We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very close to the historic centre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Condal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Condal
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very close to the historic centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

The hotel is just North of the Plaza Major. It is a friendlybusy hotel with a typical, lively, Spanish bar/ cafe also used by locals. The decor was a bit tired but the room was clean and a reasonable size. It was wet and cold when we were there in late October but there was no heating on at all but plenty of hot water to warm up in the bath. There was a fairly long powercut whilst we were there (several hours) because water had got into the local power supply. The hotel is very convenient for many of the main sights which reflected in the cost. Parking was in an undergroud car park which was very wet when we were there and cost us more than 30 euros in addition to the hotel bill for just less than 3 days It was nearly impossible to unload outside the hotel so I had to go round the block twice while my husband found out where to park and check in and then we had to carry all our stuff from the car-park over a busy road to the hotel and back again at the end of the stay. The hotel was OK but we would probably not return.

Room Tip: Probably all fairly similar although South facing rooms on higher floors had a bit of a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    83
    67
    12
    8
See reviews for
40
85
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The hotel is well located for the sites, it is very close to the Plaza Major. It is a friendly, family hotel. It was noisy but then again, this is Spain, it is rarely quiet. My room was warm, clean and the bathroom was big. I spent very little time in the hotel but it had everything I needed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDUinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Room had a very strong smell of bleach and the bed was quite uncomfortable. I don't think this was great value for money but it is very central and so this is what you are paying for. Certainly a bit dated, probably wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cricklewood_Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

This little hotel is in a gem of a location. It's literally right next to the main shopping area in town and a four minute walk to the Plaza Mayor, a breathtaking piece of architecture that must be even more buzzing in summer than it is in winter.
The rooms are sufficient, but be careful: on the first floor at least, walls are paper thin and you can easily hear all next-door conversations. Also, ask for a room that's not on the first floor of rooms unless you don't mind being woken up at 8am and 11pm when the chairs in the downstairs dining room are moved around for a solid half an hour.
Additionally, while my group was there the WiFi wasn't working in our rooms, so we brought our laptops down to the lobby to get internet access. Inconvenient, but the location made up for it we thoutht. The men at the front desk are extremely helpful, however, and never minded if we came in late or needed a taxi called.
The restaurant downstairs seems to be a favorite among locals, and is a great place to get somthing small for breakfast, some cafe con leche, or a drink later on.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetchlorine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

Although this is only classed as a 2 star hotel, it's really as good, or better, than some higher rated places that I've stayed at. A 5 minute stroll takes you to the centre of the city, via the main shopping area, and the numerous bars, restaurants and history. Salamanca is a compact town that can be covered easily on foot. Back to the hotel - it's clean, well positioned and reasonably priced...What more do you need?

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2006

Stayed a total of 5 nights here (Mon-Fri) and enjoyed it immensely. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Room was the largest we stayed in in Spain and the only one with a double bed (vs. 2 twins), was clean and had a private bath. A/C was a welcome addition given the 80+ degree days. Also it allowed us to close the windows and drop the blackout blind at night and still maintain a comfortable temp.

Drawback - we failed to specify non-smoking and could smell smoke from neighboring rooms in the AM. Also, the walls aren't the thickest, so on one occasion we got to listen to our neighbor's TV program for a few minutes.

Overall, we loved our stay here and felt that it was the best value of any of the hotels we stayed at during our 2 wks in Spain.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spainexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2006

I had stayed at this hotel before and found it acceptable. Especially the views from the top floors over the old town. This trip was different. First, the hotel takes school and student parties. On our last night we where awoken at 1:30 in the morning by noisy students in the corridor outside our room and the rooms either side of us. Because I cannot speak Spanish they ignored me when I asked them to be quiet. I had to get the night clerk to sort them out. He read the riot act to them, at which time thier teachers started to arrive. We found out next day, that they had had a lot of problems with these noisy students. Second, the square is very noisy at night. We could not sleep with the window open because of this. This unfortunatly made the room too hot as the air conditioning was not working.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salamanca hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alda Plaza Mayor
Hotel Alda Plaza Mayor
#39 of 72 in Salamanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Las Torres
Sercotel Las Torres
#36 of 72 in Salamanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Salamanca
Ibis Salamanca
#16 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Reyes Catolicos
Reyes Catolicos
#20 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corona de Castilla
Hotel Corona de Castilla
#43 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Goya de Salamanca
Hostal Goya de Salamanca
#24 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condal

Property: Hotel Condal
Address: Plaza Santa Eulalia 3-5, 37001 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Condal 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Condal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condal Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing