We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, comfortable accommodation, good value for money”
Review of Hotel Monterrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monterrey
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Monterrey during a weekend visit to Salamanca. The booking was made through an Internet service and we were not sure what to expect for the modest price. We were delightfully surprised to encounter a four-star hotel in the heart of the city, just a few minutes by foot from the Plaza Mayor. Beds exceptionally comfortable!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monterrey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2010

I thought the public places in this hotel were fine...very clean, if not smoky due to the large amount of people who seem to smoke in Spain. Our room was clean, but the carpet was worn. Beds were very comfy. Street noise was loud, and we had to keep our window closed because of it...We were with a tour group of 30, so maybe it's different when you're on your own, but our food was pretty good-everything was well prepared and hot. Nothing fancy, but very satisfying. I enjoyed the breakfast, too. Now for the best part of this hotel....across the street and down a corridor is an internet/laundrymat! They will wash your clothes, or you can stay and surf the net while your clothes are getting clean. I washed and dried a large load of clothes, and got to e-mail my friends for about 9 euros. Well worth it, considering I packed light and my clothes weren't their freshest! This hotel is soooo close to all you'll want to see in Salamanca, I think for a couple of nights, the pluses outweigh the minuses.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Avoid rooms on the first floor (European 1st floor) and at the front of the hotel. Our first room was on the first floor. The putrid green and orange carpet was worn and filthy. The tacky orange satiny bedspreads didn't look so clean either. The bathroom had the toilet wedged between the high bathtub and the wall leaving about an inch or two on each side and the toilet front was only inches from the bidet making it practically impossible to use. The street noise was dreadful. We complained and were moved to a room on the second floor at the back. The room was clean with new wood floors and simple (but new and clean) bedspreads. The bathroom was roomy and clean. We slept well because it was quiet. Others in our group remained in their original rooms and complained all the next day how they couldn't sleep because of street noise ALL night. The breakfast was generous though a guard was stationed near the door to prevent guests from taking so much as an apple for later. One woman in our group did try to take out a banana--and was she ever sorry!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seein'_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

This hotel seemed to be popular with organisers of large groups os tourists. When we arrive, the doorman did not open the door or help us with our luggage through the doors. The receptionist was dressed in a dowdy fashion and a welcoming smile was certainly not part of his 'meet and greet' job spec! Public areas were spoiled by dirty carpets and cleanliness did not seem to be particularly important.
Our bedroom was adequate but the ensuite bathroom was quite cramped and pokey with dark grey tiles from floor to ceiling. Towels were of a poor quality and not really fit for purpose, that is drying.
Although access to Salamanca was easy from the hotel, the area was very noisy at night and at the weekend the noise continued throughout the night until after 5.00 am. It made one grateful that it was holiday time and that the students had gone home!
Breakfast was adequate and some of the staff in attendance in the dining room were pleasant.
All in all, this was a hotel in which one would spend as little time as possible.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Madrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I stayed here for one night as part of a tour around Spain (with a small group). The hotel & my single room were satisfactory. Major complaint for me was that my room overlooked the main street. While the temperature was pleasant during my stay, I regretted that I had to keep my window shut to muffle unbearable traffic noise and late night/early morning revellers. The hotel was convenient to sites of interest and shopping. Loved the bidet which seems to be a standard fixture in Spanish bathrooms.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALBinWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 17 June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We selected this hotel due to 4* rating, reasonability of the price and proximity to the historic centre of Salamanca. Overall, we did not consider that the 4* rating was deserved. In particular, the decor of the public areas was poor and carpeting in need of cleaning/ replacement. The sole small elevator was of dubious quality. No lighting over the workspace areas. Operation of the room keycards was always problematic. On the other hand the reception staff were friendly and helpfully retrieved some belongings which we accidentally left behind. The hotel is used by tour groups: independent travellers may find a smaller hotel of similar or better quality.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilgrim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Silken Rona Dalba Hotel
Silken Rona Dalba Hotel
#34 of 70 in Salamanca
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amefa
Hotel Amefa
#60 of 70 in Salamanca
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca
Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca
#19 of 70 in Salamanca
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Salamanca
Ibis Salamanca
#16 of 70 in Salamanca
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#5 of 70 in Salamanca
1,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Corona Sol
Gran Hotel Corona Sol
#14 of 70 in Salamanca
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterrey

Address: Calle Azafranal 21, 37001 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: £41 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterrey 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterrey Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing