We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but not five star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The location right next to San Esteban Monastry is great, no doubt. But the hotel is certainly no five star hotel. The rooms we had were small. While the bathroom was nicely done, the beds and the furniture were cheap and somewhat run down. Service was dismal: when I asked, my sleeping little daughter in my arm, to have my luggage brought up to the room a surely receptionist said "we don't have anybody for that". No excuse, no apologies. No wifi in the hotel, not even a paid access. No spa, no swimming pool. Checking out took ages. For this the price is too high.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoetzSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

We had an excellent stay at this very nice hotel, that allows you to enjoy the city without a car (you can leave it in the garage). We participated at an event organised by friends and the staff was quite polite and attentive.
Good breakfast and the building is quite unique.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Excellent location ,easy parking right next to the old city.Not quite 5 star with the late night sevice winding down at 11.30pm. Very comfortable rooms, helpful staff and great breakfast. No wifi in the rooms but free wifi in the public areas.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJbelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Arrived with 19 of my students and they revived us very well. The building is connected to the beautiful Esteban Monastery and features a breakfast room with amazing stone arches, but strange acoustics. The rooms are modern and well equipped but there is no wifi which makes this hotel unbearable to anyone who is traveling. Ended up in the lobby to work.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fredrik Valdema... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Had our booking transferred to this hotel & won a watch!!
Excellent hotel, friendly helpful staff & probably the comfiest hotel bed I've slept in. Great location for exploring the old part of the city - view of the Cathedral from our room. Would recommend to anyone looking for comfort & a warm welcome to Salamanca.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolanne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely room overlooking an old garden/ quadrangle. Very peaceful and well-appointed, with antique furniture and comfortable bed.
Warm welcome at reception. Free wifi in cafeteria and library. Open air parking €10, in secure garage,€15. Buffet breakfast was copious and hot food was cooked to order. This was a very pleasant stop-over, and it is only two minutes walk from the Cathedrals and the ciudad historico. It is a charming boutique hotel set in ancient buildings, tastefully preserved and decorated.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed a single night (Sunday) in April 2013. We arrive early at about 11:30am not expecting to get in to our previously booked room, but the very charming lady on reception said we could have the room in 15 minutes and she would upgrade us to a superior room with a good view. We said we were happy for them not to rush as we wanted to visit the Muse de Art Nouveau y Art Deco just 5 minutes walk away, at which time she presented us with an envelope with free entry tickets to the Muse. Now that is what I call extraordinary service!
On returning and going to our room we found it very large with king size bed, a huge bathroom with bath with shower over, plus a separate shower as well. The decor was excellent with modern quality design, furnishings and fittings but with some original stone walls and large (new) wooden beams in the ceiling. Everything was spotlessly clean.
We had dinner in the restaurant with the fixed price menu which included 3 courses plus amuse bouche, also a glass of cava, full bottle of red wine and bottle of mineral water, plus coffee and liquer - all for 35 euro per person. Fabulous value with a well thought out local menu which was excellently cooked and presented. The best meal we have had in Spain so far on this trip.

Breakfast also was very good and as we wanted to do a little shopping (within walking distance) they said there was no problem if we wanted to check-out later than the 12pm standard time - another tick for that.

All in all we were most impressed with the hotel, staff and services and would definitely go back next time we visit Salamanca.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 which has good views of the courtyard and the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wottoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 70 in Salamanca
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
#5 of 70 in Salamanca
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#7 of 70 in Salamanca
1,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban

Address: Lugar Arroyo Santo Domingo 3, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#6 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#13 Family Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: £83 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Salamanca
Ac Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing