We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely nowhere near 5 star, take earplugs if you want to actually sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were looking forward to our stay here but ultimately left disappointed. On the positive side, the location is great – easy to find and park the car in the property and then walking distance to all the sights of Salamanca. Staff were quite helpful. The bathroom was nice. There is a gym which is small and very basic but at least functional.

However, the main frustration we had with this hotel was noise. All the rooms are well away from the street so this was not from street noise. It is due to the poor quality of the insulation. The walls of the hotel are paper thin and the building not sound proofed in the slightest. The tile floors throughout the corridors mean that every time somebody walks down the corridor you can hear every footstep in your room. At night this meant that it did not quieten down until after midnight. Worse was in the morning when people start to leave from 5am onwards and you can hear every footstep and every conversation as if it were in your own room. The beds are extremely uncomfortable as well – the mattress was obviously many years old and needed to be thrown out a long time ago. Lastly, no wi-fi in the room (although you could pick it up in the lobby).

I would not recommend this hotel if you actually want a decent sleep! They call themselves a luxury hotel but we did not find there was anything luxurious about it at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. Our room overlooked a beautiful courtyard and was very quiet and comfortable. The bathrooms are modern and spotless. Location is exceptional. My only criticism of this place is that the staff made little effort to make guests feel welcome. It doesn't take much to offer a smile or respond to a question when asked. We travel frequently and were quite taken aback by how aloof the staff seemed. In all of our travels around Spain, this is the first and only experience we encountered where people weren't friendly and helpful. A little effort goes a long way in the hospitality industry.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The location right next to San Esteban Monastry is great, no doubt. But the hotel is certainly no five star hotel. The rooms we had were small. While the bathroom was nicely done, the beds and the furniture were cheap and somewhat run down. Service was dismal: when I asked, my sleeping little daughter in my arm, to have my luggage brought up to the room a surely receptionist said "we don't have anybody for that". No excuse, no apologies. No wifi in the hotel, not even a paid access. No spa, no swimming pool. Checking out took ages. For this the price is too high.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoetzSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We had an excellent stay at this very nice hotel, that allows you to enjoy the city without a car (you can leave it in the garage). We participated at an event organised by friends and the staff was quite polite and attentive.
Good breakfast and the building is quite unique.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Excellent location ,easy parking right next to the old city.Not quite 5 star with the late night sevice winding down at 11.30pm. Very comfortable rooms, helpful staff and great breakfast. No wifi in the rooms but free wifi in the public areas.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJbelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Arrived with 19 of my students and they revived us very well. The building is connected to the beautiful Esteban Monastery and features a breakfast room with amazing stone arches, but strange acoustics. The rooms are modern and well equipped but there is no wifi which makes this hotel unbearable to anyone who is traveling. Ended up in the lobby to work.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fredrik Valdema... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Had our booking transferred to this hotel & won a watch!!
Excellent hotel, friendly helpful staff & probably the comfiest hotel bed I've slept in. Great location for exploring the old part of the city - view of the Cathedral from our room. Would recommend to anyone looking for comfort & a warm welcome to Salamanca.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolanne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 70 in Salamanca
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
#5 of 70 in Salamanca
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#7 of 70 in Salamanca
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban

Address: Lugar Arroyo Santo Domingo 3, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#6 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#13 Family Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: £87 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Salamanca
Ac Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing