We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly OK”
Review of Hostal Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Plaza Mayor
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

It can be a bit dispiriting when you arrive, especially if you've got a lot of luggage, to find you have to climb a steep flight of steps just to get to reception, but after that it's fine. Excellent position just a few yards from the Plaza and right in the middle of the old town, a big room (at least mine was), with a decent bathroom, computer on the reception desk where you can catch up with your email or whatever, helpful people (how to get your laundry done, etc), not at all expensive… If I go back to Salamanca I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Plaza Mayor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed two nights at this Hostal. What a great value. It is right off Plaza Mayor so the location couldn't be better. The windows were doubled and were very effective in keeping out the noise. Even though this is not a fancy place and the rooms are on the small side, it is very clean and pleasantly furnished. There were also all the necessary toiletries as we'll as a bottle of water for
each of us waiting in the little refrigerator in the room. My son had a single room and that one had a pleasant little balcony. Oscar, the desk clerk on duty, went beyond the call of duty to help us when we arrived. Because the Hostal is pretty much on the square, the GPS couldn't quite get us to the door. Oscar actually locked up the place, walked us back to our car and guided us to the parking garage. He then stopped traffic so we can go a short distance against traffic on the one way street into the garage. How much better can service get?

Room Tip: Oops. My fingers slipped. There were no fitness center or swimming pool.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 331Traveler331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed four nights at this hostal and it was friendly, clean and secure. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Even during Semana Santa it wasn't over-priced. As others have said, very convenient for the Plaza Mayor and just about everything else too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PublicTransportFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hostal has been well-reviewed by others and is indeed basic but well-kept and in a terrific central location. However....

-I had a front room on the weekend prior to Holy Week and the Friday and Saturday night noise was intolerable - continual yelling and laughter past 3 AM and not blocked by the heavy shutters. Other nights were much better, at least after 11. As other reviews show, noise does not appear to be a big problem for the rest of the hotel, but be warned.

-The wifi was very weak. Not a huge deal in such an attractive location, but a continual minor annoyance.

-The proprietors, though very gracious (it appears to be family-run), spoke little English (and I speak even less Spanish). No problem for ordinary transactions, but it would have been difficult to bring up the above concerns with them and so I didn't bother.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank traveller111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Salamanca is a terrific city, a large university city - with a vibrant population of students and adults. The hub of the city is the Plaza Mayor and it is wild. Thousands of persons in this large square, talking, drinking, partying and doing fraternity initiations, or a group of young woman dressed up in costumes, having a hen party. It is just a super place to visit and I wish we had had more time to spend in Salamanca.
The Hostal Plaza Mayor is on the cusp of the Plaza and it's location is unbeatable. The hostal itself is most likely a two star or 2 1/2 stars. The rooms are clean, but very small as was our bathroom. The staff was nice and helpful and assisted us in parking in the garage it used which was two blocks away. On street parking is difficult in this area, but possible 5 or 6 blocks away. The is no breakfast and the hostal per night cost more than any other hotel we stayed at on our trip from Tuscany to Sevilla, Spain. Nevertheless, the location cannot be beat. jr

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Hostal Plaza Mayor is not a hotel to remember, but it was decorated attractively, impeccably clean, and in a perfect location. Could not be better value for the money. Also, the staff was always there and ready to help in every way.

Room Tip: A great place to sleep while exploring Salamanca.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whroberts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The perfect location to enjoy the best of Salamanca. Right in the city centre, close to all historical sites, very confortable stay, clean, quiet and welcoming hotel.
All the staff was friendly and helpful, in particular I enjoyed listening and speaking with Oscar, who is pasionate and extremely knowleadgeable of Salamanca history, art and culture.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Sara
Hosteria Sara
#11 of 70 in Salamanca
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Concejo
Hostal Concejo
#29 of 70 in Salamanca
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alda Plaza Mayor
Hotel Alda Plaza Mayor
#35 of 70 in Salamanca
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
0.1 mi away
Sercotel Las Torres
Sercotel Las Torres
#38 of 70 in Salamanca
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Plaza Mayor

Address: Plaza Corrillo 19-20, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: £39 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Plaza Mayor 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Plaza Mayor Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing