We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra First Class Service”
Review of Hotel Rector

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rector
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed one night in a charming hotel just outside the walls of Salamanca. The Staff was the highlight. Examples, parked our car, brought the bags to the room from the car. Asked for a fork, and they sent up a silver tray with a whole place setting and napkins. Don't miss the Casa de Lis across from the Hotel. One of the best collection of Art Nouveau and Art Deco. Have a stop in the stop in the café - is this Paris in the 20s?

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. Just outside the walls of old Salamanca and within two minutes walking of the main cathedral. You are within all the activities and yet outside the noise. If you like jogging you can easily follow a trail that takes you to the old Roman bridge and then you can follow the trail along the river. But it is not just the location, the hotel is very, very nice. Rooms are spacious and well kept. The hotel faces a large street but there is very little traffic and the double windows keeps all the possible noise outside. The people at the hotel are extremely nice and helpful. last but not least, if you appreciate good food, have breakfast here, it is rather expensive but the quality of the food is superb.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very confotable and nice hotel, good roons, delicius breakfast, amazing service, the staff is adorable and very helpfull!We had a great stay in this. very charming hotel, full of details! Good location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Flavia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Great location just outside the walls of the old city, about 10 minutes walk to the fantastic Plaza Mayor. Room was spacious, modern and comfortable but for me was maybe a little simple for a hotel of this standing. I would have added a couple more lamps, rugs and chairs and some extra satellite tv channels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blankko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This great hotel is the perfect spot to stay in Salamanca. We spent 3 wonderful nights here~ we enjoyed our room, the helpful staff and the good location. I plan to return to Salamanca in Dec. and will be staying here for sure. This hotel is quite a find!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horns1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This must be our 4th or 5th visit to Hotel Rector and we ALWAYS receive such a very genuine warm welcome. When travelling up from the south to Santander for the ferry, Salamanca is a tremendously easy place to overnight for a last taste of Spain. This medieval city is outstanding and one not be missed. Hotel Rector is situated on the edge of the city, is very easy to find, and has invaluable safe parking for a loaded car. The bedrooms are all of a generous size and the bathrooms well appointed. The breakfast provided certainly sets you up for the day - wonderful fresh croissants and pain au chocolate. All the staff are exceptionally friendly and are happy to give any advice when requested. All in all, a fantastic place to put your head down when in Salamanca. TOTALLY recommend - as we have already done to several of our friends!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Hotel Rector was an outstanding find for us. First and foremost, the service is incredible. We were traveling for the first time with our infant and hadn't planned how we were going to get dinner while she was asleep in our room. In asking for places where my husband might go find something to bring back for us, the manager said he could prepare us something as an appetizer and then send someone out for dinner. The appetizer was a plate of the fantastic jamon from the area, and with olives and a bottle of the house wine we were very well taken care of while they went to the restaurant nearby for our tapas and raciones. It was all excellent, and instead of delivering it to us in what I assume were takeaway boxes, they transferred all the ordered food to their plates etc. and served it at our table. This was so far and above what we had expected, but the manager brushed aside our thanks and said he was very glad to learn that the local restaurant would do takeaway for them, so he knew for the next time. He, and everyone who looked after us, were just completely lovely.

But this is not to say that the hotel itself is not worth the five-star review. Our room was roomy and perfectly appointed; the shower and bathroom were great; and they have private parking, which is a real find in Salamanca. We a great experience in all ways and highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizcharisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
#6 of 68 in Salamanca
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 68 in Salamanca
976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#7 of 68 in Salamanca
1,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Salamanca
Parador de Salamanca
#5 of 68 in Salamanca
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rector? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rector

Address: Paseo Rector Esperabe 10, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#1 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#12 Business Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: £143 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rector 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rector reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rector Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing