We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”
Review of Hostal Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Plaza Mayor
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a great place in a great location! Great staff, clean, close to everthing & a value. 1/2 block from the square and all it has to offer. Good food, drink & people watching. Everything works well, including the Wifi

Room Tip: Ask for 209 ....it has a enclosed baloncy
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Plaza Mayor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Half a dozen steps to one of the Spain's most beautiful plazas raises this hotel to a 3.5 rating really. A great base to explore this fabulous university city. However finding it was a bit of a challenge with the small entrance off the street leading to some challenging stairs if you have lots of luggage. They do have a drop-off parking zone but their carpark round the corner is a bit tight - but the lady on reception came down with us to show exactly where to be. Once up the front stairs there is a lift past the small reception area. Our room was quite adequate and we were at the back with a quite large balcony and it was quiet. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. If you are not expecting anything more than a room and want to be within strolling distance of everything, this could be for you.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AgingSlowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the Hostal Plaza Mayor. The room was modest but very clean. The location is outstanding. All of the people working there were very helpful and friendly. Parking was costly at 16.50 euros per night. There is no street parking so you have to pay if you have a car. Navigation via car was very difficult. Google maps had me driving over the exclusive walking only areas without rerouting me over Gran Via road which is the only road with access to the hotel. Be careful with your NAV on this hotel as it may lead you wrong. Consult the hotel for complete directions. Aside from finding the place, I had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

In the US, i usually wont book less than a 3 star accomodation due to fears of cleanliness and comfort. So I was pleasantly surprised by the comfort and cleanliness of this 2 star budget hotel accommodation. The furnishings were beautiful and you couldnt ask for a better location. We were adjacent to the Plaza Mayor and within easy walking distance of All the sights and restaurants. The hostel personnel were all very friendly and helpful making our 2 night stay at Hostel Playa Mayor.

Room Tip: Our room fronted the street and during peak social and meal times it was noisy. This didn't both...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LDL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We chose the Hostal Plaza Mayor because of good reviews, and also because they are 'pet-friendly'.

Centrally located in Salamanca, right next to the major square.

The welcome was first-class, our receptionist even moving his own car so we could park our van overnight. He carried the bags in for us!

Our room was clean, neat and comfortable. It was also very quiet, seeing as we were in the heart of the city. Once you walked outside, you're right in the buzzing heart of the place, but you wouldn't know it indoors.

This is a hostel, so there are no facilities inside the building (restaurant, bar etc.), but this is virtually irrelevant, as once you get outside you're spoiled for choice.

As we were only travelling through we didn't get a chance to explore, but should we return we would definitely consider staying there again. Buy with confidence.

Room Tip: My guess is that all rooms are quiet. Dog-friendly.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PooleRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We picked this hotel because it has a high rating on Trip-advisor. It was cheap but excellent. We stayed there twice, once on out trip across Spain, and again 6 weeks later on our way back. The room at the front was a bit noisy, but great as it reflected the lively atmosphere of the place, The room at the back was quiet, if you prefer this, however, I think you missed the atmosphere here. It depends what you want. The room at the front smelt of cigarettes, which is not nice if you do not smoke. The room at the back was not smoky so was, in that sense better. Each room had a fridge and air conditioning and these were unexpected and really appreciated in such a competitively priced hotel. The location could not have been more perfect, right at the entrance to the square. There was no parking, but as we arrived on Sunday afternoon there was little problem and we were able to park on a road 5 minutes walk away. I think during the week parking may be more of an issue, I am not sure. The young man on reception could not have been more courteous, and was happy to speak in either Spanish or English. He was eager to show us a map of interesting sites and answer any questions. We did see one member of staff who speak very little English though. NO food is served here, but the square, with all its majesty and atmosphere is 1 minute away so that was not relevant. It was very clean. The wifi did not work properly in either our room at the front or at the back so I had to use my phone to connect to the internet. The wifi signal to the rooms could be improved. In conclusion, apart from the wifi, this hotel is perfect for the price and I will most certainly be staying here next time I visit Salamanca.

Room Tip: Noisy (but atmospheric) at the front. Quiet ( but you miss the atmosphere) at the back. It depends...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank farndonangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel has a perfect location as well as price. Rooms are clean, spacious, everything what you expect from a hotel.
We were arriving with a car and send an email to the hotel that we need a parking, however did not get any response (luckily the parking was available when we arrived), so we would suggest to call the hotel if you are arriving with a car.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IIM612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Sara
Hosteria Sara
#11 of 70 in Salamanca
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#5 of 70 in Salamanca
1,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Concejo
Hostal Concejo
#26 of 70 in Salamanca
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alda Plaza Mayor
Hotel Alda Plaza Mayor
#36 of 70 in Salamanca
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
0.1 mi away
Sercotel Las Torres
Sercotel Las Torres
#38 of 70 in Salamanca
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Plaza Mayor

Address: Plaza Corrillo 19-20, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: £43 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Plaza Mayor 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Plaza Mayor Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing