We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Straight from a designer showroom, but...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Corona Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Hotel Corona Sol
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Straight from a designer showroom, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Corona Sol for one night as part of a bus tour. The first thing I noticed was the abundance of huge mirrors, chrome everything, and marble everywhere. Then reality sets in: there were three artworks with broad metal frames, yet only a small (27in?) TV with limited chanels; one mirror (4' by 5') has a wardrobe put in front of it; light fixtures look expensive, but don't give adequate light. In the bathroom there is possibly the most powerful and over engineered shower EVER, yet the shower area was too small and doors didn't close properly; wonderful two-tap sink, yet nowhere to actually put toiletries; basically had to reach behind the toilet cistern for paper. Everything looks great, but lacks practicality. Breakfast was not good - meat almost inedible, eggs undercooked, pastries stale as was the bread. On the positive side, WiFi was free with good signal.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    392
    127
    44
    22
See reviews for
122
440
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a room on a 4th floor with great view to the old city. Sunsets were simply amazing. Location is good, it's only few minutes of walking distance to old city center.
Room and bathroom were spacious and bright.
Generally, what you can see on the internet about this hotel is what you get and that's good - no unpleasant surprises.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofijana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

It's a 'newer' hotel and very spacious compared to other typical European hotels. The modern bathtub fixture and towel hangers are meant for tall people. I tried using the side faucet outlets and water went straight to my face. The double faucet sink is convenient. Beds are quite basic for a 4-star hotel. We actually got 2 twins right next to each other with one pillow each. The receptionists are OK, but not outgoing. Maybe they are hesitating due to limited English ? They are also busy since the hotel was quite busy. I liked the refrigerator and safe in the room plus free WiFi, so I added another star. There is only 1 trash can in the whole room. About a 10 min. walk to Plaza Mayor.

Room Tip: Ask for room with cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soverdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one of the nicest four star Spanish hotels I have stayed in. We had a large room on the fifth floor overlooking the old town. My advice is to try and get a room on the fourth or fifth floor overlooking the cathedral. Rooms on lower floors do not give you the same spectacular view. Do do not get a room facing the back of the hotel as you look out on to modern buildings.

The room was large and the sun steamed in through the large bedroom windows. Fridge and safe provided in our room. There is little to find fault in this hotel.

Two small complaints: the breakfast is a buffet is fairly plain, but cheap €8 a head, plus, there is no restaurant for an evening meal on the premises unless you are with a tour group. There is no hotel bar for a night cap. There are many good restaurants in the old town a few minutes away.

The staff are exceptionally friendly and are only too willing to help you get your bearings.

Do not use the Internet in the evening it is so slow as everybody is using it. It s time that Spain realizes that a fast Internet it vital to its clients. Slow speed us useless.

This hotel deserves four stars.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Queensland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Everything about this hotel is excellent from a travellers point of view. Great rooms, beds very comfortable, the bathroom of our room (535) was very spacious and the shower should b standard in every hotel around the world.

The front of house were all excellent, very helpful and went out of their way to help in any way they could.

If we ever return to the lovely Salamanca then this is the hotel we would return to.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolypoly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

After suffering some dated European hotels on my tour of Spain, this hotel was a welcome surprise despite being in a smaller city. The rooms are well appointed in terms of size and being new and well maintained. The bathroom was a good size and did not flood like in some other hotels. The shower was modern with back sprays. However, nicer toiletries would have been appreciated.

The hotel is well located, with an attached supermarket and 10 minutes walking distance to Plaza Mayor and surrounds, with plenty of cafes and restaurants on pretty cobblestone streets.

The experience was quite nice overall, except for the drilling sound I heard during a bath which may have been an issue of the pipe system. There should also be additional pillows. Overall, a good hotel to stay in Salamanca.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray_CSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Room and bath are very large. Cleaning was excellent. Service was at good level to.
The hotel is new and with a modern furniture.
Location is excellent if you want to visit Salamaca. The parking is expensive, but there are places to park nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
1.1 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#7 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.5 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Exe Salamanca
Exe Salamanca
#13 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Corona Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Corona Sol

Property: Gran Hotel Corona Sol
Address: Victor Garcia de la Concession | esquina Avenida de Villamayor, 37007 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Corona Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Corona Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing