We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm!”
Review of Hotel Rector

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rector
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2009

This hotel was so nice to stay in. Beautifully appointed, spacious and quiet. The staff are impecable in their service. The breakfast was was kind of high, 12 euros, but so worth it. Eggs cooked to your standard, very fresh orange juice with linen doilies. Lovely pastries, yummy yogurt in glass jars and plenty of fruit and homemade breads. When we were ushered to our room, I saw that it faced the street and was immediately disapppointed since I had requested a quiet room. But there were thick, double windows that completely shut out any traffic noise and heavy blackout curtains as well. The stay included robes and slippers. The walk up to the cathedral was a bit of a climb but not too bad. If you are driving, they have free parking right in front of the hotel. The hotel is close to the Rio Tormes and near an ancient Roman bridge. Great place to spoil yourself!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABQStover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2009

Returning to the city after 40 years, this delightful hotel showed that Salamanca had indeed changed but only for the better. The staff could not have been more helpful whether it was looking up a long forgotten restaurant in Yellow Pages or finding a shop to buy that special memento. Thanks to Nicola at Lemon Valley for finding it for us.

Stayed: October 2009
Thank gansonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We cannot speak too highly of this hotel-the warmth of the welcome, the helpfulness of the staff, the splendid bedroom which had its own vestibule and seperate sitting room, the elegance and tranquility of the public areas. The hotel is in an ideal location within easy walking distance of the Plaza Mayor and the historic and artistic treasures of Salamanca. There is secure parking in the hotel garage. Breakfast we delicious-fresh fruit, an assortment of pastries, yogurts, freshly cooked eggs, delicous orange juice, good coffee and a freshly made pot of green leaf tea. Reception staff offered useful suggestions for restaurants and marked them out on the map for us without being asked. We felt so well looked after-it was a real wrench to have to leave after only two nights.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Marieolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

This hotel is a little more formal than what we prefer, but everything about it was tasteful and pleasant. The desk staff - especially the charming Julien - was friendly and helpful, but always completely professional. If you had a question or needed something, they would go all out to help, but if you didn't, they wouldn't bother you beyond a courteous greeting. The room was immaculately clean. Having your used towels whisked away twice a day is perhaps a little excessive, but I have to admit to being overwhelmingly grateful not to have those tacky cards sitting around talking about saving the planet by not washing your towels. The room was tastefully decorated if a little on the bland side. Bathroom was huge and clean and gorgeous. Beds were very comfortable. Sheets were soft, towels were thick. Bath products were worth using. Plenty of Kleenex, not a common thing in the other hotels we visited in Spain. And why, oh why, do they not sell those roll-down shutters in America? Close those things completely and you can sleep til noon if you want. Also, they have two sets of windows - with them both closed, the room was quiet as a tomb. As our first stop coming from the US, it was really nice to be able to catch up on sleep there! Good location just outside the old city, and we enjoyed gazing at the medieval wall from our window. My only complaint is that they didn't warn us that the breakfast is not included, and it is insanely expensive for a hotel breakfast - something like 18 euros each if I remember correctly. Luckily, we only ate there on two mornings when we were in a hurry, preferring ordinarily to walk up the street to a nearby restaurant overlooking the convent for our croissants and coffees. I will say the hotel breakfast was quite a spread - fruit and meat and cereal and pastry and etc. I think they cook you eggs too if you want them. The hotel had wifi, but the only channel or whatever you call it that worked with our iphones was only accessible from the lobby. No problem though- the lobby is a nice place to sit. They also had a computer for guest use. All in all, classy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandaPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

This is a wonderful small hotel especially if you want a very clean, quiet room to relax in. The rooms are a bit small (normal US hotel sized). Bathroom sparkles and very modern. Everying in the room worked well - hot water, great air conditioning, lighting, etc. They have a pull down shutter system to lock out the outside world. This was perfect for us to recover from jet lag and being able to take a nap anytime we wanted. Breakfast was also very good - they can make you eggs cooked to order as well as the yummy buffet.

The town center (Plaza) is a 15 min walk up (10 min walk down) from the hotel. Not too good if you are not good walkers. TIP: You can take the city bus from just around the corner to Plaza de Espana for 90 "cents", then amble mostly down hill to the square and back to hotel. The bus routes are posted at the stops and are easy to follow.

If you are driving, the hotel is on the South side of the street and main door has two large "pine trees" in pots beside the main door (hotel sign is not real obvious). You can park temporarily in front to check in and off load bags.

Management speaks good English and is very helpful.

Overall, a very quiet hotel with not much going on. There is a nice PC in lobby, but I used the Wi Fi that worked well (get password at front desk).

I think the hotel is a bit expensive for one with few ammenities. But if you are looking for a "refuge" from the hectic tourist schedule, it is perfect. Tripadvisor shows 3 stars, but believe it is rated 4 stars. Just does not have the services that go with a major hotel.

Tip: Stop in a Churro / Chocolate cafe. Non sugar churros that you dip in a thick hot chocolate, almost a pudding. There is one about 2 blocks from hotel up the street from the traffic light intersection. A cheap breakfast.

The city is wonderful. Felt very safe night and day. Lots of students, but most people dressed fashionably. Lots of pedestrian streets to wander about. Linger on the square with a beer or coke and enjoy the scene.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAPMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Wonderful, small independent hotel with a personal touch. Elegant rooms, friendly service, breakfasts were incredible, the best we had in all of Spain.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cm35c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Everything about Rector is quite simply, exceptional. It's staff are very friendly, attentive to every detail, and are always there for you without being obtrusive. Every little detail about Rector has been so meticulously conceived - superb bed and table linen, spotlessly clean carpets, colourful yet warm upholstery, and remarkably bright and clean marbled toilets. Its wonderfully stocked library of coffee table books keep drawing you to the lobby downstairs. We were never tired of thier sumptuous breakfast during a long stay at Rector. Our only misgiving, if at all, is that Rector does not offer a lunch and dinner menu. While no lunch is OK, given a sumptuous breakfast, a simple dinner menu would have been most welcome, especially if you might want to laze around after tired day walking the streets of Salamanca. On the whole, Rector was a great choice. Your home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JawaharV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
#5 of 70 in Salamanca
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
938 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#7 of 70 in Salamanca
1,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Salamanca
Parador de Salamanca
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rector? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rector

Address: Paseo Rector Esperabe 10, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#12 Business Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: £144 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rector 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Rector reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rector Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing