We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace be with you!”

St. Stephen's Convent (Convento de San Esteban)
Ranked #5 of 99 things to do in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Peace be with you!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We visited this place at the end of January. It was the perfect time! We had such a great time admiring, gasping at the views and contemplating in leisure as there were no crowds. At many corners we were by ourselves and therefore experienced the feeling of peace and divinity. My son was most impressed by this place!
Go there in winter!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MYquem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    166
    18
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional in an exceptional city”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Salamanca has many beautiful buildings, but San Esteban is my favorite. The façade, the cloisters, the altar and the choir are interesting enough separately, but together the whole is greater than the sum of the parts. There are plenty of hints, too, about how the monks who lived here lived day to day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JWAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent ages here on the 5th of October, absolutely loved the Convent, the use of mirrors to reflect the walls & ceilings is brilliant, definitely recommend taking the time to stroll around, we were very lucky when we visited as the weather was perfect & there weren't many people so I was able to take photos to my hearts content.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely place, worth a visit”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is absolutely a 'must see' while you are in Salamanca. The church and convent are both very beautiful and serene. The facade of the church is intricately carved. The inside of the convent is quiet and pleasant to explore, with several interesting rooms off the inside courtyard. The inside of the church has a stunning altar. I also liked the mirrors that were placed at selected points along the walking tour that allowed you see the beautiful arches at the top without craning your neck.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhahran1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous facade”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This convent has a beautiful, intricate (Platteresque?) facade (fabulous when lit-up at night) and wonderful cloisters with elaborate vaulting and magnificent doors/portals. Added interest provided by information about the work done with indigenous North American peoples.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Croston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Stephen's Convent (Convento de San Esteban) also viewed

Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 

Been to St. Stephen's Convent (Convento de San Esteban)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing