We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 October 2012

...with a great restaurant and bar to go along. Rooms are modern and clean (we booked a premium room for only 10€ more with a luxury matress and a stunning city view). Visiting Salamanca is a breeze if you park in front of the Roman bridge which is a five minute drive. Everything was walking-distance from there. When coming back, there was plenty of free parking right in front of the hotel entrance (they also have and underground garage for something like 4€ which is not bad at all). The daily menu in the restaurant was only 11.90€ (on weekdays) and there were many dishes to choose from. Breakfast was also excellent. The hotel is perfectly connected by a nearby roundabout to all the main roads. Overall a great hotel for visiting such a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are well worth the extra 10€
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VCassidy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carvajal, Director General at Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Hello VCassidy76,
I am Silverio Vicente, General Manager at the Tryp Montalvo. Thank you very much for choosing us. Your comments are the best news for our team.. We hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Silverio Vicente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stopped over on our trip to Spain.We had a long drive and needed a comfy bed and not far off the beaten track. This place fitted the bill! We a super meal in the restaurant witha superb bottle of wine......followed by THE best bed I have slept in in a very long time.....the duvet was like a cloud!!! Didn't want to leave! It's set in a very strange place half industrial estate but don't let that put you off. A taxi ride away from the centre of Salamanca...then back to that cosy bed!!

Room Tip: Sorry! pressed the wron button no spa Close to the Autoroute.....makes it easier on the Sat Nav
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homeground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carvajal, Director General at Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Hello casamusica1, I am Silverio Vicente, General Manager at the Tryp Montalvo. Thank you very much for choosing us and for your comments. Your opinion help us to improve our services day by day. We hope to see you soon in our hotel. Be sure you will have your comfy bed again.
Best regards
Silverio Vicente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This modern hotel has very welcoming reception staff, nice rooms and good amenities. It is well maintained and everything works.

Our check-in was swift and painless (after we had found a place in the nicely secured basement parking garage) and the friendly and helpful reception staff offered to keep an eye on our baggage while we had lunch.

The waiting staff did their best to look after us as we arrived in their packed restaurant at about 3PM, but things went better in the evening when there was less pressure on them. The food was imaginative, well prepared and presented, and we had no sense of being rushed. NIce portions and a first class wine list, all at very good prices.

Although some people choose this hotel because they are visiting the city and its historical sites (as we did), it is also a convenient stop-over place for motorists using the ports of northern Spain en route to or from the Algarve in Portugal. It is clear many guests are repeat clients.

On the down side? -Perhaps only one minor issue: being sited in an commercial area on the outskirts of Salamanca means it's quite a ride to get into the historical centre. But taxis arrive quickly and the siting close to the highways means that road communications are excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikTheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carvajal, Director General at Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Hello MikTheViking,
I am Silverio Vicente, Manager at the Tryp Montalvo. Thank you very much for choosing us for your holidays and for your comments. We hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Best regards,
Silverio Vicente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Reasonably good hotel overall. However, the evening meal (set menu for €11 per person) was absolutely appalling. To our surprise, their breakfast was fairly good. Also, the family rooms with bunk beds are too tiny to comfortably accommodate two adults and two kids. We stayed overnight at the hotel on our way to Portugal. The hotel is clean and tidy with good quality fixtures and fittings. I would use the hotel again, but would not order a meal there. The location of the hotel is poor. It is in an industrial estate area and needs a car to get into town which leaves you with little choice in terms where to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carvajal, Director General at Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Hello Sparky400. I am Silverio Vicente, Manager at the Tryp Salamanca Montalvo. Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Salamanca. We are sorry if the evening meal was not as you expected. We will make sure to improve it for your next time you come and visit us. We thank you again for your comments that help to improve our services day by day.
Best regards,
Silverio Vicente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Once again this hotel deserves it's high placement on the reviews listing. Silverio the hotel director has an excellent team in place, all who know how to do their job efficiently and with a smile. As i'd purchased my room online via the melia.com website and had completed my passport details , checkin took 1 minute. The rooms are just as good and maintained as last year, i think the air-con worked better this year so they must have tweaked this since our last stay.

This time we took the half board package (88 euros for 2 persons !!) fantastic deal. You think ok the food is not going to be good but you are WRONG. Althought the selection from the set menu over the weekend is limited, the food was great, from the starter thru to dessert (ok spanish cuisine is not known for their desserts but this were edible and not the usual, choice of flan, rice pudding, creme dessert or ice cream).

After a good nights sleep, a healthy and full choice for hot and cold for breakfast, we collected our car from the secure underground car park and set off for our final destination of Estepona, Costa del Sol.

I forgot to collect my ice pack i'd given them to freeze overnight, i realised when we were already 150km from the hotel, but when i reconnected to my email, the hotel staff had sent my a message saying i'd forgetton my ice pack and they'd keep it safe and give it to my sister who was coming to say at the end of July with her 8 persons group ( 2 family rooms). And yes they did do this (it took a little asking and hunting but they located the ice pack).

So congratulations to Silverio and the whole team at Tryp Montalvo, you'll continue to get my custom, my family and friends reservations for as long as you maintain the high quality for such a reasonable price.

PS Nice to have the kettle and coffee in the room, thank for the addition, can we dream of a small swimming pool soon to relax after the long drive and to cool off in the Salamanca heat?

Room Tip: The 2 different rooms we stayed in have both been quiet, so can't really recommend apart from as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pro-Travel-Buyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carvajal, Director General at Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Hello Pro-Travel-Buyer,
I am Silverio Vicente, manager at the Tryp Montalvo. Thank you very much for choosing us once again for your stay in Salamanca. Your comments are the best news for our team. Be sure you will have ready in your room the kettle and coffee next time. Thank your very much again.
Kind regards,
Silverio Vicente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

All the staff we dealt with at reception spoke English and were pleasant, helpful, cooperative, obliging and responsive — especially Javier who checked us in at reception and provided information as we needed it, and Alex who hailed from Toronto. We received exactly the type of room that we had requested on the reservation form.

The hotel is (next to a currently empty office building) in a sterile but tranquil commercial-industrial area on the other side of the river from and south of Salamanca's historic center. The area around the hotel is reminiscent of a flat, freeway-plains area outside Denver.

Surface parking in front of the hotel is free, as is street parking (which we always found available, safe and preferred for its convenience). The hotel offers underground parking for E4.32 per night.

You could walk into the city center; however, it is not a particularly convenient or pleasant walk, paralleling the main road Avenida de Saavedra y Fajardo with traffic and nothing of interest along the way. We drove to the residential area on the south side of the river and opposite the Roman bridge, parking for free in Plaza de Poniente which has a small park and children's playground in the middle. From here, we walked across the Roman Bridge and up the hill to the Cathedrals, a pleasant 10-15 minute walk.

Alternatively, from the hotel you can take the 12 bus into Salamanca which passes about every half hour. The bus stop is on Calle de la Tierra de Campos, around the corner from the hotel where you see the sign "AUTO-ELECTRIC Sanfructuoso" (check details with reception).

Our room was on the top floor, at the far end of the carpeted corridor away from the main road and facing the street. Rooms at the front of the building face the open parking area, street and commercial buildings. The street was quiet at night and did not carry much traffic. Rooms at the back look across to Salamanca city and the Cathedrals; however, they also face the access ramps to and the main N-501 Ronda Sur connector.

With a parquet floor, our room was functional, practical, comfortable and well-maintained, having adequate space to move around and to store smaller bags (it reminded us of a better, Japanese, business hotel room). As with most other hotels that we have stayed at, the room admitted noise from the corridor: slammed and closing doors, activities of the cleaners and other people, voices and the like. The doors really needed a rubber seal to absorb the impact of and deaden the noise of being slammed. Soundproofing between rooms seemed adequate.

The queen-size mattress on a platform base was comfortable, as were the four thick pillows. On either side were side tables (one with a telephone) and both table and wall reading lamps. The room heating and ventilator worked well. The double-glazed windows effectively blocked noise from the parking area and street outside.

Next to the work desk with a chair and a table lamp was a small bar fridge with beverages for purchase (we used it to store beverages we bought at a supermarket). The free room WiFi worked well; however, we found that if the connection was slow, reconnection to another floor could work better. The flat-screen TV displayed about 70 channels, mainly in Spanish, but with a few in English, French and German, and broadcast 15 radio stations.

The bathroom was clean and in good condition. It had a bath-shower with liquid soap available from dispensers near the bath and the wash basin. The hot water system worked well.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, which was quite good and better than expected. From 7:30 a.m. till 10:30 a.m. for E8.64 it had a very extensive and varied continental breakfast buffet (worth the price). From 8 p.m. till 11 p.m. it served dinner. In addition to a regular menu, for E11.90 it offered a complete Menu del Dia which partially changed each day and had a good choice of well-prepared dishes which included first and second courses, bread, dessert, and a choice of beverages from wine (750 ml bottle for two people and was quite good), beer (large glass), soft drinks and mineral water (one liter bottle). Service was pleasant and efficient. For convenience after a day of sightseeing in the area, we dined there several times during our stay. From some seats in the restaurant you can see Salamanca Cathedrals, floodlit at night, floating majestically in the distance (alas, above the roof of the "Firststop Servicio 24 Oras" car service building in the foreground).

To get to the hotel from Madrid by car, get onto N-501, SA-20 Ronda Sur. Exit at the intersection with N-630, E-803 and the roundabout for Av. de Saavedra y Fajardo and Ctra de la Ruta de la Plata. Drive south past the hotel and away from Salamanca; move into the left lane. At the first street on your left, turn in, go around the roundabout and head back where you came from but along the narrow lane (running parallel to the main road) — which will widen and lead to the hotel.

In case you want a full supermarket, there is a large Carrefour (with free car parks, both surface and underground) north of the city at Glorieta Ruta de la Plata on the corner of La Baneza and Avenida de los Agustinos Recoletos.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the top floor, at the far end of the carpeted corridor away from the main highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Hello Chellydra, I am Silverio Vicente, General Manager at the Tryp Montalvo. Thank you very much for choosing us and for your comments. Your opinion help us to improve our services day by day. We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Silverio Vicente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is a kind of Hotel that you can find in every working area, surrounded by big trucks, factories an depots. But this is a very good example of how doing well taht kind of hotels. It is in a industrial area, very quiet, the rooms are very clean, not so wide but very confortable, with an amazing bed, blankets and soft pillows!. the staff is very kind and professional. The Hotel have both parkings, out for free, and the street at evening is empty of cars. It's no so far away of the town, enough to rest absolutely while sleep. A smart option!. The breakfast is one of the best that I tried ever.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Hello Yogur, I am Silverio Vicente, Manager at the Tryp Montalvo. Thank you very much for your comments and for choosing us for your stay in Salamanca. We hope to see you soon in our hotel. We´ll do our best to improve our service.
Best regards,
Silverio Vicente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
1.1 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 70 in Salamanca
747 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Salamanca
Ibis Salamanca
#11 of 70 in Salamanca
172 reviews
1.7 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#7 of 70 in Salamanca
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parador de Salamanca
Parador de Salamanca
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
1,296 reviews
1.6 mi away
Exe Salamanca
Exe Salamanca
#15 of 70 in Salamanca
707 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel

Address: Calle Hoces del Duraton 1 | C/ Hoces del Duraton,1, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#2 Green Hotel in Salamanca
#6 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: £41 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Montalvo Hotel is only 5 minutes by car from the centre of Salamanca. The hotel provides 57 rooms, some of them with excellent views of the splendid monuments in Salamanca, and all carefully and tastefully decorated. Free WI-Fi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Partner Montalvo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing