We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of Hotel Rector

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rector
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Recife, PE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very confotable and nice hotel, good roons, delicius breakfast, amazing service, the staff is adorable and very helpfull!We had a great stay in this. very charming hotel, full of details! Good location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Flavia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    53
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
108
355
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Great location just outside the walls of the old city, about 10 minutes walk to the fantastic Plaza Mayor. Room was spacious, modern and comfortable but for me was maybe a little simple for a hotel of this standing. I would have added a couple more lamps, rugs and chairs and some extra satellite tv channels.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blankko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This great hotel is the perfect spot to stay in Salamanca. We spent 3 wonderful nights here~ we enjoyed our room, the helpful staff and the good location. I plan to return to Salamanca in Dec. and will be staying here for sure. This hotel is quite a find!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horns1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This must be our 4th or 5th visit to Hotel Rector and we ALWAYS receive such a very genuine warm welcome. When travelling up from the south to Santander for the ferry, Salamanca is a tremendously easy place to overnight for a last taste of Spain. This medieval city is outstanding and one not be missed. Hotel Rector is situated on the edge of the city, is very easy to find, and has invaluable safe parking for a loaded car. The bedrooms are all of a generous size and the bathrooms well appointed. The breakfast provided certainly sets you up for the day - wonderful fresh croissants and pain au chocolate. All the staff are exceptionally friendly and are happy to give any advice when requested. All in all, a fantastic place to put your head down when in Salamanca. TOTALLY recommend - as we have already done to several of our friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Hotel Rector was an outstanding find for us. First and foremost, the service is incredible. We were traveling for the first time with our infant and hadn't planned how we were going to get dinner while she was asleep in our room. In asking for places where my husband might go find something to bring back for us, the manager said he could prepare us something as an appetizer and then send someone out for dinner. The appetizer was a plate of the fantastic jamon from the area, and with olives and a bottle of the house wine we were very well taken care of while they went to the restaurant nearby for our tapas and raciones. It was all excellent, and instead of delivering it to us in what I assume were takeaway boxes, they transferred all the ordered food to their plates etc. and served it at our table. This was so far and above what we had expected, but the manager brushed aside our thanks and said he was very glad to learn that the local restaurant would do takeaway for them, so he knew for the next time. He, and everyone who looked after us, were just completely lovely.

But this is not to say that the hotel itself is not worth the five-star review. Our room was roomy and perfectly appointed; the shower and bathroom were great; and they have private parking, which is a real find in Salamanca. We a great experience in all ways and highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizcharisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, helpful and informative staff. The only reason I don't give a five star, (would have given 4 1/2 though), is that the hotel is perhaps just a bit quiet side and we like a bit of ambiance, (we went mid-October). We loved the little details which make it a stand out hotel, flowers, nice linen, Bulgari soaps, great books in the lobby etc. The location although not within the walls is located right next to the old town and easy to find. Definetely a great hotel to stay in.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EU-Travelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Rector. The rooms were very nice, clean, good bed and nice shower, with a very nice location. Staff were friendly. It has a key amenity, parking (at least it was key for us) but they have only 4 spots, you need to book it in advance. Didn’t love the view of the inside courtyard/window well, my wife in particular prefers exterior rooms with more feeling of space.

Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the wall/cathedral.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ensco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
#5 of 70 in Salamanca
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Salamanca
Parador de Salamanca
#7 of 70 in Salamanca
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rector? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rector

Property: Hotel Rector
Address: Paseo Rector Esperabe 10, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#12 Business Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rector 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rector reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rector Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing