We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Plaza Mayor
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Turin, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The perfect location to enjoy the best of Salamanca. Right in the city centre, close to all historical sites, very confortable stay, clean, quiet and welcoming hotel.
All the staff was friendly and helpful, in particular I enjoyed listening and speaking with Oscar, who is pasionate and extremely knowleadgeable of Salamanca history, art and culture.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    88
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
95
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Chose this hotel because of its location and because I'd only be in Salamanca overnight. Hotel was a bit difficult to find, perhaps because my GPS was unaware of the streets being closed, but once I found it I was not disappointed. Rooms were adequate and the price was fantastic. It was fun to be right off the Plaza and to be in the middle of everything. Fran, the young man who was working the day I checked it was fantastic. He is a native of Salamanca and gave me great dining recommendations and what the must-see sights were for a one day stay. Without him the stay would have not been everything it could have been.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aflopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a great place in a great location! Great staff, clean, close to everthing & a value. 1/2 block from the square and all it has to offer. Good food, drink & people watching. Everything works well, including the Wifi

Room Tip: Ask for 209 ....it has a enclosed baloncy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Half a dozen steps to one of the Spain's most beautiful plazas raises this hotel to a 3.5 rating really. A great base to explore this fabulous university city. However finding it was a bit of a challenge with the small entrance off the street leading to some challenging stairs if you have lots of luggage. They do have a drop-off parking zone but their carpark round the corner is a bit tight - but the lady on reception came down with us to show exactly where to be. Once up the front stairs there is a lift past the small reception area. Our room was quite adequate and we were at the back with a quite large balcony and it was quiet. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. If you are not expecting anything more than a room and want to be within strolling distance of everything, this could be for you.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AgingSlowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caceres, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the Hostal Plaza Mayor. The room was modest but very clean. The location is outstanding. All of the people working there were very helpful and friendly. Parking was costly at 16.50 euros per night. There is no street parking so you have to pay if you have a car. Navigation via car was very difficult. Google maps had me driving over the exclusive walking only areas without rerouting me over Gran Via road which is the only road with access to the hotel. Be careful with your NAV on this hotel as it may lead you wrong. Consult the hotel for complete directions. Aside from finding the place, I had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwood, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

In the US, i usually wont book less than a 3 star accomodation due to fears of cleanliness and comfort. So I was pleasantly surprised by the comfort and cleanliness of this 2 star budget hotel accommodation. The furnishings were beautiful and you couldnt ask for a better location. We were adjacent to the Plaza Mayor and within easy walking distance of All the sights and restaurants. The hostel personnel were all very friendly and helpful making our 2 night stay at Hostel Playa Mayor.

Room Tip: Our room fronted the street and during peak social and meal times it was noisy. This didn't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We chose the Hostal Plaza Mayor because of good reviews, and also because they are 'pet-friendly'.

Centrally located in Salamanca, right next to the major square.

The welcome was first-class, our receptionist even moving his own car so we could park our van overnight. He carried the bags in for us!

Our room was clean, neat and comfortable. It was also very quiet, seeing as we were in the heart of the city. Once you walked outside, you're right in the buzzing heart of the place, but you wouldn't know it indoors.

This is a hostel, so there are no facilities inside the building (restaurant, bar etc.), but this is virtually irrelevant, as once you get outside you're spoiled for choice.

As we were only travelling through we didn't get a chance to explore, but should we return we would definitely consider staying there again. Buy with confidence.

Room Tip: My guess is that all rooms are quiet. Dog-friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PooleRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Sara
Hosteria Sara
#11 of 72 in Salamanca
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corona de Castilla
Hotel Corona de Castilla
#43 of 72 in Salamanca
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Concejo
Hostal Concejo
#27 of 72 in Salamanca
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rua
Hotel Rua
#29 of 72 in Salamanca
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Plaza Mayor

Property: Hostal Plaza Mayor
Address: Plaza Corrillo 19-20, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Plaza Mayor 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Plaza Mayor Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing