upon arrival a large concert stage was being erected in the square in preparation for a weekend celebration (the next night after our stay - yeah). Regardless, we decided to play it safe by staying just around the corner from the square.

There are steep stairs to enter the hostal, so keep that in mind for you older folks. However, the lobby is small but very clean. Around the corner from the friendly staffed reception is a very small elevator. There are also stairs to reach the upper floors.

Our rooms were very small but nicely decorated and tidy. The bathroom was very adequate. The beds were comfortable and we didn't hear any noise at night even though located very close to all the square's cafes and pedestrian walkways. We paid 60 euros per night. No breakfast was offered. Yet there are many choices for meals within very close proximity of the hostal.

On the downside there was no closeby parking. We parked at Santa Eulalia parking garage and just walked about 5 minutes to the hotel. Overall, I would highly recommend Hostal Plaza Mayor for budget minded travelers looking for something near Plaza Mayor.

Room Tip: Don't think they have a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasCatBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Sara
Hosteria Sara
#11 of 70 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corona de Castilla
Hotel Corona de Castilla
#44 of 70 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Concejo
Hostal Concejo
#28 of 70 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rua
Hotel Rua
#27 of 70 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Plaza Mayor

Property: Hostal Plaza Mayor
Address: Plaza Corrillo 19-20, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Plaza Mayor 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Plaza Mayor Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing