We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Show and No Go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Don't be mislead by the 5 Star claimed rating. This could be a great hotel and probably was at sometime in the past--but that time has come and gone. Great physical setting and looks outstanding from the outside, but well worn inside and lacking in essential guest comforts. We checked in on a beautiful warm day. Paid for an upgraded room where to our disappointment we found non working air conditioning (a must for Spain in summer). Contacted front desk with assurances that resolution was forth coming. 3 hours later, no air and no answer. Solution was to change rooms, after we had unpacked and already settled in. Worst of all, we were expected to make all the luggage changes ourselves. The staff offered profuse apologies, but completely lacking in appropriate and timely solutions. Rooms were adequate, but certainly not worthy of 5 stars. Lobby and bar areas are eye pleasing until you take a closer look and notice that the upholstery is thread bare and in need of upgrade and replacement. The outdoor patio area is well placed and quiet, but again lacks attention to service details such as cleaning the seating areas of bird droppings. Breakfast spread was very good with a wide selection of fresh fruits and an equally wide selection of stale and tasteless pastry. Suppose one offsets the other. What is interesting in Spain and typified by our experience at this hotel is you will never be compensated for any bad experience. While we had a legitimate complaint about our room and air- conditioning they had no hesitation in offering an apology one minute and asking for 6 Euros for 2 diet cokes the next. At best, based on our 6 week stay in Spain and Portugal, this hotel--at best--is 3 Stars. Keep in mind that this hotel is in a major college/university city and therefore much of the help is inexperienced and just working to complete their studies. Complete lacking of adequate adult supervision.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Client,

We are very sorry that your experience in Hotel Palacio de San Esteban has not been as nice as expected. For us the most important thing is that our guests enjoy the stay as much as possible and get a great impression about our service.

However, according to your complains I have to give some explanations.

On one side the original reservation was confirmed in Double Standar room, no upgrade was requested. As soon as you inform the front desk that air conditioning was not working well enough, we inmediatly offered to change the room and upgrade to a superior one. As you left the hotel without confirming this room change, we waited you to come back to get this confirmation. We cannot move any personal items without guest agreement, so we had to wait until you returned to the Hotel. Finally you did accepted the change and we moved the luggage to the new superior room. I also confirmed that at the check out time, we offered you help with the luggage twice but both of them were refused. However, we apologize for disconfort. Next time we´ll try to be more eficient solving this kind of problems.

On the other side, is the first time we have a complain about birds overflying the hotel, the cleanning of the terrace, and the tasteless pastry, but we´ll try to improve and make it better in this matters.

Finally I have to confirm that most of the staff people working in the hotel is young but experienced, what sould not be a problem at all. However, we note down for future incorporations.

Just to make sure that we are completly involved in the wellbeing of our clients and we try to solve whatever inconveniences may happen during their stay, it´s really important to have in time clear information about needs and complains, what helps us to make changes in time, improve our services and offer our clients our best.

We apologyze again for the problems we may cause in your stay and we´ll be pleased to contact directly with you to suggest some kind of reward.


Faithfully.

Isabel Mª García
Accommodation Manager


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel, especially its location adjacent to El Convento de S. Esteban. I asked for a room with a good view, and got one- looking at the storks feeding their chicks on the top of the Monastery. Bathroom well-equipped, but tricky manoeuvring into the bath. Lifts a bit whiffy! Did not have breakfast as we thought €17 too pricey, so ate opposite the Monastery for €2,40, and in town the second morning. Great garden area too, though taken up by a wedding on Saturday. Idyllic! We had dined in on our first night,€64 in total. Well we were tired. On Saturday evening we had a pre-dinner drink in Plaza de la Libertad and ate in Zazu Bistro, recommended on Tripadvisor. Good stuff!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank grecoLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in our visit to Salamanca. Our room was very nicely decorated and had a little living room area, wood shutters, stone walls and a really nice bathroom. The breakfast was nice and there was a good choice of food. The staff at the reception were friendly and helpful but they weren't always there. If you are looking for a characterful hotel to stay in Salamanca, stay here. Location is good too, 5 minutes walk from the main square.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraDeLaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were in Salamanca to attend a friend's wedding and booked this hotel located not far from were the wedding was taking place. We stayed a few days before and after to visit Salamanca.

The location is great and the renovated area has given rise to a beautiful hotel. The reception staff was welcoming and helpful with directions. The room itself was quite disappointing as it lacked the finishing touches. I guess we should blame the room cleaning crew. Only one bathrobe and without the belt, Three shampoo bottles but no conditioner or shower gel, even the next day. No water in the room.

The breakfast room was beautiful and welcoming but the breakfast buffet was not inspired and lacked flair. Very disappointing for a 5 stars wannabe.

Nevertheless a recommendable place for Salamanca, everything is great only details need to be fixed. But they need and should be fixed ASAP.

Room Tip: Need to fix the details before really being a 5 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boubou60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room (superior room) was on second floor to the left of stairs. This area seemed to have more charm and character than rest of hotel. Thick walls, wood beams, wood shutters galore. It felt very historical in a good way. Room was very big with nice seating area and Juliet balcony. Bathroom had separate shower and tub with a view of lit cathedral.

This hotel is in a good location next to San Estaban Cathedral. It is in a quiet part of town, but easy to walk to Plaza Mayor and surrounds. Did not eat dinner in hotel. There is a really good vegetarian restaraunt a three minute walk around the corner. Breakfast was good with a nice selection.

Front desk staff helpful but not overly friendly - no complaints though. I would recommend this hotel based on our room and area we stayed in hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Laurie2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were there only one night at room number 11 on 11/10/13. We found that front desk was not as friendly and attentive comparing to other hotels we stayed during our trip in Spain. The room was ok but a bit dusty. Internet connection was not stable, disconnect so many times. The location is great, a short walk to everything. Plenty of parking space.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

First the good: the location of this hotel is great, right on the edge of the historic district it is a quick walk to visit the sights of Salamanca without being too close to the hustle and bustle of the central district. The grounds of the hotel are excellent especially the shaded gardens and attached parking is a welcome convenience. The decoration of the hotel is in line with it's historic location but the results are rather austere, our room had the feeling of a monks cell (although a large and very clean cell!) and was therefore lacking in atmosphere and not a relaxing environment to spend time in. Contrary to some other reviewer's experiences we found the staff helpful and polite.
Unfortunately the Palacio de San Esteban seemed to lack some of the facilities we have come to expect from the AC chain. There was no comfortable area to relax over coffee, no free drinks in the minibar and the cost of parking and drinks in the restaurant was high. With these caveats in mind I would still recommend this hotel and enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: Our room was over the reception area and was noisy. The reception staff were willing to move us when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilnewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 70 in Salamanca
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#7 of 70 in Salamanca
1,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
#5 of 70 in Salamanca
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban

Address: Lugar Arroyo Santo Domingo 3, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#6 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#13 Family Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: £86 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Salamanca
Ac Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing