We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty vegetarian lunch near San Esteban” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Laurel

El Laurel
Ranked #10 of 544 Restaurants in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty vegetarian lunch near San Esteban”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

A local friend recommended El Laurel to us, and we went there for the menu del día at lunchtime. Everything we had was great and there was a good variety of options. They also had some really tasty desserts, like a cinnamon flan and a fruit batido. This is a worthwhile stop, especially if you are heading over to San Esteban. Try to pop in or call ahead to get a reservation for lunch as it is a small restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    107
    34
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
331 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“very bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I would like to start with the good things: the staff was very kind and the bread tasteful...
We went there for dinner, just in order to go to bed unsatisfied. We decided to go there thanks to the good reviews we had read on trip advisor, but (unfortunately too late) we discovered that the only true review was the bad one we had chosen not to trust (franco_cutugno's advise).
The starting salad was the only eatable dish we ordered; the cannelloni had a terrible tomato sauce, the stuffed pepperoni were really awful (probably the cook confused the sugar with the salt) and the crepes flavorless.
Thank god with the menu we spent only 15€/person...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Calcyfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful meal at El Laurel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were in Salamanca for a few days last week and ate here for lunch. We decided to choose the taster dish for our main course (a vairety of 8 small dishes). This was absolutely wonderful. We then chose a pudding from the menu - the chocolate truffles and cheesecake with toffee sauce were fabulous. The wine was good too and the cost of our selection was very reasonable. The service was excellent and very friendly. It's obviously popular with local people too which is a good sign and the waitress was having to turn people away while we were there so I'd advise booking beforehand if possible.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 49DianaJL33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Amazing Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Without a doubt the best vegetarian restaurant I have ever been to. The tahini and hummus are amazing the fresh soups and salads are wonderful and the array of main courses are delicious. It is so worth the 5 minute walk from the plaza mayor centre. To top it all the service was excellent each time we went. Well worth a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank egerton186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best veggie I've ever eaten at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We ate here for our first night in Salamanca and it surpassed all subsequent eating places by far. We had the set meal with a selection of different small samples of dishes on the menu and it was fun and delicious. The wine was good and the bread was by far the best I've eaten in all my visits to Spain (wholegrain and delicious). The puddings were first class too!
Service was very friendly and helpful.
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charm_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Laurel also viewed

Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
Salamanca, Province of Salamanca
 

Been to El Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing