We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most memorable part of the university”
Review of Escuelas Menores

Escuelas Menores
Ranked #14 of 98 things to do in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Ancona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,338 reviews
834 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,706 helpful votes
“The most memorable part of the university”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The cloisters offer a very welcome refuge from the sun and the crowds, and the 'Salamanca sky' gives an extraordinary insight into fifteenth century astrological thinking. Just after lunch there was hardly anyone else there.

To get there, face away from the famous facade of the university, go past the statue of Frey Luis and head for the left-hand corner at the back of the square. There, you'll see a hole in the wall, a sort of arch. Go through that and you'll find you're in the cloister. The Salamanca sky is through a door hallway along the wall at the far side.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    65
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Closed!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Well we made it to the entrance during our visit to beautiful Salamanca, but workmen were working on the building and we weren't allowed inside. Shame, because was one the the most important destinations of our trip. Better luck next time I suppose. Check out images of this amazing attraction before you visit this area and make sure you go!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“intimate university courtyard”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Make sure to visit the 'ciel de Salamanca' , a fresco depicting constellations in a room off this courtyard.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anna123s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“the starry sky fresco”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

right opposite the main entrance of the University is the entrance to the patio of the Escuelas Menores and the room where the 15th century fresco is exhibited depicting a starry sky with some of the zodiac constellations.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RexTsatsaroglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantabria
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Peaceful Patio”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We found the patio of the Escuelas Menores by accident during a lunchtime wander. One of the entrances is just at the end of the plaza with the University facade (where the frog is), and it was such a peaceful place (at least at lunchtime!), it was just lovely, you forgot you were in a bustling old city and we were there on our own for about 5 minutes, just enjoying the blue sky contrasting against the stone and the view of the tower above. Definitely worth a wander through, it felt like a secret find.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank RatonCantabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escuelas Menores also viewed

Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 

Been to Escuelas Menores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing