We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variations of Cod”
Review of Mencia Restaurante

Mencia Restaurante
Ranked #6 of 614 Restaurants in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$37 - US$43
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Being stimulated by the many good comments at TripAdvisor and tge restaurant near our Hotel we spent a very nice evening with interesting and well cooked food. Especially the menu with countlesss variations of cod was amazing. The service rendered by the owner was very attentive fulfilling all our wishes. Prices are proper ad low compared to central Europe. Should we come back to Salamanca which is a exciting town we certainly will revisit Mencía !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ulmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
menciasalamanca, Gerente at Mencia Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014
Google Translation

Celebramos haber cumplido sus expectativas, que la comida fuese de su gusto, el atenderles, cuidarles y mimarlés fue un verdadero placer.
Un saludo muy cordial y afectuoso la dirección de restaurante Mencía .
Vicente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

TA let me down! We went based on the good reviews but....

Waiter had a streaming cold and was sniffing all evening while serving. Horrible.

No wine by the glass so I chose water. Then without asking me he brought out a rubbish wine from
The kitchen. He said it was young. I tasted and returned it. Then he brought another bottle he had just opened for another table . Odd. I'd had enough by then.

The food arrived and he removed the cutlery.! Why? We needed it to eat. Had to wait till he brought back fish cutlery !! Food getting cold.

Fish was ok but large portions and no side vegetables.

Lastly, Prices exclude VAT which gives you a surprise at end.

We left quickly. A wasted evening.

This is NOT the best place in Salamanca.

9  Thank GolfDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
menciasalamanca, Gerente at Mencia Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014
Google Translation

COMO PUEDE SER??.
Ha visitado usted 3 buenos restaurantes y un hotel en Salamanca y no hemos sido capaces de complacerle.
Café corrillo: comida sencilla camareros gruñones.
Río de la Plata : pincho de tortilla pan duro .Restaurante Mencía : plato único y agua Hotel NH: no funciona el aire ni Internet.
Quizás hubiese cumplido mejor sus expectativas algún sitio de tapas o platos combinados.
Creo que el (gruñón) y el problema está en usted.
Le recomiendo que reflexione recapacite y reconsidere su actitud.
un saludo atentamente la dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My sister an I had an incredible experience in the city, and the hotel staff told us to go to Mencia in order to eat Bacalao, and we were amazed, the wine, appetizers, bacalao, postre. The service was very good.
I would definitely go back to Mencia. it is a must go restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MiamiBeachGirlMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
menciasalamanca, Gerente at Mencia Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014
Google Translation

Con clientes agradables y agradecidos como ustedes todo es mucho más fácil y sencillo .
Espero volver a verles pronto un saludo muy cordial y afectuoso att. la dirección de restaurante Mencía .
Vicente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

While travelling back from the UK we decided to stop overnight in Salamanca, Northern Spain. It was The Three Kings which is a big Spanish Holiday in Spain. We booked Mencia as it was recommended in several travel books and what a treat it was. We were advised by the owner and everything that was served was magnificent. Dorado, Cod, is a speciality and the portions were extremely generous, unusually so. The service was faultless and the owner entertaining our 9 year old daughter with some funny magic tricks at the end of the evening. A fraction expensive but worth it. Can´t wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
menciasalamanca, Propietario at Mencia Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014
Google Translation

Nos alegramos muchísimo que todas las recomendaciones fuesen de su agrado.
La satisfacción fue reciprocaroca encantadísimo de haberles atendido fue un verdadero placer att la dirección .
Vicente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We went the end of december to this restaurant and although it is a bit outside the centre it is more than worthwile the walk. Nice place, good service and quality food.

Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
menciasalamanca, Gerente at Mencia Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014
Google Translation

Un pequeño paseo de la Plaza Mayor al restaurante 3 minutos.
Gracias por su opinión atentamente la dirección de restaurante Mencía .
Vicente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mencia Restaurante also viewed

Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 

Been to Mencia Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing