We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Corona Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Hotel Corona Sol
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel during a bus tour of Spain and Portugal.

Our room was large with a large bathroom. It was clean and cool (air conditioning) which we appreciated. The shower is a bit hard to understand with all its jets and buttons, but lovely once you understand how it works.

We had dinner at the hotel. The food was good but average. We were told to leave the restaurant at 10pm because it was closing, which we found unfortunate. The breakfast was included in our stay and had enough options of hot and cold foods.

Wifi is free and included with the rooms.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ptitefunambule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    392
    127
    44
    22
See reviews for
122
440
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our stay here was disappointing. We were pleased to see we were going to a new property, but would not stay again. This hotel is a far cry from other excellent properties we stayed at in Spain.
Our room reminded me of a hospital, as I said above, clinical and right down to basic amenities, bed, toilet, shower. Tiles, chrome and glass. There was no fridge, had to go to reception to buy items from the vending machine - water, snacks etc. No booklet about facilities, only a single paragraph instructing us to call reception with any questions.
The shower was tiny and very hard to operate without instructions. I got it right, but only after enduring a battering from the side jets, which doused the towels as I was trying to adjust the taps with the door open. This was like a high pressure car wash. Good once under control. No shelves or places for toiletries on the basin or in the shower.
Good air conditioning in the room. Comfy bed. The Wifi was good.
There was a sign in the foyer indicating a "Bar" area, which never opened.
Breakfast was adequate, not spectacular.
The hotel is very noisy - tile floors throughout, and in corridors where traffic is passing, the noise was apparent. In addition, wooden chairs dragged across tile flooring was annoying in the room, as well as in the room above, and in the dining room. Echoing sound is amplified by the glass, chrome and tile structure.

Room Tip: Good if you want to only stay one night as a bed and breakfast. Don't look for added value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a Trafalgar tour. The hotel is conveniently located about 10 minute easy walk from the old town centre. The room was spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable bed.
The breakfast was very basic with pastries in plastic packets!

There is free wi-fi but its slow. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davepuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiria, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was typically continental style. But a word of warning - the restaurant is not open for dinner except to coach parties. Had I known this beforehand I may not have stayed there as it meant I had to go and find somewhere to eat in the town when it was late and I was tired from travelling from France. Also, dont have a room on the first floor. I was woken at 8am in the morning by noises which I found out later were from the scraping of chairs on the tiled floor in the restaurant. Great that they have a garage but very difficult to maneuver with a large car. Despite these few faults I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Dont have rooms on the first floor as they are immediately above the resturant and function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a very swish looking hotel in the glass and metal style. The lobby foyer is most impressive as are the tiled passage ways. The rooms are tastefully decorated with tiled floors throughout. They are spacious and well-appointed in a conservative but modern style. The bathroom is impressive and has a fully enclosed glass shower screen over the tub. Buffet breakfast was adequate but ordinary. Amazingly the hotel has no kitchen or on-site restaurant. The food is outsourced and delivered to the hotel for staff to serve. The downside of the modern tiled floors and walls in public areas is that any noises were transmitted easily throughout that area of the hotel. The location in the city is very good. You are only a 5 minute walk from the historic centre, 15 minute walk from the city centre and close to a well-stocked supermarket. The location is peaceful and there is little noise from people or traffic.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

we stayed in this hotel in the second week of may.the rooms are large and very well equipped.the location of the hotel is about 1km from the center of town.we were served an amazing dinner with great dessert too.however there is no kitchen in this hotel,and food is outsourced,so choice is limited to what is pre ordered.breakfast is also fairly good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mumbaiace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

I find this hotel very, very good for short stays.
Its location in the city is very good; the room is spacious; the bathroom is stylish.
The main drawbacks: lack of furniture in the room and poor breakfast.

Room Tip: Nice option for short stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Analide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
1.1 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#7 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.5 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Exe Salamanca
Exe Salamanca
#13 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#3 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Corona Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Corona Sol

Property: Gran Hotel Corona Sol
Address: Victor Garcia de la Concession | esquina Avenida de Villamayor, 37007 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Corona Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Hotel Corona Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing