We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Corona Sol
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The room was very large and comfortable, nice and new.
The area where the hotel is is very quite and there is no noise or crowd at night. In walking distance to most places, like the Plaza Mayor (around 10 minutes or less) and San Marcos, and without the noise of that area.
I definately recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 250jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    400
    132
    48
    22
See reviews for
124
450
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our stay at this hotel was pleasant. The rooms are big and spotless. The staff are friendly and very helpful. It lacks a little atmosphere in the main reception area but for the price it really is fantastic.

Room Tip: Be careful of the showers. They are state of the art but with no instruction so you could get a bla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StudioSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was good value for money. We were driving to the city and wanted somewhere easy to find with secure parking. It's about 10 mins walk to the centre and suited our needs. The reception staff were helpful, the room was pleasant and clean. Excellent value for money. There didnt appear to be a bar but there are a few places in the streets around the hotel. We didnt have breakfast in the hotel but we had coffee and croissants in the cafe at the end of the road for 3euros for 2 people.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishtravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I found this hotel bizarre. We stayed here as part of a tour, and for an apparent 4 star hotel it lacked some pretty basic features. For example, there is no refrigerator in the room, not just no minibar which is fine, but refrigerator at all. There was hardly any furniture, although what was supplied in the room was of good quality. The room was clean, and the shower was excellent.
The design of the building is not guest friendly either, wherein you have to walk for what seems like miles to get to your room from the elevator.
The biggest frustration for us though was that you couldn't dial outside lines from the in-room telephone, and the reception desk wouldn't even patch us through. We were having issues with our global roaming sim card and wanted to contact the company to get it fixed, but the hotel would not allow us to call from the room, or allow us to use any phone within the building. We had to wander out into the Salamanca evening (not a bad place to wander mind you, it's a lovely city!) with a map but no directions as to the potential location of a public phone.
My opinion on the guest service, you can imagine, is pretty poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights and was not disappointed by the rooms or location. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful on reception. Secure parking cost 12 Euros per night with direct access to all floors in one of the 4 lifts. Rooms were spacious with excellent air con, comfortable beds and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was large and again spotless, however the shower was a cubicle so no bath. I found the workings of the shower a little baffling but one go at flooding the bathroom was enough and it has to be one of the best showers I have used in a hotel. Yes it would be better if there were places to put personal toiletries and the shower had nowhere to put anything so you are left holding the soap all the time.
The room has no mini bar so keeping water cool or wine from the supermarket below the hotel (The usual use in my book) is not an option. We found breakfast to be quite adequate with a good selection on offer, so no complaints.
The location is very good and as people say just a five minute walk to the old town. Hotel has no bar but in the evening we had a last drink at the bar under the hotel next to the supermarket, so again didn't miss one in the hotel.
Out of the four hotels we stayed in on our trip to Spain this was the best value. I will be staying here again as a two night stay is not enough time to take in all the sights and atmosphere that Salamanca has to offer. I need a comfortable clean place to sleep and relax this hotel offers just that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Gee_BLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My partner is severely disabled and we were transferred here from another hotel which was unable to offer suitable facilities. Our room, 443, was as good and well equipped as any in which we have stayed. Clean, comfortable and spacious and a brilliant bathroom with roll in shower, wheelchair accessible double hand basin and full disabled support toilet. We stayed for three nights and the first morning I became quite agitated upon finding that the breakfast buffet selection was a choice between cold, sweetened, (honestly - the person laughingly referred to as a chef had added sugar instead of salt!), vulcanised eggs and, erm, cold, sweetened vulcanised eggs. I would be committing a gross misrepresentation if I were to describe the eggs as "scrambled" - they were so rubbery they literally bounced when dropped. Bacon, sausage and marmalade were items the hotel thought it unnecessary to provide and the impeccably dressed attendant became quite agitated when I tried to insist, unsuccessfully as it turned out, upon marmalade to spread upon my toasted, stale sliced processed bread. Oh, I do the hotel an injustice - there was also a selection of improbably garishly coloured processed cold meats which appeared to have become welded to the plates through age and some processed cheese that was indistinguishable from plastic, although considerably more tasteless. The pre-packaged croissants could have made a star appearance on the Antiques Road Show, and were obviously a permanent fixture having been sitting on the buffet table since antediluvian times. There was fresh white bread, no brown or any other choice actually, but not on Sunday although within 100 meters of the hotel entrance there was an open shop selling fresh bread on Sunday morning. The second and third mornings of our three night stay were much better. We gave up on having anything except coffee for breakfast but derived endless amusement watching the faces of other, new guests as they bit into one of the specially aged croissants for the first time. Priceless entertainment!

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 43 on each floor are well equipped for disabled travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat8250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel during a bus tour of Spain and Portugal.

Our room was large with a large bathroom. It was clean and cool (air conditioning) which we appreciated. The shower is a bit hard to understand with all its jets and buttons, but lovely once you understand how it works.

We had dinner at the hotel. The food was good but average. We were told to leave the restaurant at 10pm because it was closing, which we found unfortunate. The breakfast was included in our stay and had enough options of hot and cold foods.

Wifi is free and included with the rooms.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ptitefunambule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
1.0 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 72 in Salamanca
638 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 72 in Salamanca
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
953 reviews
0.8 mi away
Exe Salamanca
Exe Salamanca
#13 of 72 in Salamanca
656 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Corona Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Corona Sol

Property: Gran Hotel Corona Sol
Address: Victor Garcia de la Concession | esquina Avenida de Villamayor, 37007 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Corona Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Corona Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing